We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ekho Safari Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Chandrika(Tissamaharama)
$76
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Saraii Village(Tissamaharama)
$106
$88
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kithala Resort(Tissamaharama)
$91
$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thaulle Resort(Tissamaharama)
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Turtle Hotel(Tissamaharama)
$72
$64
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tamarind Tree(Tissamaharama)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake View Cottage(Tissamaharama)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oak Ray Lake Resort(Tissamaharama)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tissa(Tissamaharama)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (639)
Filter reviews
639 results
Traveler rating
158
270
129
48
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
270
129
48
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyala national parksri lankaoverlooking the laketissa lakeswimming poolnice hotelbuffet stylelovely settinga la carte menureception areapacked breakfastwelcome drinkminute drivemini bardinner buffetnice poolhotel is situated
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
339 - 344 of 639 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at The Safari as it was an ideal location for visiting Yala National Park. The hotel is set alongside the lake which is so beautiful. All rooms are facing the lake. The room we had was spacious and clean and all basic toiletries were provided.
The staff are friendly and helpful. We ate the buffet the 2 nights we were there, and the choices of food were good. We did not have breakfast as the hotel provided a pack up breakfast for us to eat in Yala. I must admit the take away breakfast was a little disappointing, but was better than nothing.
If in the area again we would definitely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarkingBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepal a, General Manager at Ekho Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Its great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have taken serious note of your comment on the Breakfast Pack and please be assured we will rectify same immediately.

Thank you and warm regards,

Deepal Amarasinghe,
General Manager,
The Safari,
Tissamaharama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel only for one night, but it was very pleasant. Nice surroundings, nice pool and lake view, reasonable price. Good and attentive service. Room was nice and clean, everything worked well. Highly recommended (only small improvement I would suggest for making tastier take away breakfast, which we picked up at 5 AM for our trip to national parka Yala.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monikey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepal a, General Manager at Ekho Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Its gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and wish to thank you for your valuable time for leaving your comments here.

Me and my team wish you all the very best.

With warm regards.

Deepal Amarasinghe.
General Manager,
"The Safari"
Tissamaharama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We got off to a bad start with this hotel and weren't particularly looking forward to coming here. We had booked our room on their website but had not received a confirmation despite our credit card being charged. When we contacted the hotel, they apparently had no record of our booking but this information suddently materialised when we produced our statement. There was no apology. We had spent 2 weeks in Sri Lanka by this stage, staying at great hotels with great service. We were slightly disappointed with the welcome (or lack thereof) on arrival. After checking in, we were told what room number we were in but no directions/instructions on how to get there. The exterior of the hotel is dated, but the rooms were clean and tidy on first inspection (and they had great wi-fi access). However, I did discover tiny little ants crawling over my pillow as I was drifting off to sleep. I have to say the food was beautiful - mainly Sri Lankan but with a few Western dishes included. Overall, its a good place to be based to explore Yala and Kataragama, and its functional. But I don't think we will be back based on the initial dramas, and the fact that there are other hotels (e.g. Cinnamon Wild) in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveToTravel6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepal a, General Manager at Ekho Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Thank you very much for your valuable time for sending us your comments regarding your stay at our hotel which is very well appreciated. We are extremely sorry regarding the mix up with your reservation on arrival.

We send our warm regards to you.

Thank you

Deepal Amarasinghe,
General Manager,
The Safari,
Tissamaharama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This hotel is clean, modern rooms and where it really excels is its pool overlooking a large tank (lake) the food is reasonably good quality. However, the service is what really lacks. Check in took over 20 minutes and was a complete muck up on their part - no apology provided, we were meant to stay here 2 nights but checked out after 1, also with a 45 minute drive to the park there are other hotels which are better.
The pool attendant was brilliant though and was the most attentive and friendly we met in the whole complex.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahTapley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepal a, General Manager at Ekho Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Thank you very much for your valuable time to send your comments which are well accepted. Please accept my sincere apologies for not been able to provide a service acceptable to you. I have already initiated an inquiry,based on your comments, to what actually transpired and please be assured that it will be rectified immediately.

With warm regards,

Deepal Amarasinghe.
General Manger,
"The Safari"
Tissamaharama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed here as part of the Kuoni tour around Sri Lanka and found it ranked last of 5 hotels by a country mile.

The location and room were pretty good but the actual hotel seemed inordinately poorly managed and the restaurant even more so. Thankfully only stayed here two nights.

The room was of a good quality and had a view of the lake and this provided a good base for us to travel to Yala National Park to view the animals. As with most game drives it involved an early start that preempted breakfast so we had the ubiquitous breakfast pack. I am assuming it was designed to deter you feeding the animals as you wouldn't want to upset them.The food was dry and tasteless and despite talking about allergies and vegetarianism to kitchen still was given allergy food and hotdog.

This could have been avoided by extending breakfast a little at the hotel as game drives returned at around 10 as restaurant closed.

The restaurant buffet was generally fine but the cold cabinets at the buffet seemed designed to centralise the location and trap flies within. The buffet choices were fine but during the times we visited they seem to have decided to have saved the candles designed to warm food holders and so it was cold.

The restaurant was really stuffy as it did not have sufficient aircon to equalise the room and this was made worse by one dripping on the table we were escorted to by our waiter. I understand aircon can condense but you would have been visually impaired not to see the lake on the table when we were sat there.

The final issue here is that despite Sri Lanka having a closed currency the hotel does not seem to wish to part with any. They wouldn't change money or had insufficient in their float to give any out over the two days.

This could be a nice hotel but alas despite being part of a reasonable chain this one just seems badly managed and that is a shame. I would suggest if you have chance to stay here you don't!!

Room Tip: The lake views are good but all rooms have that
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepal a, General Manager at Ekho Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Please accept my sincere apologies for not providing you with a service that you were expecting. Thank you very much for bringing to our notice your observations. I have already taken action to rectify the comments which you have mentioned.

With warm regards,

Deepal Amarasinghe.
General Manager,
"The Safari"
Tissamaharama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews