We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magampura Eco Village Resort
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Tissamaharama
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Friendly staff, lovely food, fabulous local fruit welcome drink, good, quite room! The pool was welcome after the warm day. It was an interesting drive to the Bundala and Yala parks from here, so a good location. We were very happy here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    36
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
49
28
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed at this resort only one night. the family did not like it because of the insects inside and out side of the rooms. the rooms are not very clean but acceptable. The hotel location is away from the streets. The best thing about this resort is the closeness to yala park.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samara_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Lavinia
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We were there during the Sinhala-Tamil New Year evening. According to the staff, the hotel started its operations in August 2013. However, the services seem to be not completely available.
Positive aspects: The rooms are relatively elegant and well maintained. Staff is very friendly and courteous/efficient too (trying their best to satisfy you).
However, the meals are not great and there seems to be limited choice or some dishes not available (even though it is there as a set menu for your package whether full board or half board) and some items like ice not available when requested. There was no min-bar, safe and ironing boards in the rooms (though the website states this). There is no security (though a hut is available) and safety could be a concern (as anybody could walk in).
But I feel there are plenty of opportunities for the hotel to improve with time

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RanilMountLavinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
395 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights here wow visiting Yala National Park (about 40mins away). The hotel is out of town so very quiet. The rooms are very spacious, clean and well appointed. The staff are very nice and helpful and the food good. They had a set menu with a couple of choices for mains. Dinner is a four course affair with soup and dessert and all very nice. There is a shop just 100m from the hotel which sells basic stuff. The pool is great. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I stayed for 1 night in Jan.14 end. Surrounded with greenery, fresh, calm. Rooms are too good, clean & fresh, specially 1st floor room having a good view. Small but very clean pool. I love to go again for sure. Very relaxed.

Room Tip: Go for a 1st floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SumantJadhav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

If you are planning to stay for sometime in Yala, you can visit this place. Staying in this place is equal to staying in a resort at d border of Yala national park as ultimately you get to see the common birds like peakcocks.
The resort is very new though at par with other established 3 stars. I personally appreciate the hospitality of the restaurant. And the best part of is there's no menu and the team puts together an effort to making every guests request. Me and my hubby got a chance of eating Indian breads after 5 days of our stay in Lanka. And the place also surprised us by serving "wood apple" fresh juice instead of cordials that are served at some places. The interiors of the rooms are amazing. If you are planning to book this place I recommend you to take the room in the first floor, as it has 2 balconies and one opens to viewing a forest. Have fun.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Manipatruni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The bathroom was dirty and the towels grey looking. Due to technical faults of the hot water geyser, I had to wait for hours badly.Despite my stay at the hotel being good albeit too short I would certainly not be recommending this Hotel for any future bookings.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daniel_daanzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tissamaharama
4.9 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
300 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Tamarind Tree
Hotel Tamarind Tree
#7 of 14 in Tissamaharama
110 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ekho Safari Hotel
Ekho Safari Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tissamaharama
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Mandara Rosen
Mandara Rosen
#2 of 3 in Kataragama
393 reviews
5.1 mi away
Kithala Resort
Kithala Resort
#4 of 14 in Tissamaharama
585 reviews
9.2 mi away
Saraii Village
Saraii Village
#8 of 14 in Tissamaharama
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magampura Eco Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magampura Eco Village Resort

Property: Magampura Eco Village Resort
Address: Kataragama Road | Kawantissapura, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Tissamaharama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Magampura Eco Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Magampura Eco Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing