We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“be aware of additional costs”
Review of Vikum Lodge

Vikum Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tissamaharama
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vikum Lodge
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“be aware of additional costs”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

we stayed at Vikum Lodge for 2 nights in Feb 13 , the room was very basic with no hot water but it was cheap only 2600 rupiees, this was the price that we were given when we booked it. However when he were given the bill a 10 % charge had been added not only to the cost of the breakfast and dinner at the guesthouse restaurant but also to the cost of the two nigths. We noticed this extra charge after we'd left , we were in a hurry a taxi was waiting for us after waitiing 45 min for the bill

We were also told that to get to Ella by bus was very complicated and we had to take 4 buses when in fact , we were told by other who had been in the Vikum that they only had to take one bus which was just outside the guest house , they lied to us becasue they wanted us to get in a taxi with other people. The taxi was arranged by Vikum Lodge and was paid to them too so they could get percentage.

basically double check the bill, look out for extra charges and if you are planning to go to other places dont take their advice if they offer you a taxi arranged by them...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    10
    18
    23
See reviews for
2
33
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

On our Sri Lanka backpacking trip, we decided to make a stop over at Yala National Park and to stay in Tissa for at least one night. A few French travellers we met in Mirissa highly suggested Vikum Lodge which made it easy to decide for that one.

Positive:
The owner Sarath is one of the most welcoming people I have ever met. Really helpful hints, organized a great Safari for us (2 leopards, elephants,etc.) organized a car for us to Kataragama at a very fair rate and helped us with our bus connection to Adam`s Peak the other day. He even brought us to the bus, took care of our luggage and instructed the bus operater where to drop us off. Our friend was sick, and as he was a pharmacist before he even gave her some medicine (free of charge) and some helpful hints what to do to get rid of her disease.
The location is all right and great value for money in this region of Sri Lanka.
The food at the restaurant was really good but way too much, share one portion - it might be enough! :)
Buses from Kataragama, Mirissa, Tangalle, Kandy and Nuwara Eliya stop 150m away from the Lodge so you do not need to take a Riksha or sth just show the bus operator the address and he will make the bus stop for you!

Negative:
It is not directly located in Tissa (which is not too bad, because there is nothing going on) so if you wanna do sth in the evening you are dependent on taking a Riksha
The rooms are as you would expect them in Sri Lanka - just do not expect European standards!

Overall I would strongly recommend it if you are on a budget trip, searching for a friendly environment to spent the day before and after the safari. The safari was really fairly priced, compared to all the other offers we heard during our few weeks in Sri Lanka. The staff was very helpful and met all our wishes - it was great!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeresagoestoIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I dont think the LP people checked this place for the 2012 edition as it is still very highly recommended in the newest edition. In reality, it was the worst place we stayed in during our whole SE Asia trip. We can easily agree to everything that was said in previous posts, but the main complaint is that the owner sees guests as walking wallets - and tries to rip you off at every occasion. We agreed the price of the room in advance, but we ended up paying for additional taxes, service charges etc, so the final price was much higher than the agreed one (only such case on our whole trip!). A total rip-off and a terrible place to stay in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLObackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tissamaharama hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We booked Vikum Lodge as it was recommended by three separate guide books.

The hotel changed hands two years ago and looks like nothing has been done since. The room did have A/C which was its saving grace, but it was very run down with paint stripping off the walls, dirty curtains and a pretty basic bathroom. The worst bit was the towels which were filthy - grim. A cat had caught a squirrel just as we arrived and this lay dead outside our room for sometime.

We didn't eat here as there did not appear to be any other guests and the state of the rooms did not bode well for the state of the kitchen.

Management seemed disorganised, weak and overwhelmed. Safari touts from the town were at the hotel when we arrived (they beat us there having harassed at the bus stop) and we felt like the manager was almost bullied into using them for safaris (this may have been our imagination...) - we felt quite stranded and isolated.

Was a pretty unpleasant experience, saved only by the excellent Bundala National Park safari!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Was recommended this place in a (nameless) guide book (in fact I think it's recommended in 2 of the most popular ones) and was told by touts in the centre that this place has since changed hands and I shouldn't stay there any more as it is no longer good - probably the one time I should have listened to the touts.

Pretty much as soon as we got there we were touted once again by a lovely guy "Niham" who sadly though sold us a rip-off YALA safari. Ah well...you win some you lose some. The Vikum owner then told us not to give any tip to the safari people and to make sure they had provided us with water and food for the day. Essentially he was being a busy-body presumably as a result of a dispute with the commission he received on this occasion.

Anway we went for the breakfast which consisted of 2 sandwiches with dodgy egg, dodgy cheese with a dodgy mayo - for 400 Rupees pp!!!!!! He gave us a small bottle of water too which we thought was part of the breakfast and he charged us another 200R per bottle!!!

DO NOT GET BREAKFAST.

The sleep quality is Poor (at best) with workmanship going on throughout the night (drilling, sawing, hammering etc).

The internet is turned on for 30 minute periods due to the singiness of the owner as well.

When we left, we were charged for a second breafast even though we told him we didn't want a second breakfast 24 hours earlier!



This owner is after one thing - RUPEES. And he will get them at the cost of your holiday.

WE DO NOT RECOMMEND YOU STAYING HERE WHATSOEVER.
(Please check out my other reviews which as you will see are all rather positive generally speaking)

PS. We accidentally took his key and my gf and I are the kind of people that would endeavour to ensure we returned the key even at a reasonable cost to ourselves. However on this occasion, the key very much remains in our posession which we will of course return if the owner pays the 7700Rupee postage and packaging fee.....

Room Tip: Ask Mr Vikum if he has any rooms at zero cost and stay in it. Otherwise don't stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WillMS777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The room is in a very poor condition and design, it's very stuffy when you stay in a non a/c room. And the owners is very Cheeky, he will try to squezee all your rupees by the safari jeep!! Moreover , the cleaniness here is Terriblely disggusting, the bugs will drop on to your dishes when you re having your meal, and in the room, there are Sveral kinds of bugs waiting for you before you check-in!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alijiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

This was the cheapest room we had during our trip - so it's still ok price/value.
The hotel ist quite old but good situated in a quiet area of the very uggly town Tissa.
The rooms are old and the walls are dirty and the bathroom is run down. The food and restaurant are the best thing - and we ate very good.
If you just stay in Tissa for 1 night (which is absolutely enough - since you get back from the safari at around 12-13:00 and you can travel further the same day)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urshinterwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tissamaharama hotels
1.1 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
291 reviews
2.6 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
309 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tissa
Hotel Tissa
#11 of 14 in Tissamaharama
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Saraii Village
Saraii Village
#7 of 14 in Tissamaharama
276 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Tamarind Tree
Hotel Tamarind Tree
#8 of 14 in Tissamaharama
103 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kithala Resort
Kithala Resort
#4 of 14 in Tissamaharama
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vikum Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vikum Lodge

Property: Vikum Lodge
Address: Kataragama Road, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Tissamaharama
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing