We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room & view, poor staff & food!”
Review of Ekho Safari Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ekho Safari Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Tissamaharama
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We arrived late in Tissa and managed to find a room available at The Safari. The room was good and clean, with a great view of the lake. The biggest let down for the hotel is the staff, they were unfriendly and everything seemed like an effort for them. The food was not great either and more annoyingly at the breakfast and dinner buffets you were having to compete with the staff for the food who help themselves at the same time as the guests! This is something I have never experienced before. If you do stay here, try the restaurant over the road - Taprobana, one of the best curries in Sri Lanka so far and the owner is great too.
One exception to the staff was the pool guy, who was really friendly and helped with croc spotting in the lake!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Lamham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepal a, General Manager at Ekho Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you very much for bringing to our notice your observations and we have taken note of same. I have already spoken to our Chef and the Food and Beverage Manager regarding your comments and action taken to rectify them.

Sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

With warm regards,

Deepal Amarasinghe.
General Manager
The Safari Hotel
Tissamaharama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (589)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

294 - 300 of 589 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

Had 3 nights here over new year.

The hotel is nice - great rooms and lovely location overlooking the lake. The swimming pool is a bit dirty though. It can also be a bit difficult getting someone's attention to get drinks whilst by the pool too.

The main disappointment with this hotel is the food. They serve buffet and a la carte for all meals. The breakfast buffet had poor selection and some of the food was cold. For lunch one day I had a chicken sandwich which was a joke - the chicken appeared to have been grated and there was so little that I thought it was cheese at first until I realised that was the butter I could taste! The new year buffet was the biggest disappointment especially for the inflated price. There is a restaurant across from the hotel which does much better food.

The hotel is in a good location for the safari park though and if sorted out the food and cleaned the pool, it could be very good.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanabe_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepal a, General Manager at Ekho Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you very much for your valuable time to insert your comments here. We have taken note of all your comments and will do the needful to rectify them.

Please accept my sincere apologies for not making your short stay with us more pleasant and enjoyable.

With warm regards,

Deepal Amarasinghe
General Manager
The Safari Hotel
Tissamaharama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Close enough to park and good enough for a stay. Rooms were clean and good, food was ok but only a buffet is really an option for dinner. Lunch menu limited and no curries after 3pm. Staff friendly and attentive. Nothing much in Tissa to do other than the park. Hotel arranged a good safari guide and transport on short notice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepal a, General Manager at Ekho Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Thank you very much for your comments. Well appreciated.

Deepal amarasinghe,
General Mnager,
The Safari
Tissamaharama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, as a base to visit Yala National Park for our honeymoon. Its nice and clean with lovely views over the lake, but is very basic-not really anything to do other than sit around and go in the pool. Coming from a really plush hotel to this was a little bit of a shell shock and we couldn't wait to get back to the other hotel.

Food buffet was nice, but both nights we saw flies sitting on some of the food, which is a little off-putting. The lady who looks like she is in change of the restaurant isn't very friendly, probably the least friendly Sri Lankan we met.

When we arrived we wondered in to Tissa town to stretch our legs. It was a fabulous experience, seeing all the locals, they can't see many tourists in their town as we felt a little like celebs.

Its a good base, but thats about it or this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleMrs-P-P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepal a, General Manager at Ekho Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Thank you very much for you valuable comments which have been noted. We will do our utmost to rectify them.

Depal Amarasinghe,
General Manager,
The Safari,
Tissamaharama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

The hotel has a nice location overlooking a lake. There's a decent pool to swim and relax by with views over the lake.

The room was spacious, well appointed and was good value considering the rate. There was a small infestation of ants so it's worth checking the room before you get too settled.

Food was nothing special but was fine.

A good base for Yala safaris.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejd1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepal a, General Manager at Ekho Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Greatly appreciate your comments which we have taken note of. Please be assured that we shall rectify them.

Thank you and warm regards,

Deepal Amarasinghe,
General Manager,
The Safari,
Tissamaharama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Great Hotel with a nice view on the lake! Around the hotel there are not many things to see, a temple and a village. So plan to stay inside the hotel.
The food and service was excellent! Especially Chatharanga (name of the room attendant) is a great guy, always very friendly - he surprised us twice with swans made of towels!

Improvements can be done at the language. But anyway they are always friendly and try to fulfill your wishes!

It is worth to stay, if you do a Safari at Yala Nationalpark!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepal a, General Manager at Ekho Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

We are pleased to know that you were comfortable during your stay with us and appreciate your comments which are indeed helpful for all of us.

Thank you and warm regards,

Deepal Amarasinghe,
General Manager,
The Safari,
Tissamaharama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at The Safari as it was an ideal location for visiting Yala National Park. The hotel is set alongside the lake which is so beautiful. All rooms are facing the lake. The room we had was spacious and clean and all basic toiletries were provided.
The staff are friendly and helpful. We ate the buffet the 2 nights we were there, and the choices of food were good. We did not have breakfast as the hotel provided a pack up breakfast for us to eat in Yala. I must admit the take away breakfast was a little disappointing, but was better than nothing.
If in the area again we would definitely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarkingBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepal a, General Manager at Ekho Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Its great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have taken serious note of your comment on the Breakfast Pack and please be assured we will rectify same immediately.

Thank you and warm regards,

Deepal Amarasinghe,
General Manager,
The Safari,
Tissamaharama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tissamaharama
2.4 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
344 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
315 reviews
4.5 mi away
Saraii Village
Saraii Village
#8 of 14 in Tissamaharama
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kithala Resort
Kithala Resort
#4 of 14 in Tissamaharama
623 reviews
7.7 mi away
Jetwing Yala
Jetwing Yala
#1 of 2 in Yala National Park
1,610 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tamarind Tree
Hotel Tamarind Tree
#6 of 14 in Tissamaharama
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ekho Safari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ekho Safari Hotel

Address: Kataragama Road, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Tissamaharama
Price Range: $72 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ekho Safari Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located over looking the ancient "Tissa Wawa" (Lake) which gives a splendid view from your room.Situated in very close proximity to Yala National Park and Bundala National Park.Air conditioned restaurant which serves both set menus and a la carte and are very reasonably priced. A well stocked bar is available to quench your thirst after the safari.All rooms are air conditioned and with attached bath with hot and cold water,mini bar, individual safety lockers,free tea/coffee making facilities, WiFi and satelite TV.Ample safe parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ekho Safari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Safari - Tissa Hotel Tissamaharama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing