We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personalised service, excellent curries”
Review of Serene Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Serene Park
Ranked #11 of 76 Tissamaharama B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northumberland, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Personalised service, excellent curries”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The service provided is outstanding. Jagath and his staff are courteous and friendly without being intrusive. Their aim is to make your stay in the area as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Nothing is too much trouble for them. They speak good English.

The accommodation is very good quality and of a high standard and well maintained. The air conditioned rooms are very spacious, the beds very comfortable and everywhere spotlessly clean.

The food? The Sri Lankan curries are second to none! Don't eat anywhere else! The grounds are beautifully maintained and much of the produce is used for the meals - fruit direct from the trees, vegetables straight from the garden, rice from Jagath's paddy fields (which abound in bird life). We don't eat meat so had many different vegetable curries. Delicious!

Tissawewa is just opposite the hotel providing lovely views, especially at sunset time. The local people selling wares and along the road (which can be busy at times) and fisherman on the lake all add local colour. A 10 minute walk away you come to a huge colony of fruit bats.

Yala is about 30 minutes drive away so if you are going on a dawn safari a good packed breakfast is provided if you want.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucie-Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    70
    12
    1
    5
See reviews for
47
111
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This is a lovely place in a lovely location right on the lake and a short walk into town. We had dinner here and it was really excellent. There s a lovely relaxing atmosphere about this place. the owner is very friendly and helpful. he is doing further construction at the time when we were staying there, so potential to be excellent when completed.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Thetravelbunny26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Serene Park is on Tissa Lake road and yes the lake is opposite the hotel gate. It is in the middle of a plantation and has a lovely atmosphere. We arrived here late at night to catch the early morning safari on the next day. There are just a few rooms on the ground floor and the floor above is under construction. This did not disturb our stay at all. The rooms that are ready are well kept, neat & tidy, well furnished and had all basic amenities. Being in the middle of the paddy field one can expect the odd bug in the bathroom, but then if you are in Tissa you are here for a wild life safari anyway. So enjoy. :)
The food served was quite good and the owner took care of our dinner orders late at night and even prepared a breakfast package for us for the 5 am safari. After coming back from the safari we were again served with hot breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FJBanduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Serene Park is well situated over the road from Tissa Lake surrounded by paddy fields. We were warmly welcomed by Jagath who did all he could to make sure we enjoyed our stay. Only the ground floor is completed so far and work was going on above but this didn't spoil our stay at all and the rooms have been completed to a very high standard, especially the bathrooms. The open area where you can relax and take meals is cooled by breezes from across the fields and both the dinner and breakfast were delicious. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjc47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful rooms, good size and very nicely decorated and furnished. A very high standard of bathroom(Wet room) relaxed open area outside to sit and take meals. Reliable wifi. Super breakfast and a lovely meal in the evening. Surrounded by paddy fields and opposite the lake.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Baxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

After a surreal bus journey from Arugam Bay during which the bus conductor contacted Jagath (the owner of Serene Park) and arranged for a tuk tuk to pick us up at a random bus stop we arrived to be greeted with fresh king coconuts. Jagath spent some time with us speaking about our trip so far and Sri Lanka in general and he seemed genuinely interested in our experiences. We arrived believing that Yala National Park was completely closed, however Jagath informed us that Block 2 was open. Jagath was very honest and told us that there was only a small chance of seeing leopards in the wild there, and upon deciding that we wouldn't see them in our hotel room we asked Jagath to book the safari for us. The driver (Saman) that Jagath arranged for us was excellent and we were both in awe at how he managed to spot all the wildlife and drive the jeep at the same time. We were very lucky to see wild boar, spotted deer, crocodiles, birds of prey, exotic birds, jackals, buffalo and elephants all within a short space of time. The highlight of the trip (for us and our guides) was seeing a leopard hunt wild boar. Once we had calmed down from this excitement we retraced our route through the park where another leopard appeared on the track in front of us. On returning to the Serene Park Jagath was very happy that we had seen two leopards.

The room at the Serene Park was lovely, modern, clean and spacious with air conditioning and a fan. The wet room was finished to a very high standard with hot water shower and my wife was delighted at how nice the towels smelled! The personal touch was further evident by the superb home cooking we ate here. Jagath and his wife went to the effort of asking us how spicy we would like our food and each dish we were served was exceptional. The breakfasts were also fantastic, comprising the freshest, tastiest fruit either of us have ever tasted (we witnessed Jagath picking fruit off the trees in the garden and minutes later presenting it to us).

We really cannot speak highly enough of the Serene Park and Jagath in particular. This is a tremendous guest house and we will definitely stay again when we return to Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CB7982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
124 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The owner is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is near the lake and surrounded by rice fields. Their chicken curry dinner was very nice. The rooms were large with high ceilings. Aircon was good and quiet. They have a computer which guests can use for free. The owner also organised the Yala safari at the right price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MozzaAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tissamaharama hotels
1.0 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
2.5 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kithala Resort
Kithala Resort
#5 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tamarind Tree
Hotel Tamarind Tree
#8 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lake View Cottage
Lake View Cottage
#3 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
4.1 mi away
Saraii Village
Saraii Village
#7 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serene Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serene Park

Property: Serene Park
Address: 3 1 / 2, Lake Road, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Tissamaharama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Serene Park 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Serene Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing