We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene setting and an excellent host”
Review of Serene Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Serene Park
Ranked #12 of 77 Tissamaharama B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
1 review
“Serene setting and an excellent host”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The place is beautiful - right on the main road and yet hidden away in the fields. The host was very gracious. Rooms were reasonably well furnished. Food was excellent and very very reasonable. The host also helped organize the Yala safari with a very good driver, who refused to give up until we spotted a leopard (which apparently is the highlight of these forests). We stayed here with our 8 year old and he loved the serenity of the place as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    71
    13
    2
    5
See reviews for
49
111
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed in this beautiful guest house over Christmas and enjoyed every minute. It is set almost like an island in the middle of paddy fields, on the edge of Tissa Wewa lake with views of the local Dagoba. We loved sitting out on the terrace watching the local wildlife.

The rooms of are an exceedingly high quality - much higher than most guest houses in Sri Lanka. We particularly appreciated the properly sealed and/or netted windows meaning that we spent a rare night without needing a mosquito net over the bed. We also loved the strong, hot-water showers. The rooms are newly built, very clean and have lovely high ceilings meaning they stay nice and cool, although they also have a/c if needed.

The food was also of excellent quality - particularly the breakfasts (all the regular stuff plus hoppers and AMAZING coconut, sugar pancakes - delicious!).

This was one of our favourite places during our whole trip to Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful small hotel in a middle of a rice filed.
All new. Very clean, specious room nice bathroom.
Stayed for 1 night before going to Yala safari. The wonderful owner woke up at 4:30 am and cooked us take away brakefast so we can be in the safari at 5 am.
Would defenitly come back.
the nice owner even invited us to coffe and fruits after the safari- after we checked out.
You won't regret going there. Love it 100%.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maaianr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, Limburg, Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This little cosy hotel is surrounded by ricefields .It's a lovely small hotel where we felt at home immediately when we arrived. The manager and his family do you make feel good and have a great hospitality.
Everyone who do not like big hotels will feel himself as at home.
The rooms are basic , clean with comfortable beds and have AC.
Also the food they offer is high quality.
A very good situated hotel either.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miranda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My fiance and i stayed here for one night. The rooms are HUGE and of a very very high standard. Beautifully spacious with a lovely bathroom. What makes this place even better is the food, al of which is grown and cooked on site, Jaga is very proud of this and so he should be, a lovely man who is happy to help and chat..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for one night. The hotel was spotlessly clean, the room was large and modern, the food was good and breakfast the next morning included fruit from the trees surrounding us. Lovely location, quiet and comfortable.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms so any allocation seems good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BronaghMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We loved the place in the middle of the paddyfields. Jagath tries hard to make your stay as pleasant and enjoyable as possible. He provides fruits and vegetables from his land. The Eastern curries are really tasty and well prepared. Every night different dishes. Jagath has arranged our safari in Yala National Park. The rooms are clean and spacious. The surrounding paddyfields gives your stay a special atmosphere. The Sri Lankan breakfast was the best we have had in Sri Lanka. We really could recommand this place! Also the children loved it very much!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanette C V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tissamaharama hotels
2.5 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
309 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
291 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kithala Resort
Kithala Resort
#4 of 14 in Tissamaharama
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tamarind Tree
Hotel Tamarind Tree
#8 of 14 in Tissamaharama
103 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ekho Safari Hotel
Ekho Safari Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tissamaharama
561 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Coconut Gardens Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serene Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serene Park

Property: Serene Park
Address: 3 1 / 2, Lake Road, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Tissamaharama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Serene Park 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Serene Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing