We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good place also for solo travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elephant Camp Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 85 Tissamaharama B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Arriving in Tissamaharama can be difficult, so I definitely recommend to note the number of the place and call before you arrive. The local tuktuk drivers will otherwise take you to different place and claim that Elephant Camp is closed. When you really reach Elephant Camp, you will find a small but lovely place with a garden full of animals in front and a lovely family. It is a good base for trips to Yala and Bundala National Park and Kataragama. The owner Jaya is really helpful and will help you out with all your needs: Driver, Safari, Directions, Food, etc. If you are travelling alone, he will see that you can share a safari and save some money. In the evening you can enjoy the delicious curries cooked by his wife. I think, the curries where one of the best I had in my 3 weeks in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mnuesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 292 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

we got to jayas place and he welcomed us with smiling face and great juice :)
since then it was by far the best place we ever stayed in!
jaya and his family made us feel like we are kings in his costle.
dont think twice, this is the best place to stay!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michal y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

this gesthouse is by far the best one i've ever been in. Jaya is a wonderful owner. always takes care of you. dont miss the lunch and dinner, home made by Jaya's great staff.
I've read a lot of reviews before i came here, all true. enjoy it!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tal_BZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

After a very positive recommendation from a colleague (and reading the reviews on here) we had high expectations of this place before travelling to Sri Lanka. Happily, those expectations were all met and in some cases exceeded!

The guest house does not look like much from the outside and the entrance is difficult to spot from the main road. The rooms themselves are very simply furnished but are clean and comfortable with a/c, hot water and mosquito nets. Meals are served on the terrace on the terrace outside the rooms and were uniformly excellent, particularly the evening meals. The terrace is also a shady and peaceful spot to relax, read and watch the wildlife in the gardens.

We came to Tissa as a base for exploring Yala and Bundala National Parks. Jaya, the owner, was able to arrange these safaris for us at a very reasonable rate. In fact it is Jaya, his son and the rest of the staff that make Elephant Camp so special.

Jaya used to work for Intercontinental Hotels and this background helps to explain his uncommon attention to detail and focus on customer care. This can never be taken for granted in Sri Lanka where tourism (certainly away from the west coast) is only just starting to recover and develop after the civil war.

Jaya picked us up from our previous hotel and on the drive to Tissa he talked to us about our interests and food preferences etc. He then made the effort to source these items and include them in meals during our stay. Unfortunately Jaya's wife was ill during our visit and this meant that he was even busier than usual. Even so, he always made sure that he made time to have a chat with us each evening, share a drink and talk about our plans for the next day, sharing invaluable knowledge and tips.

We loved every minute of our stay in Tissa and it was a real wrench to leave after 3 days. If we are ever lucky enough to return to Sri Lanka we will certainly make a detour to Tissa so that we can stay here again.

Don't waste time looking at other guest houses in Tissa.
This is the only place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SF_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Jaya (The owner) drove us for two days from Habarana through the mountains and was very friendly and pleasant. The rooms were pretty basic but what do you expect from a family run guest house. Unfortunately we stayed at a particularly hectic time for Jaya but it was still a pleasant stay.

He arranged a Safari for us which was amazing the driver also being friendly.

Overall this place is ideal if your looking for a family guest house in the area. If you can't stand a bit of dirt and mosquitos then look elsewhere.

*at the moment there are two adorable puppies at the elephant camp house which is a plus!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Planet-Vs-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We (2 adults, 2 children) visited Elephant Camp guesthouse in 2012. The owner, Mr Jaja and his wife had at the time 2 rooms which we were lucky enough to have. They are genuinly kind and friendly. The owner took us out on a little sightseeing trip (no charges). The rooms are perfectly furbished, clean and with a small porch. The only improvement I can think of is having a site, or having their coordinates somewhere on line. So hereby :) jayathunga.herath yahoo.com- change the space in a @

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eheyens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Super friendly owner ( best in our entire trip) and very helpfull. The place is very clean and the rooms top (we had 3 rooms). Also more or less in front of the hotel there is a very nice restaurant. Also organised jeep for yala tours. Only mini complain could the pillows that are too big/hard :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nathalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tissamaharama
2.4 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
331 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
310 reviews
4.6 mi away
Saraii Village
Saraii Village
#8 of 14 in Tissamaharama
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Jetwing Yala
Jetwing Yala
#1 of 2 in Yala National Park
1,565 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake View Cottage
Lake View Cottage
#3 of 14 in Tissamaharama
375 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sanoga Guest House
Sanoga Guest House
#10 of 85 in Tissamaharama
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Camp Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Camp Guesthouse

Address: Tissa-Kataragama Road, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Tissamaharama
Price Range: $35 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are hosting guests since 2004, and it would be a pleasure for me and my family to host your stay with us.My family and I will do our best to offer you an unforgettable experience in Sri Lanka:* We have 5 comfortable, beautiful rooms AC / Non AC.* We help you organize the best safaris to Yala & Bundala National Park, with experienced drivers at fair prices.* We serve tasty homemade Sri Lankan or continental food.* We can help you get to your next destination in Sri Lanka, all major destination buses stop in front our guesthouse!Jaya and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Elephant Camp Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Camp Guesthouse Hotel Tissamaharama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing