We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget the rest this is the Best”
Review of My Village Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
My Village Hotel
Ranked #8 of 89 Tissamaharama B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We read all the reviews on Trip Advisor prior booking our 3 night stay in February,we can only agree with the excellent reviews all the comments are true.
Sujith is the most accomadating and friendly person we have meet, nothing was to much trouble.
In a nutshell, Accomadation,Location, & Food, all first class, Sujith arranged our Safari trip again First class.
Our advice is to book early, you won't be dissapointed.

Thanks once again for our plesant stay Sujith.
John & Pat

Room Tip: All Rooms are Good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 453 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

We spent 2 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms are cheery and large with nice bathrooms and a seating area outside to enjoy a drink and read your book. The staff are really great and made our visit memorable, from helping us locate a lost laptop (returned in super quick time), to arranging our safari (saw a leopard & elephant to name a few), to providing great meals and lovely friendly service.

I can thoroughly recommend this location from which to enjoy the Yala National Park.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OB1Hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We were warmly welcomed by Sujith and his team (who had incidentally been a huge help on email before organising us transfers and safari tours so it was all done for us when we got there). The place is lovely and clean, and the food was of a really high quality, and lots of it. If it were possible it would be great to have a swimming pool as gets very hot here, that was the only downside (and bring some mosquito repellant, you´re almost in the jungle here!)
We had a great morning at Yala and saw nearly everything in the park, including a leopard and elephants - well worth the long drive.
Thanks Sujith we´ll definitely recommend you!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arxitravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Although this is a beautiful location - the kind of peaceful, modern design you don't often see in Sri Lanka - our stay here didn't go very well. We tried to contact to the owner several times in the days leading up to our stay but got no response on the phone or to our emails. Finally we decided just to arrive, and when we did so we were greeted by the lovely but exhausted-looking Justin, who arranged a cool drink while we waited to go to our room. Found out that the owner had gone AWOL for a few days, perhaps explaining the understaffed feeling at the hotel. Room was lovely, but there was no mosquito net and the place was swarming with them. Luckily we had brought our own. We were kept awake during the night by the hotel's rather moody dog, who barked outside our room for several hours. Not great.
We arranged a safari through the hotel and it was reasonably priced and all went very smoothly - packed breakfast and driver arrived a bit early to get us there in good time. Unfortunately despite our insistence that we did not want to chase the animals and just wanted to get away from the other jeeps (there were many) the driver didn't pay much attention and we left feeling that the Yala safaris are ultimately quite damaging for the animals in the park.
We returned to the hotel, where the power was out for the whole day (we were warned about this though) so had to pack in a very hot, dark room with our head torches on! Justin was great, though, and arranged a tuktuk to the bus station for us at no charge.
This feels like a wasted opportunity - a 4 star location but seriously understaffed.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank SuzyFree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myvillagelk, Owner at My Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Hello SuzyFree,

Im really Sorry about this situation was happen to you . I was went out because of the Urgent situation .This is never happen when i was there . i missed the great opportunity to helping you .
again we are extremely sorry about the situation happen at My village .
Please come again when you travel Srilanka. i will provide you my best .

This Review is rally help me . Thanks for your response .

Regards,
Sujith Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We were welcomed with a nice mixed fruit juice. The guesthouse is in a very quiet location, next to the lake (1 minute walk). The rooms are nice, clean and big. The garden is a heaven where you can relax after a day out. The staff is nice, friendly and helpful. There is hot water in the showers. Umbrellas are provided in the rooms for rainy days. You can borrow bicycles. The food is very nice and well presented. The safari organized by the hotel is good, they provide you with a nice packed breakfast for the morning safari (fruits, sandwiches, yoghourt, chocolate milk and bottled water). The price for their services (safaris, taxis) is ok.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merlulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Totally agree with all the other positive reviews about My Village Hotel. The place is awesome. We only stayed one night but would really recommend this place to those travelling to Tissa and surrounding sights.

You've got to be lucky (or book early) to get a room, as there are only 5, but the whole place is beautifully appointed. The rooms and bathrooms are clean and modern, the garden is peaceful, the food is delicious and the service is top notch.

We also booked our Yala National Park safari through the hotel. In addition to the delicious packed breakfast provided to us on our departure, we were in a really nice and modern vehicle with an excellent driver. We saw leopards and a herd of elephants (including a 3-4 week old baby) up close, along with heaps of other stuff.

Beautiful guesthouse at a good price.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank RSD101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

we stayed MY VILLAGE HOTEL on Jan with my families, it's so wonderful that we could stay at here,and we enjoyed ourselves very much at MY VILLAGE , the owner Mr sujith is a very nice and kind man, it's so impressive, the rooms are very clean, and the hotel's design is very special and young, we like all the design of the hotel, Mr sujith also helped us to booked the safari, it's also a wonderful trip. on about 4:30 am on Jan 21before we went to the Yala Park,Mr sujith got up very early, and prepared the breakfast for us, tks again for his kindlyness, and if one day you come to Tissamaharama, you should stay here , here u could ctc info@myvillagelk.com it's really a very good place to stay, i also like to staffs n foods there :) highly recommend,we hope one day we could come again
very clean and beautiful design
good reputation
special design
quite and beautiful design

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank He J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tissamaharama hotels
0.4 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
325 reviews
2.8 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
368 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake View Cottage
Lake View Cottage
#3 of 14 in Tissamaharama
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
River Face Inn
River Face Inn
#4 of 87 in Tissamaharama
258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elephant Camp Guesthouse
Elephant Camp Guesthouse
#10 of 89 in Tissamaharama
295 reviews
0.7 mi away
Serene Park
Serene Park
#11 of 89 in Tissamaharama
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Village Hotel

Address: Court Road | Punchi Akurugoda, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Tissamaharama
Price Range: $40 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
My Village is a unique and exclusive garden guest house situated on the shores of lake Tissamaharama. Arriving at this lovely guest house hidden away behind unassuming plain walls with only three individually designed rooms. You are assured of peace tranquility and a professional service tailored to meet your individual needs. Restaurant serves Continental food and its specialty is traditional southern Sri Lankan cuisine, which takes your tastebuds all the way to heaven.free breck fast / bycical / parking & WiFi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your My Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing