We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel Laki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Laki
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Efri-Vik
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed for three nights at this hotel. The accommodation was very good, with good clean rooms each with a good view. The staff were friendly and helpful. The evening meal was a buffet arrangement with a superb spread of foods available: although this was very good for one visit we chose not to eat in the hotel on subsequent nights having found a fine (and much less expensive) restaurant in the nearby village (Systrakaffi, Kirkjubaejarklaustri). The hotel is associated with Holasport who offer quad bike and super jeep tours locally, and we took advantage of this by booking a trip to the Laki craters, which was superb.

Room Tip: Don't choose the room under the kitchen or buffet servery area (one of ours was like this) as yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 581 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Lovely location and helpful staff and excellent breakfast buffet with great views. Cottages very basic and very small and sited rather too close to each other, but rather fun in a way but not great value sadly.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drkeithpdawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

The Laki hotel is situated on the country side close to Kirkjubæjarklaustur. The location is gorgeous and the building itself is nice. Our room was small, but clean. Bathroom was also a bit claustrophobic with a typical Japanese shower. Too bad they didn't fix the curtain with the flowers which was hanging loose. It was possible to darken to room very well at night, so we were happy about that.

We really enjoyed the dinner buffet here. It was a real treat! So many options to choose from. (Be warned, they do serve whale.) All beautifully presented and very tasty. Loved, loved, loved the buffet!

After dinner we sat in the bar, because we found this more pleasant than sitting in our tiny room with only one chair and a small desk. We enjoyed the view on the gletsjer and the beautiful sunset. Stunning.

Also loved the breakfast buffet. Best breakfast we had during our trip in Iceland. There were so many options (hot and cold) that it was impossible to try everything. Loved the smoothies!

Staff was very friendly and professional.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CarolienBAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

This one was a very difficult to rate. Had I rated the hotel I would have easily given four stars, but as we stayed at one of the cottages, I have to give two stars.

The cottages are located behind the hotel, and they are very small. With the wood-panelling they had a romantic feel, but that's about all the positives one can say about it. The bathroom was rather ancient and there was a bowl next to the toilet for the leaking water from the pipes. For 125 euros per night in the middle of nowhere it was a rip-off.

The hotel itself was the complete opposite. We caught a glimpse at one of the rooms and it seemed very nice. The buffet dinner was amazing (you don't have to take the whole buffet, even though they do not advertise this possibility, ask the waiter) and there were so many choices at breakfast, all excellent. The staff was also friendly. Wifi is only in the hotel building, not the cottages.

Room Tip: Book a room at the hotel, don't book a cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pikkuaalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

This place is located at a very hard to get hotel at this time of season we loved that place. It has Very nice view. A good Five star yeasty and diverse breakfast and lovely service. The room was Rather small but warm friendly and fully equipped.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Levy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Close to Kirkjubæjarklaustur village, which doesn't offer much more than a gas station and a restaurant, the hotel itself is not bad, offering a nice restaurant and a cozy bar. Too bad they also have bungalows; we booked one of them for 3 adults for 1 night. The bungalows are basically metallic containers arranged in the back of the hotel and a muddy road has to be taken to reach them. The sleeping room has 3 beds and no place left to stand and the bathroom, also very basic, doesn't have enough hot water for 3 adults. It really felt like sleeping in a hostel quality dormitory. Needless to say that the place in July is absolutely overpriced, even for Iceland.

Room Tip: Do not sleep in the bungalows, go for the regular rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thirstytravelingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We rented a cottage over there for me, my wife and our 2 years old son. Very roomy, quiet. There's a large field right in front of the cottages where my kid could play, so it was great. No wifi in the cottages though, but you can go to the hotel and have it if you want.

BUT, the best part about this hotel are the breakfasts. There's a make your own pancake stand. And they have real maple syrup, cured and smoked salmon and other cool stuff. Highly recommended !!!

Cheers

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Millow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Efri-Vik
2.9 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Klaustur
Icelandair Hotel Klaustur
#1 of 2 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
589 reviews
12.9 mi away
Fosshotel Nupar
Fosshotel Nupar
#2 of 2 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
647 reviews
1.8 mi away
Magma Hotel
Magma Hotel
#1 of 8 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Horgsland
Horgsland
#6 of 8 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
243 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Geirland
Hotel Geirland
#4 of 6 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
268 reviews
19.1 mi away
Hrifunes Guesthouse
Hrifunes Guesthouse
#1 of 6 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laki

Address: Efri-Vik, Efri-Vik 880, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > South Region > Efri-Vik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Efri-Vik
Price Range: $141 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Laki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laki Efri Vik
Hotel Laki Iceland/Efri-Vik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing