We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
Nearby Hotels
Ocean View Hotel(Rocky Harbour)
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gros Morne Cabins(Gros Morne National Park)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Candlelight B & B(Rocky Harbour)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveler rating
61
111
41
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
111
41
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshallow bay moteldining roomgros mornetheatre festivalbus tourtwo bedroom cabinb bocean viewgift shoppost officemain buildingacross the roadsmall townservice was greatright next doorconference roomexercise room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 223 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a night en route from St. Barbe to Corner Brook after leaving Labrador crossing over the ferry. The hotel offers a swimming pool, hot tub (both outdoors) and a sauna and fitness room. It's located right by the ocean. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and the manager is a pleasure to deal with, going out of his way to make our stay a memorable one. Would highly recommend this hotel! Also, it's worth the few extra dollars to book a cabin, they are spacious, had 2 separate bedrooms and kitchen facilities. Less than a 5 min walk is a grocery store and liquor express.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gbayann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shall0wBay, Public Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Glad you had a great stay with us! We are pleased to serve those of you who are travelling to the ferry across the Straits. Be sure to tell all your friends! Thanks again for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We rested well after a long day in Gros Morne.

The good:
Comfortable beds
Clean room
Hot shower
Good kitchen, well stocked with cooking and cleaning supplies
Refrigerator
Couch

The Bad:
Wifi was not accessible (it said it was there but would not connect)
The bedrooms BARELY fit the double beds in them. no room to walk by the beds, and had to open suitcases in the living room.

We were glad it was NEAR the park.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PathfinderMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shall0wBay, Public Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

We appreciate your comments. Partly as a result of your comments, we have upgraded our wifi associated with our cottages just recently. We realize that the bedrooms in your cottage are slightly small and we do apologize for that. But we do appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Who knows, we may at some point look at that issue in a more proactive way. Thanks again and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We had a one night stay. Arrived ahead of schedule. Staff accommodated us gladly. Two doubles, flat screen TV, coffee maker, free wifi. Room very clean, but a bit of a musty smell. Would have appreciated a fridge in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shall0wBay, Public Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you for your comments. We are glad that overall you had a positive experience here. We do offer cottages with refrigerator as an option for those who would prefer it. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed here a week this spring. Motel seems newly renovated, everything is clean and well kept. Staff is attentive to the motel and the needs of guests. If you need something, they will try and help you out. Neddy's Pub has a good selection of beer and hard liquor. The dining room was great with a nice view of the bay. Food was pretty good considering where you are. You can't go wrong with the fish, whether its cod or haddock or salmon...it all seemed fresh and was cooked correctly.

The location within the National Park is a bonus. Bring your fishing rod because the locals were pretty good to give advice on where to go. I fished Parsons Pond area and St. Pauls bridge but that is literally the tip of the ice burg. There seems to be plenty of fish around.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near an exit and park your vehicle right by the door to unload!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisInNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shall0wBay, Public Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us this past spring! We strive to make every guests stay a good one. Thank you for taking the time to write a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

While in Cow Head we had the opportunity to stay in one of the cabins at this establishment. It did not come with a complimentary breakfast. The location was great, just a short drive to Gros Morne hiking trails. Also close to Shallow Bay and the trail leading to the Shallow Bay Lighthouse. We had a unit overlooking the bay. This allowed us to enjoy the sunset and the peace and quiet of the Gulf of St. Lawrence. For a cabin, we found the room small. It was very clean and had all the things required. The best place to eat was in the main motel. Here the food was very good and the view was very nice. There is a theatre very near the property. We did not attend. I did not observe anything spectacular or degrading.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you had a positive experience during your stay. Feedback from our guests helps us to improve. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews