We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for us”
Review of Ekho Safari Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ekho Safari Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Tissamaharama
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ideal for us”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We spent 3 nights at the Safari partly to be able to visit Yala National Park and mostly to spend time with a friend who lives close by.
The hotel is nicely situated on the lake. We had a ground floor room with direct access to the grass. It would have benefited from screened doors as there were quite a lot of mosquitos which meant the doors had to be tight shut at dusk. The hotel has been recently renovated with pleasant public areas although these were not protected when there was driving rain.
There is a well sized good swimming pool.
The staff was a mixture of experienced and novice.
Meals were OK, although the buffet for lunch and dinner got boring.
We would certainly recommend it as a good but not deluxe hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HasHout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    240
    108
    39
    23
See reviews for
133
286
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed in September for one night while doing the Yala Safari Park and the bird park. I think it is 3 star, I would not give it any more than that. Nice view on to the lake, verandah 2 chairs.. The pool was adequate. Food in the restaurant good but if you don't like curries then go somewhere else as there was not much variety other than the hot and spicy. Choice of desserts. Choice of starters either soup or salads. Didn't have breakfast as we were doing an early morning safari, but they put us up a packed lunch which was ok but not brilliant. The mini bar and drinks fairly cheap compared to our 5 star hotel where we were based, and the prices showed the government tax and service charge which are usually added on to the end. The room was clean, big comfy bed. Good sized bathroom with nice shower gels shampoos body lotiuons and hair conditioners. good sized tv with English channels. 2 chairs and table for added comfort. Plenty of wardrobe space for short stay, and very cool air-conditioning, (had to turn it off). Pleasant garden and fish pond. Reception efficient. Excellent service in the restaurant. We would probably stay here again as it was very relaxing in a nice setting. The only negative thing was an awful stench coming from the shower drain in the morninh when we left. I think this was outside of the control of the hotel as the room was spotlessly clean, but it was a bit overpowering. Other than that I would highly recommend this hotel for a short break, up to about five nights before you would get sick of the food and the smelly drain,

Room Tip: Top floor room facing the lake. Great views and bring your binoculars to watch the birds in the tree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honesty183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed at this hotel early Sept ,We arrived here after a long hot bumpy drive, and we
were greeted with a very refreshing welcome drink and cold towels.The rooms in this hotel have
recently been refurbished so they were good and clean. We had a room that opened out to
the pool area ,Only problem was we could not open it .They promised to fix it in the morning but
it never happened .After our 2 night stay it still was not fixed. The pool area is little tired and maybe needs a little work as it is not that inviting, but it is ok. Next to the pool is a lagoon with a beautiful outlook , only problem is the stagnent water and plastic bags and rubbish in the water. The hotel overall is quite good and the staff are very friendly but their service is very
ordinary . A simple drink request can be a nightmare, So be very specific, A simple request such as (could we have some cold milk in our room ) after at least half a dozen request never happened. I think the waiter we had at the restaurant was his first time as he kept getting
confused with our order and had a lot of trouble opening our bottles of wine ,to the point
of the manager opening it for us. Overall not a bad place to stay as it is in the middle of nowhere, but the staff needs a lot of training ,and the rubbish needs to be cleaned down by the water.
preat

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raider5859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

I was surprised when we arrived here as I thought it would be a bit too pricey but I felt the price was reasonable as the room was fabulous and the fodd, although a buffet, was actually pretty good. It was good to relax by the pool. Good hotel and quiet location. Comfy beds.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judydidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

stopped here enroute to Galle. We didn't do a safari so spent the aftnoon relaxing by the pool. The buffet was pretty good compared to others in Sri Lanka. The room was clean and comfortable. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boustead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed here to reach: Yala, Bundala and Udawala National Park. All rooms have lake view and are modern and comfortable. There is no Spa or Fitness facility where you can unwind after being rattled through by a Jeep for a day. The pool had slippery and lose tiles when we were there. The restaurant seems to cater more to the tastes of the Asian travellers and if you're not fond of 5 different curries for breakfast, lunch and dinner - no need to compromise on the room as the Refresh hotel and restaurant is near where you can get food not solely based on rice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reisepaepstin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

we stayed here for a night before our safari. Its only 30 mins to Yalla and reception organised our driver to the park gate (2,500 R). Its recently been completely refurbished so the room was lovely with an excellent view of the pool and lake.

The food is a bit average, buffet only. Pool area is nice (if a bit cold!) and there were a couple of power cuts but i think thats quite common for this part of the country.

Easy enough to book your trip safari, there are LOADS of people hanging about outside with Jeeps!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave_fo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tissamaharama
0.6 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
2.4 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kithala Resort
Kithala Resort
#4 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Jetwing Yala
Jetwing Yala
#1 of 2 in Yala National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
4.5 mi away
Saraii Village
Saraii Village
#7 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
8.0 mi away
Cinnamon Wild Yala
Cinnamon Wild Yala
#1 of 2 in Kirinda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ekho Safari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ekho Safari Hotel

Property: Ekho Safari Hotel
Address: Kataragama Road, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Tissamaharama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ekho Safari Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located over looking the ancient "Tissa Wawa" (Lake) which gives a splendid view from your room.Situated in very close proximity to Yala National Park and Bundala National Park.Air conditioned restaurant which serves both set menus and a la carte and are very reasonably priced. A well stocked bar is available to quench your thirst after the safari.All rooms are air conditioned and with attached bath with hot and cold water,mini bar, individual safety lockers,free tea/coffee making facilities, WiFi and satelite TV.Ample safe parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ekho Safari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Safari - Tissa Hotel Tissamaharama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing