We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little piece of heaven”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Jacana Villa Yala

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tissamaharama, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SandyaSal...
Panadura, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed January 1, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Jacana Villa was an unexpected 'little piece of heaven!" and one of the best holiday hideouts...
The setting is unique and breathtaking. The ambiance is simple, tasteful and elegant.
The stay was outstandingly pleasant.
Food was great. The service was greater!
We couldn't have found a better hideout away from the hustle and bustle to spend a 31st night in quiet tranquility like this one!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The total package
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey T
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Villa, Incredible Food”
Reviewed September 22, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed at the Jacana Villa in March 2015, with our two boys, and had an incredible time. The Villa itself is beautiful, with an open living room and dining room, and two very large bedrooms. We went swimming in the pool, and took a walk in the surrounding neighborhood. The Villa is close to Yala National Park, and we went for a safari, arranged by the Villa. Sitings in the park included an elephant, and a leopard! The highlight of the Villa, however, was the food! The cook prepared traditional Sri Lankan meals, made from all local ingredients. They were delicious -- definitely our best meals in Sri Lanka! Highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2015
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the villa and the meals! We hope you will visit us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfaLondo...
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sri Lankan highlight”
Reviewed August 24, 2015 for a stay in December 2013

My wife, our two boys and I travelled around Sri Lanka for two weeks over Christmas and New Year. We spent Christmas at the gorgeous Jacana Villa Yala and I can honestly say this was the highlight of our already amazing trip. Nothing was too much for the staff and our ever need was attended to from guides and jeeps to the local game park, organised picnics and further transportation. To our surprise the chef and staff laid on a full christmas dinner with turkey and all the trimmings plus plum pudding, crackers and decorations! Always smiling and always there if anything was needed. Beautiful run by the generous owners.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The staff and the comfort
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2015
Thank you for your generous review. We are delighted that we were able to make your stay at Jacana over Christmas the highlight of your visit to Sri Lanka. We hope that you can visit and stay with us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruwani j
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Gem of a Hideaway”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Clean, airy and spacious. The perfect quiet spot, away from the tourist hordes and buffets.
The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was superb.

Dasun also Organized a jeep for us to visit Yala.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2015
Thank you for your review. We are truly delighted that this was the highlight of your family holiday in Sri Lanka. We hope to have you with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nn55
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stellar Villa”
Reviewed August 19, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Had the pleasure of spending a few days in December 2014 holiday season at Jacana Villa. We were a family of 8 (6 adults, 2 kids) and the villa was the perfect accommodation for our needs. The villa itself is airy, modern and spacious, with plenty of room and nicely furnished.

Beside the fantastic villa and the location, the best aspect of our stay was the staff. The caretaker was great and the resident cook crafted some delicious, authentic meals. We were very well looked after! The day excursions to Yala National Park and Kataragama are very convenient.

A real gem of a place. Lucky to have discovered it and can’t wait to return!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2015
Hi Nirmalan, thank you for your review. It was great to have you and your family with us. We hope you will visit again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aftab_azi...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stunning Place; Amazing Staff”
Reviewed August 2, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My wife and I stayed at Jacana Villa with a few extended family members. The place is stunning, beautifully laid out and comfortable. The staff make you feel like royalty and are always smiling. The food that was cooked for us was unbelievable. They even organise a good, knowledgable jeep to take you on the safari (which is better than any other jeep service you can get on your own).

Special mention must be made of Dasun - who runs around to make sure you are having a great time. He even led us on a walk through the village behind the villa.

Highly recommended!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2015
Thank you for your generous review and glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon back at Jacana!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing