We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Safari The Grate”
Review of Ekho Safari Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ekho Safari Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Tissamaharama
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed in this beautiful Hotel April 2014 and the Management is doing a great job of maintaining the property the rooms are well design and very comfortable.
Food was Excellent and unlimited choices and good combination with a good tast.
staff and the managers are very attentive.
the only problem is the bathroom mirror and magnifying mirror location ?
I will recommend this Hotel to any one who travel to Thissamaharama and for safari.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John292014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepal a, General Manager at Ekho Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Thank you very much for your very encouraging comments and also for recommending us to your friends. Please be assured that we will provide the same service to all our guests.

In respect to the bathroom shaving mirror location, it has been already changed to the correct location.

We sincerely hope that you will be our guest once again in the near future.

With warm regards,

Deepal amarasinghe.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (589)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

261 - 267 of 589 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel with well appointed rooms and good service to with it. The food was very nice. Price was slightly on the high side for 3-4 star. Service was excellent. The views of the lake by the poolside were fantastic. Stayed for two nights.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Jehan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepal a, General Manager at Ekho Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thank you very much for the nice comments.

With warm regards,

Deepal amarasinghe.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Although there are 4star hotels in Yala National Park this hotel has a lovely setting on the Lake and at a good price. Very clean with a lovely pool, good size rooms which take British plugs as well as European plugs, the staff are very friendly and the food this good. Yala park is around 40mins away.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillips52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepal a, General Manager at Ekho Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thank you very much for your valuable time in writing these encouraging commnts.

With warm regards,

Deepal Amarasinghe.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

You will ikely have to spend a night in the town of Tissa if you want to see Yala National Park. This seems to be one of the best hotels in town. Its located on the lake, is clean and comfortable. They can also help arrange for you to go on the safari, if you havent already made plans. Friendly staff. They also have a pool, if you are so inclined. A cold beer on the patio after an evening safari can be quite nice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KANewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepal a, General Manager at Ekho Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

My team joins me in thanking you for your nice comments and happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thanking you,

With warm regards,

Deepal Amarasinghe.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We have stayed in this Hotel a couple of times when it was known as the Tissamaharama Rest House and later Tissamaharama Resort. Some years ago this hotel was in an awful state, though it had (still it has) the best scenic view of the Tissa Lake. However, at present the CHC Group has tastefully refurbished the entire hotel (after taking all the CHC outlets, which are now totally owned and managed by the CHC group). The place is very clean, beautiful and the staff is courteous too. The rooms are elegant too (although our room 105 did not have a verandah or a sit out) and the pool has a breathtaking view of the lake. We were there during the Sinhala-Tamil New Year and enjoyed their traditional games. The meals are reasonably good, though not very close to other 4 star resorts (especially the starters). Anyway, we could recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RanilMountLavinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepal a, General Manager at Ekho Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thank you very much for your very encouraging comments. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.Is with great pleasure we note that every time you come to this area you stay in our hotel and please let us know in advance when you decide to stay at our hotel the next time.

With all best wishes,

Deepal Amarasinghe.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed as a family of four for one night. The hotel has a nice outdoor area and the pool was great. The views of the lake were very nice. Unfortunately we did not have interconnecting rooms and our rooms were three rooms apart. This did not really matter as we were only there for one night and we just slept with one child each the beds were fine and the rooms themselves were of a good quality.
The buffet evening meal was a little limited and more choice of western food would have been good, especially as my daughter is a bit fussy.
The hotel is a bit further away from the park than I thought but it all worked out fine for two very good safaris.
Overall a good quality standard hotel and would,suit most people.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpm350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepal a, General Manager at Ekho Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

We are really pleased to know that you and your family were comfortable with us though it was for a short period.

We take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable time for sending this comment which will help all our future guests.

With warm regards,

Deepal Amarasinghe.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

it's quite a modern hotel with comfortable rooms,beautiful views over the lake.The breakfast was just ok,nothing special .There're broken tiles in the pool though and the decking around is a hazard to kids running around.Nice restaurants around,one just across the road and close to Yalla Park.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickittai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepal a, General Manager at Ekho Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you very much for your valuable observations. The pool maintenance has been given top priority and work is due to commence very soon.

With warm regards,

Deepal amarasinghe.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tissamaharama
2.4 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
344 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
315 reviews
4.5 mi away
Saraii Village
Saraii Village
#8 of 14 in Tissamaharama
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kithala Resort
Kithala Resort
#4 of 14 in Tissamaharama
624 reviews
7.7 mi away
Jetwing Yala
Jetwing Yala
#1 of 2 in Yala National Park
1,611 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tamarind Tree
Hotel Tamarind Tree
#6 of 14 in Tissamaharama
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ekho Safari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ekho Safari Hotel

Address: Kataragama Road, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Tissamaharama
Price Range: $72 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ekho Safari Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located over looking the ancient "Tissa Wawa" (Lake) which gives a splendid view from your room.Situated in very close proximity to Yala National Park and Bundala National Park.Air conditioned restaurant which serves both set menus and a la carte and are very reasonably priced. A well stocked bar is available to quench your thirst after the safari.All rooms are air conditioned and with attached bath with hot and cold water,mini bar, individual safety lockers,free tea/coffee making facilities, WiFi and satelite TV.Ample safe parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ekho Safari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Safari - Tissa Hotel Tissamaharama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing