We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay for exploration of Yala”
Review of Kithala Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kithala Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Tissamaharama
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    228
    84
    40
    17
See reviews for
163
241
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I had the opportunity to inspect the property last May 2013 with my valued travel agents, this was not my first time and certainly will not be the last... I love coming back to this place.
This hotel improves its standards on a daily basis and it is amazing to see the staff working as a team.

The quality of services and food is getting better with each visit, the new rooms are amazing. This charm but quality property is managed by it owner Mr Priyankara Wickramasinghe and a team of dedicated staff which I have yet to come across in a other properties.

The rice which is served to guests are grown in their own paddy fields which landscapes the hotel, and has amazing view of the fields from the rooms and the restaurant.

The comments from our Austrian agents were encouraging even to me as a tour operator.

I am sure that high standards of quality of food and services will be maintained in years to come.. This hotel is Value for money.

Keep it up Team Priyankara!!

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the paddy fields and is a soothing relaxation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rohanj J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hotel has really changed with its new refurbishment, My last stay was in July 2011. This hotel feels like going home, has a very comforting feel in its ambiance. The Rooms are very tastefully furnished with all your needs in mind, The Pools is amazing sitting next to the rice paddies and mini lake filled with ducks and lots of other pets. The convenience of its location, style and feel. I would always go back

Room Tip: Feels like home, comfortable and amazing pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thanuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed at Priyankara Hotel during the April Avurudu weekend. A very nice hotel, good food, exellent service. The location is very convenient. We were able to visit the Katharagama and Yala /Udawalawa safari .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theshantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is a newer hotel in Tissamaharama, the rooms are very nice. Flat screen TV, coffee maker, small balcony (no furniture) and nice views of the pool and fields, the staff was delightful nothing was too much. Food was good when it was the buffets at dinner. When tour groups are there they do buffets. The pool are is spotless, a few more chairs and umbrellas would be nice all.

Room Tip: Right side up stair room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randima D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Priyankara looks nice with a beautiful pool and nice gardens, but the public areas are very dark and gloomy and the food quality is hit-and-miss, sometimes excellent, often inedible. I ordered Seer fish which was totally overcooked and dry. Rooms are average but overall the hotel is overpriced. Its location on a bend on the main road from Kataragama to Tissa means buses come past at regular intervals all night and the exhaust noise as they accelerate out of the bend is very loud and intrusive. I kept waking up from the noise. Priyankara's staff are friendly but overall this was a disappointing experience. I would say Hibiscus Gardens or The Safari (more expensive) are better choices or the various new safari hotels close to Yala National Park.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon20London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2013

i stayed two nights at Priyankara hotel for my business trip. Room which I stayed was very good and room has equipped with high quality amenities. Service of the hotel is excellent. Waiter who served me dinner is even used to ask what is the time I need my bed tea for the next morning. Such type of friendly and quality service, I never had any hotels which I stayed before. Therefore, I am highly recommend this hotel for any one who going to visit deep down south. I am so impressed about the Priyankara hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with the paddy field view are very nice and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tissamaharama hotels
0.2 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
300 reviews
2.4 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
315 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ekho Safari Hotel
Ekho Safari Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tissamaharama
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Chandrika
Hotel Chandrika
#5 of 14 in Tissamaharama
534 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tamarind Tree
Hotel Tamarind Tree
#7 of 14 in Tissamaharama
110 reviews
5.0 mi away
Saraii Village
Saraii Village
#8 of 14 in Tissamaharama
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kithala Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kithala Resort

Property: Kithala Resort
Address: Kataragama Road, Tissamaharama, Sri Lanka (Formerly Priyankara Hotel)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Tissamaharama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kithala Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Ctrip TA so you can book your Kithala Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing