We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lake view and walking distance to the most beautiful main road by the lake” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taprospa Tissa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tissamaharama
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Taprospa Tissa
Ranked #46 of 70 Tissamaharama B&B and Inns
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great lake view and walking distance to the most beautiful main road by the lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Our room with lake view is quiet large. The bathroom is clean and we had a very good shower.
I wish I stayed in the room and enjoyed the lake view instead of going to the worst safari in my life time. Tissa is not as famous as Yala, but Tissa is a great place for relax and doing nothing and enjoy the quiet lake. I like Tissa more than Yala, and the hotel provided us a great place for relax. I would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    24
    14
    11
    10
See reviews for
25
28
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Earlier this year I stayed in Taprospa Palm Leaves in Jaffna, and I enjoyed my stay there very much. So when looking for a place to stay in Tissa- I trusted the Taprospa brand. This is what we found: an average hotel beside an above-average lake with below average food. The hotel is compact and feels intimate, the small pool looks over Tissa Wewa and the rooms are simple but clean. The newly updated bathrooms are wonderful (giant rainsoaker shower heads and endless wonderfully hot water.) The meals, however, were really not very good. The meals were heavy on rice, bread noodles and light on flavor. The dinner buffet was a mishmash of odd things, and, surprisingly, the only meat on the buffet was pork. If the meals had just been a little more thoughtful, this hotel would be a gem of a place. The staff was lovely, and the Safari the manager helped us arrange was well worth the money. Our advice: take B&B, not halfboard, and find your dinner elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for the superior doubles overlooking the pool and lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaLenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

This place is ideal for one night. If you are looking at going to the yala national park. The resort is facing the lake. We got a spacious room overlooking the lake. The room was clean. Service is also good, friendly staff. They provide packed breakfast which was very handy for the long early morning safari.
They also arrange jeeps for the park. The swimming pool overlooks the lake as well.
The area for drivers however was not clean and our driver was not happy with the driver room facilities there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deeptisarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

We stay there for 1 night in March 2014. We got a nice and spacious room with own porch and lakeview. The room was very clean as well and the staff very friendly. We did not eat there except for breakfast which was good. We can recommend this hotel if staying in the Yala Nationalpark area.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank prapbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Taprospa Tissa made a perfect overnight stop between Uda Walawe and Yala national parks and, for £30 a night for a double room with breakfast, was excellent value for money.
The 70s-style modernist hotel is on the shore of the Tissa Wewa lake and has its rooms clustered around a peaceful garden and pool with views across the lake towards the 2,000-year-old temple poking up through the treetops in the distance.
Our poolside ground-floor room was tasteful, modern and spotless, with flat-screen TV, a comfy bed, a nice bathroom with good water pressure, and a kettle for tea-making (apparently the hotel has been taken over and is slowly being modernised by one of the bosses of the Mackwoods tea empire).
There were only a few other guests when we stayed, so the overabundance of friendly, attentive staff made for a very pleasant stay.
We arrived hot and dusty from our Uda Walawe safari, so it was nice to chill out around the pool with a cool drink. In the evening, the pool attendant took us on a wonderfully relaxing hour-long canoe trip (paddled by two of his friends) around the shores of the lake, pointing out all the wildlife along the way. We saw fish eagles, ibis, cormorants, kingfishers and crocodiles, to name but a few. It was heavenly, and also cost only 2000 rupees for two. If you stay here, it's a must.
In fact, we probably saw more bird species during this romantic sunset trip than we did during two and a half hours slogging round the tourist-packed Yala national park the next morning!
After setting off at 5.30am the next day for our Yala trip, we returned at about 11am and were kindly offered a late western breakfast after the hotel had stopped serving, which was a nice touch.
All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay and would definitely return if in the area.
The only minor criticism was that the pool, while perfectly located, was a bit grubby and the tiles needed a good scrub to remove the "tide mark" around the rim.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank vinylrichie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Great find, the pool overlooking the lake had an amazing view however it did need a clean. Our room was on the ground floor and you needed to pass these bushes therefore I feel that the greenery around our room needed a trim as it they were clearly overgrowing into the pathway into our room. Bathroom had a slight odour but was wonderful with big mirror and shower had good pressure. I had room 3 which is on the terrace which seemed like the newer rooms and the room was amazing, spacious and comfy beds however we couldn't work the TV, and had tea and a working kettle. Staff was attentive and breakfast was decent however I felt like they had way to many staff on breakfast duty as many seem just standing around during breakfast time. Would stay here again!

Room Tip: Choose room 1-3 which are on the terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineLYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, incredibble lake view! The pool is small but you can sweam towards the sunset on the lake and watch the birds as you do... The room was big, clean, well decorated with good new shower. The staff was great and we were treated like royalty. The food was also very good. And again- the view! We had a great time.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inbalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tissamaharama hotels
0.5 mi away
Kithala Resort
Kithala Resort
#4 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ajith Safari Lodge
Ajith Safari Lodge
#30 of 67 in Tissamaharama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
J Line Hotel
J Line Hotel
#30 of 70 in Tissamaharama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#45 of 70 in Tissamaharama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Vikum Lodge and Restaurant
#31 of 67 in Tissamaharama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taprospa Tissa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taprospa Tissa

Property: Taprospa Tissa
Address: 15 Tissawewa Road, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka (Formerly Water Front Hotel)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Tissamaharama
Hotel Class:3 star — Taprospa Tissa 3*
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing