We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Does exactly what the name suggests!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Wind Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lake Wind Hotel
Ranked #27 of 70 Tissamaharama B&B and Inns
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Does exactly what the name suggests!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

There is a lovely wind from the lake to refresh you from the hot weather! This hotel is a really lovely family hotel and everything from the room, pool and food was great. This hotel is good if you have a driver because then location doesn't matter too much.

We arrived and immediately received a welcome drink of fresh fruit juice! The hotel looks simple and there was some building work going on when we were there but despite all that the rooms are excellent. Bathrooms are new with modern fittings and a lush hot shower! Staff are very friendly and attend to your every need. The lake is beautiful and the pool is in a great position however quite small.

Food is delicious with traditional Sri Lankan type food, so open your taste buds and try something new!!

Overall this hotel is excellent and I would definitely recommend it! Also I would recommend the Yala Safari, get there as early as possible and the hotel can organise that if you haven't already!

Room Tip: Choose a lake side room for a good view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexaBostwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    54
    30
    13
    10
See reviews for
38
59
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two days with our two children. They liked the pool although it's a bit small. We had a room on the groundfloor. Simple but clean and it came with airco and satellite tv. The food was okay. Dinner was a buffet with a lot of very good fresh vegetables. Breakfast was nice with a pancake and curd as extras. We only paid Rs7500 FB and that's a good price. Also a place to go to Yala within half an hour.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RonaldvA69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Booked a deluxe room for our Yala safari with a beautiful view of the Tissa lake from our room. Clean room and even cleaner bathroom, but I felt the sink in the bathroom was a little weird, that's just me. Very friendly and attentive staff, breakfast was ready for our safari at 5 am.

You can hear the sound of wind from the lake. Maybe that's why its called Lake Wind. We had a great Yala safari. Saw a lot of birds and animals and ofcourse the Leopard. Thank you Tissamaharama!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vasuki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed only one night as part of our trip around Sri Lanka. Reading other comments I think we must have had the deluxe room. Our driver arranged all the accommodation so unsure how much he paid. Good hotel, great restaurant and attentive, friendly staff. The set dinner menu was excellent and I could not fault them. As we had a driver the location wasn't a big deal. I quite liked the location but you would be restricted if you wanted to eat outside of the hotel.
We were 2 adults and 1 x 3yr old child. Lovely view and great safari had to Yala.
Would recommend this place.

Room Tip: Yala of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaLHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, null, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I like this hotel near lake friendly staff.u can book the safari but you have to tell them when u checked in they will arrange you the Breakfast to enjoy during safari..nice hotel i recommend they have nice chicken soup.. room quality is ok for money you pay i stayed only one day went with my friends to yala safari.this place is highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjaya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bidford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We only stayed at the Lake Wind Hotel for one night whilst back packing around Sri Lanka, there were 2 room options and I would strongly suggest going for the better of the two as the view over Lake Tissa from the balcony, the air conditioning, amazing shower and in room fridge were definitely worth the extra.
The best feature of this hotel is the owner and his staff who were very helpful and attentive during our stay of only 1 night. Our next point of interest was Sinharaja rainforest so required a taxi, the owner spent a couple of hours phoning around to get us a good price which he was unable to accomplish, so he personally drove us the 2.5hrs across the island himself in the company of his sister for which we will always be extremely grateful.

Others have commented on the price being higher than expected, I would say that this is down to it being of a much higher standard.

Room Tip: Opt for the deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

The rooms are clean and well laid out. The deluxe rooms offer excellent views of the lake and is ideal for relaxing. The bathrooms are also very modern while the beds were very comfortable.
Food is average but is well over priced. You could get an extensive buffet at a good hotel for the same price. The service of the waiters could improve.
But this place has some of the best owners who really take care you well.
Overall could recommend this place.

Room Tip: Try to get a deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UdSe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tissamaharama hotels
4.2 mi away
Magampura Eco Village Resort
Magampura Eco Village Resort
#9 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kithala Resort
Kithala Resort
#4 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Chandrika
Hotel Chandrika
#5 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.6 mi away
Serene Park
Serene Park
#11 of 70 in Tissamaharama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Neem Villas
Hotel Neem Villas
#7 of 67 in Tissamaharama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Wind Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Wind Hotel

Property: Lake Wind Hotel
Address: 27 Court Road | Punchi Akurugoda, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Tissamaharama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Wind Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Lake Wind Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing