We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful magical place”
Review of Serene Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Serene Park
Ranked #13 of 83 Tissamaharama B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful small hotel in a middle of a rice filed.
All new. Very clean, specious room nice bathroom.
Stayed for 1 night before going to Yala safari. The wonderful owner woke up at 4:30 am and cooked us take away brakefast so we can be in the safari at 5 am.
Would defenitly come back.
the nice owner even invited us to coffe and fruits after the safari- after we checked out.
You won't regret going there. Love it 100%.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maaianr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Serene Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 224 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

This little cosy hotel is surrounded by ricefields .It's a lovely small hotel where we felt at home immediately when we arrived. The manager and his family do you make feel good and have a great hospitality.
Everyone who do not like big hotels will feel himself as at home.
The rooms are basic , clean with comfortable beds and have AC.
Also the food they offer is high quality.
A very good situated hotel either.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miranda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My fiance and i stayed here for one night. The rooms are HUGE and of a very very high standard. Beautifully spacious with a lovely bathroom. What makes this place even better is the food, al of which is grown and cooked on site, Jaga is very proud of this and so he should be, a lovely man who is happy to help and chat..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for one night. The hotel was spotlessly clean, the room was large and modern, the food was good and breakfast the next morning included fruit from the trees surrounding us. Lovely location, quiet and comfortable.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms so any allocation seems good.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BronaghMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We loved the place in the middle of the paddyfields. Jagath tries hard to make your stay as pleasant and enjoyable as possible. He provides fruits and vegetables from his land. The Eastern curries are really tasty and well prepared. Every night different dishes. Jagath has arranged our safari in Yala National Park. The rooms are clean and spacious. The surrounding paddyfields gives your stay a special atmosphere. The Sri Lankan breakfast was the best we have had in Sri Lanka. We really could recommand this place! Also the children loved it very much!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Jeanette C V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and had an enjoyable stay. The property feels a little unfinished (2nd floor not yet built, rooms lacking finished wiring) but the room was spacious and comfortable and suited our purposes completely. The bathroom was also nicely kitted out. The location as others have noted was lovely, set amongst paddy fields that were being harvested when we were there. It's also set off from the large tank (lake) which makes for great views and was really vibrant with local tourists who stopped there on their travels. Jagath the owner was lovely and accommodating, preparing very early breakfasts before we went out on safaris. He also does dinner and more comfortably timed breakfasts, though we didn't initially realise this as it wasn't mentioned. Breakfast on our last day was great so definitely take him up on the food as the offerings in the town aren't so great. Since we left, he's also been incredibly helpful in helping us track down ceramics and so we're really grateful.

Room Tip: Any of the airconditioned rooms are fine and we didn't hear the other guests off to early mornin...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rrrrrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

A really great room, very new, comfortable beds and a European standard bathroom - complete with hot water!!
We really enjoyed our two nights here just beside the lake and set in a beautiful paddy field. The owner is obviously working really hard to build his new business and I hope he succeeds. He was anxious to please and provided us with an excellent meal after a long day in Yala. The room was as good as any we've stayed in in SL and better than most. He also arranged an onward taxi for us at a very competitive rate. Good luck with your new business - it was a lovely place to stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankie4pawedmutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tissamaharama hotels
0.9 mi away
Kithala Resort
Kithala Resort
#4 of 14 in Tissamaharama
599 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
308 reviews
2.5 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ekho Safari Hotel
Ekho Safari Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tissamaharama
572 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lake View Cottage
Lake View Cottage
#3 of 14 in Tissamaharama
374 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tamarind Tree
Hotel Tamarind Tree
#6 of 14 in Tissamaharama
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serene Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serene Park

Address: 3 1 / 2, Lake Road, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Tissamaharama
Price Range: $39 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Serene Park 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Serene Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing