We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class - real home from home”
Review of Maison Esmeralda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maison Esmeralda
Ranked #1 of 3 Biert B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We are a family of 5 who traveled the Raid Pyrenean, 3 cyclists and 2 supporting. We all want to say a HUGE thank you to both Michael and Marcia for their kindness and hospitality, without which our journey would have been much more difficult.
The standard of the chambres d’hôtes is excellent – by far one of the best we stayed in throughout our vacation. Rooms are furnished very tastefully and extremely comfortable with every amenity you could wish for.
We had an excellent evening meal - ideal for hungry cyclists and Michael and Marcia were very accommodating in giving us an early breakfast to allow us to set off early
We would love to stay with you again whenever we are visiting the Massat area and shall certainly recommend you to our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pii314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
There are newer reviews for Maison Esmeralda
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 19 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2011

We were two couples with dogs and spent 6 days in the gite in Biert. After the long winding roads we were greeted by Mick and Marcia and their two children, who were at all times truly friendly, welcoming and attentive. The gite was fully equipped and the setting is truly beautiful and safe. The area is beautiful and exceptionally good if you are into VTT. Trails to the Col de Port were a great experience. We also got to bathe in the Arac river, did some sightseeing in the area and enjoyed some excellent food at a restaurant in Seix. The value is excellent. I would reccommend the gite for families or groups of friends with dogs. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristopherBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We, a family of 4 with 2 boys aged 11 and 12, stayed in the gite for a week in this wonderful part of the world. The gite is well equiped and spacious for 4 people. It is located just by the Arac river, which was lovely to hear while falling to sleep. We ate table d'hote with the owners 4 times in the week, the food was very good; it got a big thumbs up from all of us. We were well looked after and had lots of help to organising our days.
We really enjoyed relaxing at the accomodation, with pretty gradens and fun play area, but also found that we weren't far from the pretty town of St Girons (30 mins drive) with its excellent market and Lido. We visited Lac de Mondelay (around an hours drive) and went on a downhill mountain bike ride with VTT Bike rental in Massat.
This is an excellent place to stay, we hope to do so again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maureen1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Amazing hospitality and glorious food. Staying here is so much a "home from home" experience. We were made so welcome. Lovely place in beautiful part of France.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckrich5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

We booked the Gite for a week. We found Micheal and Marcia the most charming hosts. they have 2 friendly children of 7 and 4 whom were very used to guests and played with our children and made them feel welcome. The Gite is Very Charming which caters for all your basic needs. Michael and Marcia also welcomed us into the home. There is a Patisserie within 100 meters for great pastry's. You must try Marcia's home cooked Food 10/10. Be careful though, Michael will keep you up drinking.
Location 9/10
Accomodation 9/10
Views 10/10.
Hosts 10/10
Overall Experiance 10/10

Room Tip: Book the Gite if you are a Family
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_Connor-West
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Beautiful old house with loads of atmosphere and character, really comfortable place with loads of room outside for the kids to play safely. Michael and Marcia were very friedly and great cooks. We had a great stay and this was a great base for walking with rewarding views of the mountains and valleys. We'll definitely be back during the warmer months for more of the same. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachcomberBarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

I had been having a particularly stressful time, with both family, relationship and work and I was basically desperate to just get away from things and find some peace.

I stumbled across Maison Esmeralda whilst looking for accomodation on the net and I have to say it was probably one of the better decisions that I have made for quite a while. From the moment that I arrived Marcia and Michael were the perfect hosts, throught the whole of the five days that I spent with them knowing exactly how to give guests space and when advice and company is required.

The food that they had prepared was outstanding, their camaraderie warmth was unsurpassed and the setting of the Maison Esmerelda itself is unbelievably beautiful.

I really totally refreshed when I returned to London and I cannot recommend the place highly enough.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biert
5.1 mi away
Hostellerie De La Poste
15.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Agnes
Le Manoir d'Agnes
#1 of 4 in Tarascon-sur-Ariege
179 reviews
10.0 mi away
Chateau de Beauregard
Chateau de Beauregard
#1 of 4 in Saint-Girons
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Auberge Les Myrtilles
1.9 mi away
Le Maxil
Le Maxil
#1 of 4 in Massat
59 reviews
0.8 mi away
Les Deux Velos Cyclelodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Esmeralda

Address: Route des Pyrenees | Midi-Pyrenees, 09320 Biert, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Ariege > Biert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Biert
Price Range: $93 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Maison Esmeralda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing