We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hibiscus Garden Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Chandrika(Tissamaharama)
$68
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ekho Safari Hotel(Tissamaharama)
$45
$30
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Turtle Hotel(Tissamaharama)
$36
$30
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kithala Resort(Tissamaharama)
$68
$39
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tamarind Tree(Tissamaharama)
$61
$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thaulle Resort(Tissamaharama)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake View Cottage(Tissamaharama)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saraii Village(Tissamaharama)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Tissa(Tissamaharama)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yala Tree House Safari(Tissamaharama)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Reviews (480)
Filter reviews
480 results
Traveler rating
153
245
67
10
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
245
67
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingone nightnice poolswimming poolyala national parkdirt tracksmall bungalowsnice hotelset menunice surroundingsgood nights sleepspacious clean roomsfirst floorlaundry donelarge bathroomlaundry serviceopen air
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 480 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed here for one night as part of our Sri Lankan tour, originally we were supposed to be doing a Yala safari but as my wife was pregnant we were advised not to so we spent the afternoon in the gardens relaxing by the nice pool. The bedrooms were simple but clean, there was very little hot water as it seemed to be solar heated and shared between a group of rooms so I presume it was first come first served and as a result we got luke warm showers. We spent a lovely evening in the bar and restaurant watching the wildlife, the peacocks in the trees were quite a spectacle.

overall a nice little hotel which is made better by its secluded location.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmyoeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This hotel complex is managed by a German lady and the high standard of accommodation and service reflects this. The hotel has excellent spacious and comfortable accommodation, good shower, a decent double bed and a writing desk. There is a large pool and great gardens to relax in.
The meals were some of the best we had in Sri Lanka with a great choice, buffets for some nights and excellent service staff.
Its in a quiet location and well away from the main roads of Tissa which can get very busy.
Has WiFi internet access in the main building.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed for just 1 night at the Hibiscus Garden Hotel, it is situated at the end of a dirt track. I think the main business is overnights for Yala Park, and after such a full day of Safari you honestly only need a shower, a good meal, drink of wine and a comfy bed. The Hibiscus did all of this very well. Its not the most attractive room I have ever stayed in but it was functional.

However the restaurant is lovely, its on the first floor with open sides and the view is very good. Dinner and Breakfast are included and buffet style.

I have only given a score of 4 as in the bathroom you can hear the conversation of the people in the next room. Only in the bathroom not the bedroom which is good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CliffandAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Lovely spacious older style hotel tucked away at the end of a dirt track in the most beautiful garden. Good clean pool, beautiful grounds, great for nature lovers.
Its not new, not modern and not freshly decorated, however it has that homely lived in feeling where you can easily relax.
We stayed for two nights as part of our tour with Elephant Island and were very happy with this choice as a base to do two safaris. In fact I would of liked to of stayed longer and explored Tissa it looked like a very interesting area. We found Udawawe to be a far superior natural safari than the tourist commercial version at Yala.
Breakfast is an experience in its own right, I have never seen so many different dishes that keeps arriving at your table and all very tasty. I did not find the evening meal as interesting but the food and service was fine.
If you are looking for peaceful surrounds and an opportunity to relax then look no further.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are the same. A cleaver design of clusters of 4 bungalows.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 190722Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Not a bad little place, There are about four chalet buildings each containing four rooms so some face gardens and swimming pool but others face outwards. Our room felt a bit gloomy but it was clean and a reasonable size. Pool area and pool were nice and restaurant was on first floor with nice breeze. Food was pretty good and there was a really nice girl working there most of the time who was really helpfull. Wouldn`t rave about the place but not bad and no real negatives.

Room Tip: Pool view is best
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ponytailpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews