We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shallow Bay Motel Delivers the Goods.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cow Head
Certificate of Excellence
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Shallow Bay Motel Delivers the Goods.”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed here a week this spring. Motel seems newly renovated, everything is clean and well kept. Staff is attentive to the motel and the needs of guests. If you need something, they will try and help you out. Neddy's Pub has a good selection of beer and hard liquor. The dining room was great with a nice view of the bay. Food was pretty good considering where you are. You can't go wrong with the fish, whether its cod or haddock or salmon...it all seemed fresh and was cooked correctly.

The location within the National Park is a bonus. Bring your fishing rod because the locals were pretty good to give advice on where to go. I fished Parsons Pond area and St. Pauls bridge but that is literally the tip of the ice burg. There seems to be plenty of fish around.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near an exit and park your vehicle right by the door to unload!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisInNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shall0wBay, Public Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us this past spring! We strive to make every guests stay a good one. Thank you for taking the time to write a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    90
    38
    6
    4
See reviews for
34
94
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Okotoks, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

While in Cow Head we had the opportunity to stay in one of the cabins at this establishment. It did not come with a complimentary breakfast. The location was great, just a short drive to Gros Morne hiking trails. Also close to Shallow Bay and the trail leading to the Shallow Bay Lighthouse. We had a unit overlooking the bay. This allowed us to enjoy the sunset and the peace and quiet of the Gulf of St. Lawrence. For a cabin, we found the room small. It was very clean and had all the things required. The best place to eat was in the main motel. Here the food was very good and the view was very nice. There is a theatre very near the property. We did not attend. I did not observe anything spectacular or degrading.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you had a positive experience during your stay. Feedback from our guests helps us to improve. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

They went Above and beyond to our stay as pleasent as possible even though they were booked up. The area is wonderful and like no other place on earth. I woild recommend making the effort to visit this insipiring part of the planet!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sculpiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. Our business is family owned and both Management and Staff strive to make each and every guest feel at home. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed in a cottage, separate from the main hotel. There were four or five units (bedroom and bath) and a shared kitchen/sitting area. We ate at the pub once (pretty ordinary fare), attended the dinner theatre one night (still ordinary fare, but the play was very well done --an enjoyable evening) and one night we cooked dinner in the microwave in the kitchen. Finding ingredients for dinner was challenging since the grocery store in Cow Head has less choice that a city convenience store, but we managed. Sometimes it was hard to find a seat at breakfast (included in our room rate) because of the bus tour groups that stop here. We also appreciated the hotel's laundromat. The best part of our stay here was the walk on the tidal flats and then sitting on the cottage deck watching the colours change in the magnificent sunsets. We stayed three nights here and visited attractions in Gros Morne during the day. Another time, one night would have been enough, to see the dinner theatre and take the Western Brook Pond tour, then I would move down to Norris Point to visit the southern part of the park.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mangau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
While it's true that we live in small community with limited resources, we make every attempt to meet our guests' needs. Our affiliation with the Gros Morne Theatre Festival has been beneficial in that our visitors can experience professional theatre in a cozy setting. Thank you for your review and please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONTARIO
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed here twice in one week. I didn't expect this place to be so close to the road and situated in a small town with no other restaurants nearby other than their own. The first room we had was a basic, clean, quiet motel room. The second room we had was in a guest house with about 4 rooms total. This was located beside the main building and was very new and modern. It also had a door that opened out onto a balcony that faced a rocky shoreline. You have to go to the main building if you want ice. If you want to use their pool or hot tub you have to sign a key out from the front desk. The staff were very friendly and helpful about tourist information. They have a theatre next door which we didn't attend. There were some tour buses there on our visit so the restaurant can become very busy. The food was good in the restaurant and I would probably stay here again if visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRAFTY CRUISER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate that our community cannot offer visitors a wide variety of dining experiences and our property does cater to bus groups thus making our dining room quite busy at times, however, Management does make every effort to provide guests with quality food and our best service possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarenville, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I have stayed at Shallow Bay on numerous occasions and my basic comment is that they are getting better, although still over-priced. We stayed in a new Cabin which is not connected to the motel and to be honest I was pleasantly surprised at the quality. I had stayed at the cabins 10 years ago and it was no treat. Our cabin is attached and bordered the main road which meant that on the weekend it was noisy. For the Cabin itself I would give them a 5 but it is the other things. We were promised internet but with a Laptop, iPad and 2 iPhones we were unable to get a decent connection, and no offer of a reduction in price. There was also a levy of about $5 a night that was not explained. We planned to eat at the restaurant at the motel, but did so only once. Burned frozen french fries are not classy anywhere. Also, this has been one of the warmest summers in many years in Newfoundland and there was no a/c in the cottage.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RockyWaters69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thanks for your review. At Shallow Bay Motel, we strive to provide guests with a positive experience, thereby creating return guests. In that vein, we have gone through considerable expense to provide guests with Wi-Fi. While it is true that from time to time we experience interuptions in our service, for the most part our internet service is quite good and getting better. For those guests who wish to have air conditioned accomodations, we offer 64 units that are equipped with it. As for the Levy, we must charge a 3% Levy on accomodations as we are located in Gros Morne National Park(It is my understanding that this is common practice in many locales. i.e.St. John's, etc.). Any and all comments are welcome as they give us the opportunity to improve and put guests' minds to rest by answering any concerns they may have. Thanks again and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washago on.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We spent July 2nd and 3rd at this resort and other than having a good nights sleep the money spent was just not worth it. We definately would bypass this resort if visiting the area again.All the advertising indicated a much better accomadation than was realized. We could not with a clear conscience promote this resort to our friends visiting the Cow Head area in the future.

Room Tip: Don't pay the extra to up-grade to an ocean view room (without a free breakfast). It's not w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertrWashagoOn_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We appreciate your review. However, it is difficult to answer your comments without knowing specifically what problems you encountered. At Shallow Bay Motel we strive to make guests' experience a positive one. Please feel free to contact us or leave another review with specifics. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cow Head
23.2 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
23.5 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seabreeze B & B
Seabreeze B & B
#1 of 3 in Cow Head
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Gros Morne Suites
Gros Morne Suites
#6 of 15 in Rocky Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dockside Motel
Dockside Motel
#1 of 2 in St Barbe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Genevieve Bay Inn
Genevieve Bay Inn
#2 of 2 in St Barbe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins

Property: Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
Address: 193 Main Street | P.O. Box 44, Cow Head, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 2A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Cow Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cow Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Gros Morne National Park. Home of Gros Morne Theatre Festival, live theatre May - September. Minutes away from breathtaking scenery--Western Brook Fjords Pond boat tour, Shallow Bay Beach, and 18-hole golf course. 84 units--many in room comforts. Our facility offers--free Wireless Internet, Restaurant, Outdoor heated pool, Hot Tub, Sauna, Exercise Room, Gift Shop, ATM and Laundromat. Combining the amenities of a 3.5* motel with luxurious oceanfront rooms. 2 Exits--North & South (drive through community). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shallow Bay Motel And Cabins
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins Hotel Cow Head
Shallow Bay Hotel
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins Cow Head, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing