We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning peaceful garden setting .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hibiscus Garden Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Stunning peaceful garden setting .”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We liked this hotel a lot and has the potential to be an excellent place . The rooms are in 4s in bungalows in the gardens , they are a good size with a shower room. The shower rooms are OK but a little dated but no toiletries really offered except for soap and silvikrin shampoos sachets for black shiny hair ( irrelevant for the largely 50 plus European clientele). The bed linen needs changing - it is dingy but clean and certainly looks poor against the white painted walls . No spare pillows in rooms and had difficulty obtaining more Fridge and tea making facilities .The gardens are beautiful and there is also a natural area and pond so many birds to listen to and watch . There is a good swimming pool with some loungers ( german problem though!- you will know what I mean ). There are also tables and chairs under the trees it certainly is a lovely place to relax if not on safari . Food was good at both breakfast and evening buffet although need to be early as it wasn't replenished , also had food cooked to order .
Can walk around local area but quite a long walk to resort proper - would need taxi / tuk tuk for evening visits

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valma55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    228
    63
    10
    5
See reviews for
113
214
20
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,850 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 605 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We like this hotel very much - have stayed there twice. It is ideally located for bird and wildlife safari trips and all can be arranged locally. The hotel itself is well appointed - rooms are clean and set within an attractive 'natural' garden area which attracts birds and wildlife. When not out on safari, guests can relax by the pool and listen to peacocks and other birds. Food is perfectly OK and the staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. We would certainly return here when next in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank profjoypc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Got moved to this hotel as the original hote (Chandrika)l had overbooked. I'm sure they do this all the time to help the other smaller hotels out

Hotel area was surrounded by flies and mosquitos as the rice fields surrounded it

We decided not to stay there as- and they would not refund our money. It was not our choice to stay there and they were unprofessional.

The right thing to do would admit fauly and refund 100

Avoid

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JoeyD101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Stayed one night to do a safari in Yala, the setting of the hotel is superb and a haven for birds, beautiful bungalows around the pool and the gardens are a bit of a nature reserve to explore. Only downside was we where in a block of rooms next to the car park and our room was not very clean, old pillows which were a put off.

Room Tip: Book a bungalow near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Having spent several weeks experiencing Sri Lanka's "buffet culture" we were very pleasantly surprised at the buffet here! A great range of local dishes cooked while you wait, and impeccable service at both breakfast and dinner.
The rooms are clean, and we had a 50% hot rate - I think they may be solar powered, so have an evening shower.
Our room was big and had AC, although it needed new pillows.
A fantastic oasis of calm, that comes with a resident crocodile!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ShelbyBonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Great location right on the rice paddy fields for some rooms.
No wifi (doesn't ever work); expect cold or luke warm showers at best; customer service training would be a good thing; they do not wish to book safaris; pool lights turned off early (and it was New Years Eve). Can;t read in rooms due to dim lighting.

We had great difficulty communicating in English.

Some maintenance wouldn't go astray. Soap holder broken and placed aside; toilet seat broken; fridge broken.

We moved to another place in town as needed Wifi. It was less than a third of the cost and was exceptionally good with great Wifi; hot showers; spoke English well and offered brilliant customer service.

Don't waste your time and money here.

Room Tip: Check Tripadvisor and find something far superior as they are there. If you must stay here, ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed here while doing a Yala National park visit. We stayed here for 2 nights. The food was fantastic, the rooms were fantastic and the surroundings were beautiful. At dusk the birds would come out. The only thing to watch out for are the tiles on the pool and the sucker inlet in the pool. Some tiles are a little chipped and very sharp. I sliced my finger open very easily when I first got in. The sucker inlet needs to have a cover put over it as if you occidentally lean on it it sucks you in & it hurts. Apart from those couple of little things the pool was beautiful.

We loved every minute of our stay. Would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieFamily_of4_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tissamaharama
0.2 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
282 reviews
2.8 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
301 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Chandrika
Hotel Chandrika
#5 of 14 in Tissamaharama
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Cinnamon Wild Yala
Cinnamon Wild Yala
#1 of 2 in Kirinda
1,595 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kithala Resort
Kithala Resort
#4 of 14 in Tissamaharama
563 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lake View Cottage
Lake View Cottage
#3 of 14 in Tissamaharama
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Garden Hotel

Property: Hibiscus Garden Hotel
Address: Mahasenpura, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Tissamaharama
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hibiscus Garden Hotel has ten comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms, located in separate chalets, which consists of air-condition and minibar. In the open-air restaurant you can experience the exquisite kitchen while enjoying a wonderful view of the emerald green fields and the nearby mountains. In the beautiful garden you can relax at the pool or we can offer you a BBQ evening in a quiet place at a small river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hibiscus Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing