We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful Heaven”
other travelers have booked this property
Mezzanine Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mezzanine Area
Front of Cottage Lounge area to relax and watch TV
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Mezzanine Area
Front of Cottage
Lounge area to relax and watch TV
Lounge area looking towards french doors
Dining & Kitchen area
Kitchen
Highchair available on request
Bedroom
Cot available on request
Upper lounge area
Bedroom
Staircase
Shower
Bathroom
Balcony area
Garden view from balcony
Private Stoned terrace
Private stoned terrace
View to private terrace
View to balcony and steps leading to parking area
Secluded garden
Secluded garden looking towards stream and pond
Snowy scene
View over Kirkby towards Black Combe
View over Kirkby Moor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Kirkby in Furness, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Howard J
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful Heaven”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This is one of the best properties of which my wife and I have had the privilege to stay in. Chris and Mike were wonderful hosts, providing us with a good selection of treats and wine (also a large flask of hot water and biscuits, when the Water Board did maintainance to the water mains). Very thoughful, will definately be visiting again.
100% Thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJSROSE
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb cottage in stunning location”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Exceptionally superb cottage in a stunning location, owned by a lovely and thoughtful couple. This little gem was great find and we had a lovely few days in the lakes. After a 6 hour journey we were greeted by smiles and were overwhelmed but the lovely cottage and gardens. There was also a welcome hamper and a cold beer on arrival. The cottage was in a great location for exploring Coniston and Windermere. We'd stay out all day and return to the cottage for a BBQ on our own roof sun trap over looking the beautiful garden and hills. Would highly recommend and hope to return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from every window.
Liked least: Our car did not like the small lanes to the property.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluebird2...
Bury
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Beatifully designed, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Everything you needed was there yet the cottage was spacious and tidy..and it had a nice big squishy warm bed too! we had a lovely stay and Chris the owner was a lovely lady.
I would highly recommend this cottage to anyone who wants to visit the Lakes.
We also visited beatrix potters teeny cottage which was very pretty in a delightful area

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Little balcony/terrace
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Reviewed March 29, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was so well done on all fronts
Liked least: Leaving to go home!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GavinandJ...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect week in the Lakes”
Reviewed December 5, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We've been to Bankwood House twice this year already and we wouldn't hesitate to visit again. It's in a great location, quiet and peaceful, but close enough to beautiful places to visit. The cottage is a home away from home for us - we love cosying up in the evenings and visiting the local area in the day. We've been to the cottage in winter and summer and both seasons are equally enjoyable. The owners make us feel really welcome and the accommodation is excellent. It's the little touches that make Bankwood House so special. We've recommended it to friends and they've loved their stay too! We'll be back to stay next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and quality of accommodation
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the well equiped appartment even with candles provided.
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mike G
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Perfect hideaway”
Reviewed October 30, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We found this to be a lovely cottage to stay in for a week's exploring the Lake District. It was well appointed and very clean. neat and tidy. There was a small welcome pack waiting for us on our arrival which was a nice treat and a thoughtful extra. We wondered about the location down in the Lake District Peninsulas but to be honest it was just perfect. The surrounding countryside was beautiful and it was only 15-20 minutes drive and you we at Lake Windermere. We had not explored this part of the Lakes before so it was a real eye opener to see such understated beauty. We went in the autumn so the colours around the Lake District was stunning and every corner turned was a feast for the eyes. The cottage is easy to find and ideal for a couple wanting to 'get away from it all'. I suspect we will be going back here as it is a gem of a find.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Seclusion
Liked least: WiFi connection a bit weak (a WiFi range extender would solve the problem)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing