We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Place to visit and stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mary's Harbour
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Battle Harbour Heritage Properties
Kassel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb Place to visit and stay”
Reviewed October 6, 2010

This fall I had been staying on Battle Island for the fourth time. It is the ideal spot to get away from the everyday hassle and relax in a natural and almost unspoiled part of nature. Lots of attractions except hitec can be fully enjoyed. Ancient rocks, exotic flora, hard sea weather, whales and dolphins. And so much of the history of the former Capital of Labrador on your own or with the guided tours. The refurbished houses and cabins are simply wonderful and suitable for any expectation. A fantastic service team takes care of all your needs, excellent food is prepared and served three times a day. The list of attractions and amenities could be continued. The two most remarkable facts in my opinion are: You will meet many nice and interesting people and you will not see or hear a car for the time of your stay. Alltogether a highly recommendable adventure! I am planning to go there again....

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jayveeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
18
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellesley
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

It's a privilege to be able to immerse yourself in the way of life so many maritime Canadians lived up to just 50 short years ago. A humbling experience when you learn how hard their life was, just to survive....and barely that some years.

The island is remotely beautiful, walk to the small engine plane crash or the cemetary on the far side of the island, watch whales and iceburgs float by, be sure to eat your meals in the dining hall above the general store (delicious home cooked meals served by a host of fabulous ladies!) and get to know the few summer inhabitants and other guests. Take a dory over to Great Caribou Island across the tickle for a hike....all with no phones, TVs or internet! And best of all, no blackflies!

The weather can be quite cool and the nights are pitch black - the utter silence is amazing and soul-soothing.

The properties are historic - do NOT expect hotel level accomodation....that's the charm and the whole point!

We stayed in Spearing Cottage and absolutely loved it - it's a two bedroom fisherman's summer home, heated by the oil fired old fashioned stove. A double bed in one room and two twins in the other covered with quilts.

It IS expensive so be prepared - the ferry over is $60 for adults and $30 for kids, then you pay a small fee to actually get on the island ($9). Our cottage cost $190 per night, then the meals are anywhere from $10-20 per person depending on what meals you're attending...at the end of the day two days, one night cost us just over $500. Honestly, though it's a once in a lifetime experience and worth every single penny!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suzandowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

The lodgings at Battle Harbour are all historic structures, and I felt like I was staying in a museum (in a good way). Nothing fancy but the ambience -- which was extrodinary. I stayed in the Grenfell Cottage in Room 4 and loved it all. There is but one bathroom in the entire 4-bedroom building, and the water in the entire area currently needs to be boiled before drinking, but that those were very minor considerations to be in such a place.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 9139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
450 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 667 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2009

You need quite some determination to get to Battle Harbour but it's well worth the effort.
When was the last time you saw humpback whales come right up to the shore as they chase shoals of fish? When was the last time an iceberg drifted past you?

Battle Harbour is a collection of small wooden houses on a tiny island about an hour's boat ride from St Mary's, a fishing town in Labrador in the far east of Canada. A century ago this was a bustling cod fishing port but rapidly fell out of favour a few decades ago as the fishery started to decline and consumers' tastes changed. A heritage trust is slowly buying up and renovating the cottages, which can be rented out. There is also an inn with individual rooms for visitors.

There is no internet, television, cars or roads. Cell phones and BlackBerries don't work. This is a refuge from the more pressing parts of civilisation. Battle Harbour is a place to read, to go for walks, look at the sea, stare in amazement at the whales and icebergs, wander through the overrun cemeteries, look at the excellent exhibits declining the rise and fall of the cod fishery, and generally relax. The wooden houses are functional, not luxurious, and take you back to a time when life was simpler and harder. We deliberately chose to stay two nights in a cottage with no power (there was hot water) and learned what it's like to wander around in the gloom generated by oil lamps and survive on the heat put out by a kitchen stove. My 13-year-old daughter loved every second of it.

You can cook for yourself but it's wiser to pay extra for the generous and well-cooked meals on offer. Dining is communal style and one of the delights was meeting people who'd also taken the effort to get out all the way to Labrador. And it is an effort. First you need to get to Newfoundland, the eastern most Canadian province. From there you catch a ferry to Labrador. About 90 minutes down the road you hit the town of Red Bay, and there the good road ends. It's another 80 km (50 miles) on a rough gravel road to St Mary's Harbour and then another hour from there by boat to Battle Harbour.

Be aware that the weather in Labrador is extremely variable. The day before we arrived there was bright sunshine, but during our stay the fog started to roll in and made it hard to see anything much beyond 30 yards. In some ways that helped make our stay more atmospheric and memorable.

The only reason I've given this four and not five stars is that it isn't cheap. Once you've added everything together (our cottage was more than $300 Canadian a night, the boat trip is $60 return for adults) the cost mounts up and we ended up spending more than $1,000 Canadian for two nights. We loved every moment of our stay and would like to go back in a few years to see how the renovation project is going.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Faience44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Battle Harbour Heritage Properties? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battle Harbour Heritage Properties

Property: Battle Harbour Heritage Properties
Address: PO Box 140, Mary's Harbour, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 3P0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Labrador > Mary's Harbour
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mary's Harbour
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Battle Harbour Heritage Properties Mary's Harbour, Canada - Labrador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing