We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place is amazing, with food to match!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Serene Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Serene Park
Ranked #11 of 70 Tissamaharama B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This place is amazing, with food to match!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

My fiance and i stayed here for one night. The rooms are HUGE and of a very very high standard. Beautifully spacious with a lovely bathroom. What makes this place even better is the food, al of which is grown and cooked on site, Jaga is very proud of this and so he should be, a lovely man who is happy to help and chat..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    69
    11
    1
    5
See reviews for
47
111
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for one night. The hotel was spotlessly clean, the room was large and modern, the food was good and breakfast the next morning included fruit from the trees surrounding us. Lovely location, quiet and comfortable.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms so any allocation seems good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BronaghMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We loved the place in the middle of the paddyfields. Jagath tries hard to make your stay as pleasant and enjoyable as possible. He provides fruits and vegetables from his land. The Eastern curries are really tasty and well prepared. Every night different dishes. Jagath has arranged our safari in Yala National Park. The rooms are clean and spacious. The surrounding paddyfields gives your stay a special atmosphere. The Sri Lankan breakfast was the best we have had in Sri Lanka. We really could recommand this place! Also the children loved it very much!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanette C V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and had an enjoyable stay. The property feels a little unfinished (2nd floor not yet built, rooms lacking finished wiring) but the room was spacious and comfortable and suited our purposes completely. The bathroom was also nicely kitted out. The location as others have noted was lovely, set amongst paddy fields that were being harvested when we were there. It's also set off from the large tank (lake) which makes for great views and was really vibrant with local tourists who stopped there on their travels. Jagath the owner was lovely and accommodating, preparing very early breakfasts before we went out on safaris. He also does dinner and more comfortably timed breakfasts, though we didn't initially realise this as it wasn't mentioned. Breakfast on our last day was great so definitely take him up on the food as the offerings in the town aren't so great. Since we left, he's also been incredibly helpful in helping us track down ceramics and so we're really grateful.

Room Tip: Any of the airconditioned rooms are fine and we didn't hear the other guests off to early mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rrrrrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

A really great room, very new, comfortable beds and a European standard bathroom - complete with hot water!!
We really enjoyed our two nights here just beside the lake and set in a beautiful paddy field. The owner is obviously working really hard to build his new business and I hope he succeeds. He was anxious to please and provided us with an excellent meal after a long day in Yala. The room was as good as any we've stayed in in SL and better than most. He also arranged an onward taxi for us at a very competitive rate. Good luck with your new business - it was a lovely place to stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankie4pawedmutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gryon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

A fabulous place to stay. We had a lovely family room with new furniture, comfy beds and the cleanest bathroom we have come across in our 3 week stay in Sri Lanka. There is an open area where guests can relax and the owner, Jagath, is particularly friendly and attentive – we felt like royalty during our 2 day stay there. Both evenings we sampled great home cooking (delicious curries) with vegetables from Jagath’s garden. He also helped us to organise a couple of trips, making sure we were not overcharged. It was so peaceful there, surrounded by rice fields, and just 50 metres back from the lake.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hpminton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

The man who owns the hotel he always disturbing to us put reviews on TA about his services. This hotel,food is very basic and owner is very greedy for money. The exchange rates are not reasonable. Horrible.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliver78H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tissamaharama hotels
1.0 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
2.5 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kithala Resort
Kithala Resort
#5 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Saraii Village
Saraii Village
#8 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lake View Cottage
Lake View Cottage
#3 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Chandrika
Hotel Chandrika
#4 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serene Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serene Park

Property: Serene Park
Address: 3 1 / 2, Lake Road, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Tissamaharama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Serene Park 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Serene Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing