We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow what a bargain!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Flower Garden Lake Resort
Ranked #16 of 86 Tissamaharama B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic little place to relax before and after a safari. It has a pool to cool off in and great dinner menu - you must try the unawatuna prawns. Lunch menu is pretty simple.

The bungalow is excellently equipped. Great modern design.

Try to share a safari with other guests. They may be reluctant but it's silly to have 6 person jeep to just 2 people.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank uktoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 122 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

Literally couldn't find a flaw at this place. Exactly what i wanted with a clean, quiet B&B. Great sized room, large shower/bathroom and great food. It's also set back enough from the road and so little if any noise.

We used this place as a stop over between the Ella in central Sri Lanka and the beaches in the south and were more than happy to stay here. Would recommend to anyone looking for the same. Would have liked to stay longer and relax more but saved the relaxing for Mirissa beach and instead went to Yala national park.

Staff were extremely friendly, as is everyone I have come across in Sri Lanka, even a drunk I met in Kandy! Strong wifi in the lobby/restaurant area which was a change from the wifi in the mountains which speed was synonymous to the speed of a Sri Lankan tractor! AC was very efficient, perhaps even too much as i was fairly chilly during the night but who cares about that? Your in Sri Lanka - Go outside! :)

Overall - Great little hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdamCW92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

This lovely hotel is the best value for money so far! Amazing comfortable rooms, great western food and a nice pool to chill after the safari! Go for it!!! We spent 2 nights and are very happy to recommend.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Hila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

As others have mentioned, this place is well off the beaten path. We got quite lost trying to find it and had to ask directions several times. Google Maps is not correct- nor, I believe- is the depiction of the map on the hotel's website!

The room was nice- good air conditioning, good bathroom, everything seemed clean. We were grateful for the mini-fridge and enjoyed the pastoral setting of the hotel. Watching the water buffalos and birds was a great way to spend the afternoon.

We hit a slight snag with driver accommodations. We had emailed ahead of time to make sure they had such arrangements, but when we showed up, they told us they didn't have accommodations for drivers. Fortunately, I had printed my email correspondence and showed it to them, after which they said they did have a place for our drive. I'm not really sure what that was all about...

Good value, pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Rooms further away from the pool and restaurant would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phosphora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Really liked our room, it was spacious good aircon and a comfortable bed. The pool looked lovely but we didn't get chance to use it. In a nice quiet location but it is a bit far from town. That being said transport can be easily arranged from the hotel into town. We also arranged a day trip with the hotel to the rock temple and kataragama which was excellent and reasonably priced too. They also helped us arrange a safari tour too! The breakfast was filling a balanced, but the dinner menu although vast was nothing too special but presentation of the food was always great! Overall a great stay and would certainly recommend!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Rosie_92_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

The resort is a bit off the track by a lake. There is nothing really around it or in walking distance. It is smaller than I thought, very quiet, but nice. The pool is clean, sunbeds a bit run-down. The owner studied in Switzerland and still does business there. The menu is huge and has lots of swiss dishes on it. The staff does not speak English too good so it is a bit difficult sometimes, but in the end you get what you want. Food is good!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonitasteffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We spent there only one night, but are prefering to stays 2 days more.

The rooms are decorated with charm and the gardens and the pool are fantastic.

A very kind staff and a very, very good food.

A very peaceful place.

Family Jolis Rosell from Barcelona

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tissamaharama
0.5 mi away
Saraii Village
Saraii Village
#8 of 14 in Tissamaharama
280 reviews
5.5 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
332 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kithala Resort
Kithala Resort
#4 of 14 in Tissamaharama
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Ekho Safari Hotel
Ekho Safari Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tissamaharama
577 reviews
11.6 mi away
Jade Green Hambantota
Jade Green Hambantota
#2 of 5 in Hambantota
42 reviews
4.6 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flower Garden Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flower Garden Lake Resort

Address: Tissamaharma Road | Weerawilla, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Tissamaharama
Price Range: $33 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Flower Garden Lake Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Flower Garden Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing