We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms mediocre food. ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Laki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Laki
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Efri-Vik
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
“Great rooms mediocre food. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were fantastic except for being able to adjust the thermostat. Food on the other hand, was over priced for the quality. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I'd recommend staying here if you can find another food option nearby.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Theurge1618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    158
    126
    53
    28
See reviews for
100
235
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dartford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

We arrived very late after a very long and snowy drive, hotel was very clean and comfortable and the dinner (lamb and smoked salmon ) was absolutely delicious and very welcome. We were the only people staying at the hotel so imagine our amazement to come in to a breakfast selection that included everything from pancakes to bacon and eggs! If like us you want get away from it all this place is highly recommended , don' t miss the iceberg lagoon, absolutely beautiful

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

We didn't know what to expect when we arrived but we were pleasantly surprised by this family run hotel. Everything was very modern and the buffet dinner was superb. The rooms were very clean and spacious and the view we had was spectacular.

If you are lucky you will see the owner's dog walking around the property.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

We visited this hotel in November and essentially had the place to ourselves. It is absolutely beautiful. It was a wonderful destination after seeing the eerily beautiful lava beds and majestic waterfalls on our way there. We could not have felt more welcome. Thank you, Margaret and all the staff! Even tho there were so few people there, the kitchen produced fabulous gourmet meals. The staff was great, full service bar,very comfortable beds, stunning views all around! Would have been perfect if the Northern Lights had appeared! The hotel will even give you aawake-up call at nite if you request it, if the lights are very good. I wouldn't miss this hotel if you are traveling in Iceland.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TBL615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
600 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Out of all the 5 properties in which we stayed on our trip to Iceland, Hotel Laki was our FAVORITE.

We were nearly the only guests for our two nights in November, so the large facility with its modern amenities had an isolated, nearly eerie ambience which gave us the feeling like we were truly away from it all, especially since the area was blasted by windstorms on both nights. The weather kept us indoors in the evenings, and the thick glass windows rattled as we slept.

Service was warm, friendly, professional, and nearly impeccable. We were treated as if we were honored guests in their home (the owners live next door) and they are very knowledgeable about the area.

Dinners were delicious and I'd give the food a 4 star rating - being in the middle of nowhere, it is pricey, but we LOVED the dessert of Icelandic pancake pouch with vanilla ice cream in the middle and hard molasses swirls. They also have a decent bar and the gal had helpful suggestions on what we should try (crowberry liqueur on ice, yummy). In the mornings, the breakfast spread was also the best: two types of pickled herring, smoke salmon, eggs, bacon, waffle maker, cereals, oatmeal, veggies, fruits, toasts, crackers...

Our room was very clean with amazing views towards Skaftafell, which we visited during our stay. Like all the other beds in which we slept in Iceland, each of us got our own single comforter on only a fitted sheet. Large windows, modern TV and bathroom. Free parking. Huge dining space with an old piano against one wall. The only negative was that we couldn't connect to the WiFi until we were in the bar & lounge area (which has soaring high ceilings with lots of space and comfy leather chairs). Other than that, we were very comfortable the entire time and we could have stayed here another two nights!

HIGHLY recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aerofaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel was very pleasant. Room was clean, bathroom modern, views wonderful. Breakfast was quite robust.......better than average in variety. Service staff at all levels were excellent. You could definitely use this location as a base for a couple of day visit of the National Parks in the area.

Room Tip: this hotel offers standard and economy rooms (smaller) as well as small cabins. Economy rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nafpaktos
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Breakfast was a great surprise at this hotel. it was one of the best i had in a hotel till now. we stayed in a cottagge house which was simple and clean and the water was very hot. the bed was very comfortable. no wi-fi connection there though. the main building is a bit ugly in my opinion...but the view from the balcony to the lake is great. the location between Vik and Hofn is also a plus. i think that the price for the cottages is a bit expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noctua1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Efri-Vik
3.0 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Klaustur
Icelandair Hotel Klaustur
#1 of 2 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
12.9 mi away
Fosshotel Nupar
Fosshotel Nupar
#2 of 2 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hunkubakkar
Hunkubakkar
#3 of 6 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Geirland
Hotel Geirland
#4 of 6 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
43.9 mi away
Guesthouse Steig
Guesthouse Steig
#3 of 14 in Vik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
4.8 mi away
Horgsland
Horgsland
#5 of 7 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laki

Property: Hotel Laki
Address: Efri-Vik, Efri-Vik 880, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > South Region > Efri-Vik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Efri-Vik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Laki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laki Efri Vik
Hotel Laki Iceland/Efri-Vik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing