We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic! Thoroughly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Hafen Hitzacker
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hitzacker
Leverkusen, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
894 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Thoroughly recommended”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Hotel Hafen Hitzacker is situated at a great location which is very quiet and peaceful with superb walking possibilities in the vicinity. We loved our huge suite with TWO bathrooms and sensible terrace on the ground floor. This was ideal for a family with an energetic dog! Had fun with the rainforest like tropical shower system in the main bathroom. Wall integrated radios in the different rooms were a novelty. Free soft drinks in the mini bar were appreciated as was the free parking close at hand. Adequete breakfast taken in the Cafe Dieck on the island which was a short walk over a bridge.
The only minor complaints were that we had to pay extra for WLAN access to the internet. This should be free of charge in a modern country like Germany! There were also no tea or coffee making facilities in the room which was a pity.
In summary we found this excellent hotel to be very comfortable and very reasonably priced. Thoroughly recommended from our side!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eyekaytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
22
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mae Rim, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

I read on TripAdvisor about the nice rooms in this hotel but believed when we checked in. The Comfort Double Room we booked is an actual big suit with 2 toilets and a balcony. The building is 2 years old and well designed. The location is great for relaxing and walking. We changed our room to face the small canal which has a lovely view. The staff spoke English. Wifi works well but at a fee.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Israthai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

There really is little I can add to the previous reviews! It is ALL true! The hotel is calm. The rooms ARE more like suites! TWO fully equipped bathrooms...well, one did not have a shower in it but there was a toilet, bidet, handbasin, hairdryer etc, etc in the 'second' bathrroom!...more than one can expect in hiotels half the price!
The staff were few BUT very efficient!....and helpful and friendly too!
If it is a really good hotel in a peaceful location that you are looking for....then you would not be disappointed with the Hafen Hitzacker!
My ONLY surprise....rather than crititism....was that we were charged 6 euros a day for Wi Fi use which, in today's world was/is unusual!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Elbe....it MAY cost 10 euros a day more but it is worth it! High roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FRANCES39A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall,
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at Hitzacker for only one night whilst en route through Germany however, had we realised earlier what a delightful town it is and what excellent value the hotel offered, we would have extended our stay. Externally the hotel is pleasant but unremarkable and on reaching reception the impression was more of a motel than a hotel, with rather indifferent service. Our opinion of the hotel improved dramatically when we entered our room. A large and well furnished sitting room led on to an equally large bedroom with copious wardrobe space and to two 'bathrooms', both exceptionally well appointed (including built-in radios!) and one having a walk-in shower. A private balcony, with appropriate furniture, could be accessed from the sitting room via large patio doors. In the sitting room we found a courtesy half-bottle of wine and two glasses. The historic old town is effectively on an island on the Elbe whereas the hotel is situated on the adjacent river bank linked by a wooden footbridge. Charmingly (or, if it is raining, annoyingly - but the hotel does offer courtesy umbrellers!) the hotel restaurant is on the opposite side of the bridge to the hotel. Dining in the restaurant was pleasant, with good service, but the food was, again, unremarkable. There is adequate private parking, some of which is under cover.
Although I have been critical in some areas it must be remembered that this is not an expensive hotel and actually offers exceptional value for money, especially when one considers the delightful setting.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

This hotel provides excellent accommodation in a building less than two years old. The room was more like a suite with 2 toilet/bidet/basin rooms one with a walk in shower and a massive living room and balcony looking across the Elbe to the former DDR. Breakfast and dinner was taken in the restaurant which was the original hotel building before the new build. This is 2 minutes away over a bridge to the 'Island' of the old town where there are other bars and restaurants. It was nice to see a stork nesting on one of the old buildings in the town. Some buildings go back to the thirteenth century. I was travelling in a group of 24 rowers en route down the Elbe to Hamburg. We had half-board so while you could eat as much as you want at the breakfast buffet the evening 'set' meal did not really sustain the larger oarsmen. We paid for the 'trip' and I don't have a breakdown of the costs for this hotel, but I would guess that we got a very good deal. Would have been nice to have a pool and/or sauna.

Room Tip: I would say that we had the best room. Top floor, corner nearest the river Elbe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mad_max555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hitzacker
0.5 mi away
Parkhotel Hitzacker
Parkhotel Hitzacker
#2 of 4 in Hitzacker
41 reviews
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Restaurant Scholz
#4 of 4 in Hitzacker
3 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Zur Linde
#3 of 4 in Hitzacker
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
De Weimar Landhotel
De Weimar Landhotel
#1 of 3 in Ludwigslust
35 reviews
4.3 mi away
No photo provided
18.4 mi away
Burghotel Lenzen
Burghotel Lenzen
#1 of 1 in Lenzen
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hafen Hitzacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hafen Hitzacker

Property: Hotel Hafen Hitzacker
Address: Am Weinberg 2, 29456 Hitzacker, Lower Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Lower Saxony > Hitzacker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hitzacker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hafen Hitzacker 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Hafen Hitzacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing