We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil Lake View Hotel”
Review of Ekho Safari Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ekho Safari Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Tissamaharama
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The Safari hotel is located on the lakefront of Tissamaharama Lake (Tissa Wewa). We visited here after it was branded and refurbished while the pool was still under renovation. A clean and nice hotel providing a tranquil lakefront with a constant and comforting blowing. This could be the ideal location to focus and calibrate your binoculars or play with your zoom lenses, if you are an avid photographer. I enjoyed their Mai Tai cocktail which was made to my satisfaction.

This is a quiet and credible place to stay while in the area. Sleep quality is high whether in the day or night and the bathrooms were good. Staff were very good to us and I hope the management continues to dedicate towards their training and welfare. This hotel infrastructure is complete with a water recycling plant.

Food was good but some dessert items were stale from repeat exposure at breakfast and dinner or vice versa. Frugality is good but I do hope they take care not to compromise quality with it.

The name does connote it is in the midst of safari land but the opposite is true. I do recommend this lovely hotel to stay and operate from, visit the Yala National Park etc. I also would not quiz the staff about safaris or the park itself. They are not geared to help you on this despite The Safari branding. This is best left to your research online.

Parking is ample. There are no options in the neighborhood for meal variety/options and it is advisable to dine in the safety and comfort of this hotel. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vonfidel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepal a, General Manager at Ekho Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

My Barman is delighted to know that you enjoyed the cocktail. Thank you very much for giving your valuable time to do up the review which is most encouraging.

Wish you all the very best.

With warm regards,

Deepal Amarasinghe,
General Manager,
"The Safari"
Tissamaharama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

294 - 300 of 577 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

With a choice of 4 or 5 National parks dotted around, the Safari was an ideal name for this hotel. Our room overlooked the lake which was stunning and as usual, everyone is so keen to help. A fairly basic hotel but then you don't spent too much time in your room to worry about it. No complaints and would reccommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian_storey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepal a, General Manager at Ekho Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

We are encouraged by your valuable comments and thank you for recommending our hotel to future visitors.

With warm regards,

Deepal Amarasinghe,
General Manager,
"The Safari"
Tissamaharama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I pre-paid two nights, but left after one from The Safari Hotel. The hotel is a bit off the beaten path and you are forced to eat/drink onsite. It's very close to the Yala National park and one would assume the staff would be able to provide info on how to get to the park etc. When I arrived the apprentice tried to help me out, but was unable to provide any information about the park. How to get there, how much it costs, time. All I got was blank stares - given it's the only attraction closeby I expected better service. The rooms are nice and clean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marcel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepal a, General Manager at Ekho Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused and wish to thank you for your valuable comments.

With warm regards,

Deepal Amarasinghe,
General Manager,
"The Safari"
Tissamaharama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by The Safari @ yala.. loved the swimming pool and lake view opp. the pool.. the dinner area was well lit yet cozy :) , just wish they had more vegeterian options :-( .. but i am still going ahead and giving dem a 5-star rating just for the view and hospitality and - potato wedges with sour cream... trust me, they hd d best ever sour cream i hv had till now.. loved it :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank priyamurthy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepal a, General Manager at Ekho Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

My Chef was delighted to know that he was able to produce the best sour cream for you.

Thank you very much for giving us a five star rating.

With warm regards,

Deepal Amarasinghe,
general Manager,
"The Safari"
Tissamaharama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We always compare the price we paid with what we get. This hotel was perfect. Nice clean big rooms with silent A/C a nice, bit cold, swimming pool and a good breakfast buffet. There is also nothing wrong with the dinner buffet! It was not the best one we had but it was the surely the second best during our whole tour. Service is also very good.
Mind that Yala NP is closed in september so for us it was impossible to go on safari.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanPaul11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepal a, General Manager at Ekho Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments and our Chef is looking into as ti what went wrong so that he can rectify it at the earliest.

Wish you all the very best.

Deepal Amarasinghe.
General Manager,
"The Safari"
Tissamaharama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at the Safari at the end of a wonderful week's tour and were greeted by most hospitable staff in the gentle manner of the Sri Lankan. We were very tired and the checking in process so quick that we hardly noticed and were able to concentrate of the cool tea we were handed. Compared with other hotels we stayed in The Safari seemed smaller and calmer, more intimate and the lake on its doorstep added to the quality of peace. The whole place was spotless and if I had to drag up any criticism it might be that the food was perhaps not top quality.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 935kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepal a, General Manager at Ekho Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Its heartening to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for your time to insert this review which will be very helpful for us.

Wish you all the best

With warm regards,

Deepal Amarasinghe.
General Manager,
The Safari Hotel,
Tissamaharama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at The Safari for two days on our tour of Sri Lanka. We were welcomed with an iced tea drink and refreshing towels. We actually hadn't booked and had turned up following a recommendation from a friend. The hotel had a room and checking in was actually really quick and efficient. The room was comfortable, clean, tidy and well equipt, we were on the second floor with a nice view of the lake. The breakfast were great and hearty with good choice of western and sri lankan options, service was very good and the staff were extremely attentive. I had my first hopper at this hotel and enjoyed it so much I decided to buy a pan to try and cook them when I got home. A member of staff noticed my interest in the hopper cooking and went to the kitchen to get me the recipe.

We ate lunch in the hotel too and the food was good and not too expensive unlike some other hotels we stayed in.

We had internet access throughout our stay, which was useful as we booked our next hotels whilst staying here. The staff also assisted us with suggestions on places to visit.

We were extremely happy to have stayed at this hotel, and although not quite as luxurious as some we stayed in the warm welcome and professional staff made it special. I would recommend this hotel if you are visiting Tissa.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hatt-away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepal a, General Manager at Ekho Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you very much for the most encouraging comments.

My team joins me in wishing you all the very best and look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

With warm regards,

Deepal Amarasinghe.
General Manager,
The Safari Hotel,
Tissamaharama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tissamaharama
0.6 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
310 reviews
2.4 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
331 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kithala Resort
Kithala Resort
#4 of 14 in Tissamaharama
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Saraii Village
Saraii Village
#8 of 14 in Tissamaharama
280 reviews
7.7 mi away
Jetwing Yala
Jetwing Yala
#1 of 2 in Yala National Park
1,565 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tamarind Tree
Hotel Tamarind Tree
#7 of 14 in Tissamaharama
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ekho Safari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ekho Safari Hotel

Address: Kataragama Road, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Tissamaharama
Price Range: $36 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ekho Safari Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located over looking the ancient "Tissa Wawa" (Lake) which gives a splendid view from your room.Situated in very close proximity to Yala National Park and Bundala National Park.Air conditioned restaurant which serves both set menus and a la carte and are very reasonably priced. A well stocked bar is available to quench your thirst after the safari.All rooms are air conditioned and with attached bath with hot and cold water,mini bar, individual safety lockers,free tea/coffee making facilities, WiFi and satelite TV.Ample safe parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ekho Safari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Safari - Tissa Hotel Tissamaharama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing