We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but awful service”
Review of Hotel 4 U

Hotel 4 U
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel 4 U
Ranked #25 of 77 Tissamaharama B&B and Inns
Munich
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but awful service”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The room and bathroom were very clean and the food in the restaurant was very good.

The guy at the reception was not so good. The hotel and front gate were locked early in the morning, when we were to be picked up for the Bundala NP tour, although we informed the staff of our early departure that day. Looked for keys and luckily found them in kitchen drawer. Payment was not possible with MasterCard or Maestro Card, although advertised. Had to spend cash at a exchange rate a lot worse than the one we had found on oanda. Wifi was turned off from time to time and only out back on on request.
The excuse for teh bad service was "my boss is in England, I'm only doing the job here, and it's not my fault the card system is broken".

Maybe the service is better, when the owner is there himself/herself, it was not good with that employee.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mika_1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Very clean rooms with mosquito nets, A/C, wireless everywhere, good prices, great food (try the curry fish), very friendly staff. Just off the main road within walking distance to a few good hotel restaurants as well.

Recommended for a night or two during your Safari trips into Gala.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeeGee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We came upon this hotel while looking for a place to stay for a couple of days while we went to Yala national park. Pushpa, who runs the hotel made us feel very welcome and was keen to make out stay enjoyable in any way he could.
The hotel itself is nice and clean with good facilities given the price. The wifi works in the rooms, the beds are reasonably comfortable, the bathroom is well maintained and the a/c is very effective. Meals and meal times were agreed to suit us, including providing fruit juice before our 5:30 am start (Pushpa was willing to have breakfast ready for us, but we had breakfast in the park).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here for two nights when we were doing a safari in Yala National Park. The room was clean, with ac and an en suite bathroom (hot water, excellent pressure in the shower!). The bed had mosquito nets and the hotel has wifi. Best of all though was the welcome from Pushpa, who got up to make us fresh juice before our safari at 5.30am, and who provided us with two delicious dinners at times to suit us and catering for our vegetarian needs. This hotel is great value and a perfect base for exploring Yala.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mairead_Mc_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

A quiet Bed and Breakfast Hotel on the outer parts of Tissamahara with great rooms, a great bed with mosquito net and service like no where we've had in Sri Lanka. Pushpa the Hotel Manager provided by far the best service we've had on our trip so far. He also prepared the best chicken curry with vegetable noodles that we've had on our trip. Given that we've had chicken curry almost twice a day since we've been here, it's saying something. Don't be concerned by it not being in the centre of Tissa, because there is nothing to see in Tissa township anyway. Pushpa provided us with helpful advice and made arrangements for us to be taken to the bus station. we thoroughly recommend this hotel for a basic but incredibly clean and comfortable stay!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitchell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and found the rooms are very clean and spacious. This hotel is near the Yala National Park (only 30min by jeep) and price is also reasonable. The owner is a very nice guy and his service is excellent. Moreover, you can request to order the breakfast at early morning (around 4.30am) before your safari trip to Yala. Highly recommend for you to stay in this hotel if you’d like to travel to Yala National Park.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tissamaharama hotels
0.0 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
282 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
301 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saraii Village
Saraii Village
#8 of 14 in Tissamaharama
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tamarind Tree
Hotel Tamarind Tree
#7 of 14 in Tissamaharama
99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tissa
Hotel Tissa
#11 of 14 in Tissamaharama
126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kithala Resort
Kithala Resort
#4 of 14 in Tissamaharama
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 4 U? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 4 U

Property: Hotel 4 U
Address: Kataragama Road, Mahasenpura, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Tissamaharama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel 4 U 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel 4 U reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing