We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic evening” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Table Rouge

La Table Rouge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Visited La Table Rouge for a wedding rehearsal dinner. Fantastic food, great atmosphere and lovely location overlooking the river. Next time I'm in the region, I think this will be on my lis of places to eat.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    36
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, delicious food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had a fabulous family dinner here on a Monday night whilst staying in the area- the restaurant is closed on a Monday but may open for you if you have a big enough table. It was a lovely warm evening so we sat on the restauant's pretty terrace overlooking the Dordogne river. The food and the service was fantastic, very child friendly. Highly recommended if you are in the area!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JS-82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location and even better food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We went for Sunday lunch at the last minute as we had only just arrived in the area. Although the weather was not at its best and we sat inside. The food and service were excellent, there is a fantastic view of the Dordogne from the windows. This place gives excellent value and is a must if you are in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy2696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“River views, wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were taken here by Brits who have a holiday home in the area on the first weekend of the season. The greeting was welcoming, the view fantastic, complete with swans. The food is excellent, a slight twist on the usual menu found in Aquitaine, given that the Liverpool born patronne/chef has spent a substantial time cooking in Spain. Very good starters included a substantial grilled marrow bone which looked luscious. The entree of large scallops topped with foie gras and a champagne sauce was pronounced 'wonderful' by my chef husband, and my Spanish cut of pork served as a large paupiette was the best thing I have tasted in a long while. I had a delicious lemon custard with a soft meringue for dessert, served with a sable biscuit, which completed a splendid meal for me. The others went for the cheese board, which concentrates on local produce as far as possible. A meal which will be remembered for a long time, in very pleasant surroundings.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Service let it down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Dined here in June whilst holidaying in the area. Lovely location overlooking the Dordogne. I'd describe the restaurant itself as 'surf-shop' chic in its appearance. Several tables were occupied.

Food was of a good standard, presented well in a contemporary style and both my partner & I enjoyed our meal.

Sadly the service lacked finesse. After the starter we were asked to 'hold onto' our cutlery for the main - rather poor given the prices we were paying that there wasnt fresh cutlery available! Also found the waitress, though she spoke fluent french & english, somewhat abrupt and unfriendly eg. at no point did she enquire whether everything was ok with our meal or if we enjoyed it, there was no small talk and she seemed to be in rather a 'mood'. she did seem to be the only one serving so perhaps she was struggling to cope.

Wouldn't rush back there are many other excellent eateries in the area.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine_Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Table Rouge also viewed

Castillon-la-Bataille, Gironde
Castillon-la-Bataille, Gironde
 
Castillon-la-Bataille, Gironde
Castillon-la-Bataille, Gironde
 

Been to La Table Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing