We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonably priced, quiet & clean. ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake View Hotel
Ranked #45 of 70 Tissamaharama B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced, quiet & clean. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were quite large& very clean, TV channels were numerous, view of lake was nice. Restaurant food was of a good Sri Lankan quality.

This is very tucked away & a little tricky to get to but at the price we paid, we were very happy to get what we got.
Would not recommend if you don't have a driver as it's located so awkwardly.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MrSashaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in lake view hotel,had a real nice welcoming. Kind and helpful staff, clean rooms, good food and an beautiful view on the lake. I recommend this place to all.... Close to yala,safari possibilities

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jef N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

My family (2 adults and 2 kids) stayed here at the start of Oct. The place itself is nice and clean and very good value. The people, however, are what makes the place amazing. They could not do enough to help us, this was hugely refreshing after the experience we had had in central Sri Lanka.

The rooms are simple and clean, we stayed upstairs with a/c and a balcony view. But no place is better that in the hammock by the lake with the refreshing breeze that seems to always be blowing.

Was very happy with our stay here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. It is very clean, coasy... the view to the lake is amazing. You can sit on your balcony and enjoy a colourfull sunset over the lake. The family, who runs the place, is also very kind and helpfull. It took us only 10minutes to get to the center of the city by foot. The prices are also reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zala S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, the family that run it did everything they could to help us. It's in a beautiful location by the lake and perfect to explore Yala national park from. Affordable, i would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alihare1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at Lake View hotel for one night after visiting the nearby Yala National Park, bit difficult to find but it is clean & staff are very friendly, breakfast was freshly cooked & very nice, rates were very reasonable. But by far the best reason to visit is the view over the lake which is breathtaking, with a herd of water buffalo contentedly immersed, wish we could have stayed longer but we had to move on.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Without a doubt this is a nice hotel. The room was very nice and clean and comfortable. The reception staff were very kind, excellent and helping for the guests. The owner, Mahesh is very nice person who helped us a lot to arrange our full day to trip nicely. As well this is perfect base to explore the Yala National Park as the hotel is far closer to the main gate. The safari jeep is new and very comfortable. The jeep driver Upul is very friendly, talented youth who knows everywhere in the park that animals are mostly behave. I highly recommend this hotel if you are searching a budget hotel that is clean and comfortable around yala national park.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tissamaharama hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nilketha
Hotel Nilketha
#38 of 70 in Tissamaharama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ajith Safari Lodge
Ajith Safari Lodge
#30 of 67 in Tissamaharama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elephant Camp Guesthouse
Elephant Camp Guesthouse
#6 of 70 in Tissamaharama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Safari Inn
La Safari Inn
#1 of 67 in Tissamaharama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Park
Golden Park
#12 of 67 in Tissamaharama
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
1.0 mi away
Peacock Reach Hotel
Peacock Reach Hotel
#14 of 70 in Tissamaharama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Hotel

Property: Lake View Hotel
Address: 60 Lake Road, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Tissamaharama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake View is a charming hotel in front of the Tissa Lake, near by rice fields and temples. Our family offers different services: safaris, boat tours, good restaurant...and a warm welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lake View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing