We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”
Review of Le Roi Arthur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Roi Arthur
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ploermel
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Excellent Location, Fantastic Food, Superb Service & Kindness

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjm1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 364 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2011

We spent an evening there with my wife and 3 children. The hotel is set in beautiful surroundings, near a lake. Reservations and check-in were friendly and efficient.

We had chosen a bungalow, which I would not recommend as it had not been aired out and temperatures inside were in the 40s (over 100F) when we arrived. The bungalows, contrary to what we thought, were semi detached (ie. a simple door separated us from our neighbors, who were, fortunately, extremely quiet). For a nightly fee of 186 Euros, the furniture was quite spartan, with an old cathode tube TV which only got partial reception of local French channels (CNN addicts beware). Not sure if it's just around the cottages, but there were people yelling outside until about 4 in the morning.

We had dinner at the restaurant which I would recommend; excellent food and at quite a reasonable price (excellent and varied menus from about 36-50 Euros).

Room Tip: Avoid the bungalows (chalets).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank qppstudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2009

Myself and a colleague travelled to Ploermel to visit our company we work with. It's an extremely quiet, rural town in Brittany and we got there from the UK using FlyBe's service from Southampton to Rennes. From there it's about an hour's drive along a near-empty autoroute.

This surprisingly busy hotel is situated at the southern end of the picturesque Duke's Lake (Lac au Duc) and has its own golf complex. From the outside it looks a touch dated but inside is where it counts. We only stayed one night and after checking in at around 5pm, were very hungry as we'd skipped lunch during our travelling. Given that it's usually difficult to get meals outside of normal meal times in France, the bar staff kindly organised a small platter of food for each of us which was fantastic, much to the amusement of the locals coming in from the links.

The bar overlooks part of the course and the lake, and was an enjoyable place to spend some time before our colleagues arrived for dinner later on in the hotel. The whitewashed walls and decorations of the restaurant are very calming. We sat in the conservatory and were very well looked after - even the hotel owner came down to meet us which I thought was very nostalgic, but kind all the same. Our meal was outstanding, with the highlight being the profiteroles dressed as swans for dessert!

My room was a reasonable size and had a small balcony overlooking another part of the golf course, but it was faultlessly presented and very clean. The bathroom also deserves mention thanks to being very clean while having an attractive contemporary feel. I had a good nights' sleep. Breakfast was limited to self-serve cereals and croissants yet enjoyable all the same.

The hotel's other facilities include a spa and a large conference facility, although we didn't get to see these first hand.

In summary I really enjoyed my stay at Le Roi Arthur. It is in the fortunate position of being one of few places to stay in Ploermel but didn't let us down, and the bill was much cheaper than I expected too at a little over 400 Euros. This included two of us staying one night, breakfast, the afternoon snack for two, drinks plus a meal for four in the evening. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2008

Reasonably pleasant 1980s hotel on the outskirts of quite attractive Breton town Ploermel. The hotel is sited next to a large lake, which is pretty but mosquito ridden, and has a small golf course. Breakfast is basic continental fare, not in any way special.

Bedrooms are adequate without any attempt at luxury or unusual features.

We ate here twice in the evening as part of a large party. One of the two meals was just adequate, the other was disappointing.

Unremarkable but OK.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Prendre avec vue sur le lac
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank herveparis2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled solo
Thank orora27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: juste une réflexion: comme nous avons dormi 2 nuits ,les femmes de ménage nous ont demandé s'il...
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sylvie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ploermel
18.4 mi away
La Gree Des Landes Eco Hotel Spa Yves Rocher
1.1 mi away
Hotel le Cobh
Hotel le Cobh
#2 of 4 in Ploermel
79 reviews
12.3 mi away
Logis Le Relais de Broceliande
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Le Retour De Peche
Le Retour De Peche
#4 of 4 in Ploermel
26 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Thy
Le Thy
#3 of 4 in Ploermel
39 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#2 of 2 in Josselin
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Roi Arthur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Roi Arthur

Address: le Lac au Duc, 56800 Ploermel, France
Location: France > Brittany > Morbihan > Ploermel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ploermel
Price Range: $175 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Roi Arthur 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the middle of an 18-hectare ancestral estate, Hôtel Le Roi Arthur is a contemporary-style structure providing an array of panoramic views : sky, golf course and lake. Nestled in the heart of Brittany, the hotel offers comfortable and relaxing accommodations. Extend your relaxation to the well-being center that features a spa with a sauna, hammam, heated indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi. Enjoy a creative cuisine in the dining room or on the terrace in the warmer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Le Roi Arthur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing