We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful”
Review of River Face Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
River Face Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Superlatives are at its place to describe this wonderfull homestay.
Big clean rooms with bathroom, nice common places.
The welcome is superb, the food excellent. Nothing is too much for the ever smiling owner.
No big amenities as in an anonymous hotel, but with a warm and outstanding 5 star service!

Thank you very much to the whole family for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 258 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here for one night for the Yala safari. We were delighted with the small but clean room and huge and once again spotless bathroom. The wifi was also good and the owner Thilina was very friendly and helpful. The room lacks a TV but other than that there were absolutely no issues. The bathroom did not have hot water, but they brought us a lot of it when we asked. The food is good but slightly overpriced for the ambiance of the restaurant. This hotel is perfect for the budget traveler and I would surely recommend this place to others. I hope Thilina's plan for expansion comes through soon, after which this would be a nearly perfect place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel_z0mbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

A really lovely little guesthouse, where one feels immediately home: home cooked fantastic food, cozy hammock places to rest, a village tour by the owner and nice wake up with tea & coffee early morning at 4:30 am before the safari.
Only cold shower, but despite its simplicity, it deserves 5 stars*****.
We can recommend the safari organised by the guesthouse because the jeep is most luxurious and the driver is really good. Would always go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We only stayed for one night as the only reason for us to come to Tissa was a safari in Yala National Park.
The owner gave us a very warm welcome and offered us a well-priced morning safari. He even showed us the jeep beforehand.
The rooms are basic and only offer cold water but it is the perfect spot for one or two nights.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKTraveling_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed here with a friend in March 2012 as a base to head to Yala national park. On arrival we were greeted with a lovely fresh juice and a local tour of the area, sampling some Sri Lankan herbs along the way. Hospitality at this guesthouse is great and the dinner we got that night was lovely. The trip to Yala was arranged through the guesthouse and we opted for a full day safari (we were lucky to see a leopard sleeping in the tree on our trip) and this was good although personally we felt it may have been a little too long for us but it did mean we got to see numerous elephants including lots of babies. Yala was a beautiful park and driving in at sunrise was wonderful. We only stayed one night due to time constraints on our travels but I would definitely recommend this as a base to go to Yala. Thilina then drove us to Ella, our next destination which was incredibly helpful as it was late and a long drive after our day at Yala.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
Thank KatF83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My wife & I found Thilina to be one of the most gracious and helpful hosts ANYWHERE. Thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay, rooms/food and arrangements were great. Contrary to the negative reviews, the safari that was organised for us was brilliant, had a very knowledgeable guide and scored by seeing just about all that is possible in Yala including a beautiful leopard on the prowl at dusk for about 20 mins.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigelW55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thilina s, Owner at River Face Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you very much for the excellent review and interest about River Face Inn
come again
I will try to give my best service and make them happy ....................but who write the bad reviews they try to complain always because they don't want to pay even they told me " we will write terrible review about you trip adviser" and they try to blackmail me. i did not accept what they need that's why they write bad review anywhere Thank you very much again............

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

stayed in this nice family run gueshouse for 5 nights it has very new the rooms,which are very big you don,t need airconditioned room. the food was great especially the devilled chicken,their place to relax by the river, in tissa it self their is 2 lake which are full of birdlife during the day , at sunset it the best time to go with bird coming to back, and thousands of bats flying out after sunset l enjoyed the staying at the river face inn and around the lake.
dave R

Room Tip: down stair room might be cooler to stay in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thilina s, Owner at River Face Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you very much for your excellent review . we are really happy you enjoy at RIVER FACE INN
hope to see you soon in the future .Thank you very much for your interest about RIVER FACE INN
Thilina...............................

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tissamaharama hotels
2 mi away
Lake View Cottage
Lake View Cottage
#3 of 14 in Tissamaharama
395 reviews
2.5 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
325 reviews
2.5 mi away
Saraii Village
Saraii Village
#8 of 14 in Tissamaharama
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Safari Inn
La Safari Inn
#1 of 87 in Tissamaharama
341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel River Front
Hotel River Front
#14 of 89 in Tissamaharama
155 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Yala Adventure
The Yala Adventure
#2 of 87 in Tissamaharama
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Face Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Face Inn

Address: 5 Gangasiribura, Tissamaharama Rd. | Debarawewa, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 87 Specialty Lodging in Tissamaharama
Price Range: $15 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — River Face Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by river but close enough to walk to the village. Situated in beautiful region with stunning views of the Kirindi Oya river, perfect for walkers and nature lovers. We offers a high standard of service and amenities to suit the individual needs of all travelers. Bedrooms are big enough for boisterous families, with attractive solid wood furniture. Four large double bedrooms with smart and clean home stay with lovely garden with river view, balconies and roof. We provide breakfast and meals on request, hot shower, laundry service, fast internet access and we are 2km from central Thissa city. Facilities like airport transfer, tours, car park, room service, 24hr room service are readily available for you to enjoy. The well-appointed guestrooms feature balcony/terrace, shower, desk, air conditioning, non smoking rooms. Recuperate from a full day of sightseeing in the comfort of your room or take advantage of the hotel's recreational facilities, including water sports, garden. River Face Inn combines warm hospitality with a lovely ambiance to make your stay in Yala unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your River Face Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing