We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A work in progress.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hibiscus Garden Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A work in progress.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

There is much to recommend Hibiscus Garden Hotel: the pool area is great for kids and/or relaxation, a great massage service is available and it's close to Yala National Park.

On the downside there's the food. The evening buffet we endured on our first night was an object lesson in how NOT to organize or present one. Some dishes that should have been hot were served cold, some were badly prepared and some just looked uneatable. Worst dish of all was the garlic grilled chicken, which was riddled with gristle and generally slimy. Worst practice of all was the preparation of the spicy concoction based on string hoppers. The clatter of metal on metal at the heart of the restaurant is just noise pollution, a real conversation killer.

Over the two days we had one buffet breakfast (reasonable) and one served at table that arrived either cold, half-cooked or both (toast should have some brown patches at least!)

The staff are polite and helpful but between them struggle with what needs to be done.

A disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrewabu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    227
    62
    10
    5
See reviews for
113
213
19
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Out of the all the hotels we stayed out in Sri Lanka the staff at this hotel were the worst, they were efficient but just not friendly, I don't remember being smiled at which was rather odd as the welcome at the other hotels has been outstanding. The rooms were lovely, the air con spot on but too much standing water in the grounds with mosquitos everywhere! The food was adequate, nothing special, we ordered Gin & Tonic and got a bottle of room temperature tonic which the waitress opened but I requested a cold bottle, she attempted to put the top back on the bottle with disdain! This hotel is perfectly located but we will not be staying again.
Karl & Dawn, Staffordshire, England

Room Tip: Pick another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MossAddison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
192 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed one night here whilst visiting Yala national park. The hotel is in the middle of the nature reserve and in an area of outstanding natural beauty. The facilities are immaculately clean but basic. There is air con in the room and the breakfast and dinner we had was totally adequate. It is a great location to be if you visit Yala.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatiebrightonSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Arrived to this amazing hotel, walked in the door to the lobby and got struck by lightning as i layed eyes on their beautiful receptionist, welcoming me from behind the desk.
( oh ya... Hotel is great too)

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonas søndergaa... N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights, good location to visit Yala National Park and surrounding areas, room was clean, nice swimming pool... but luck of service and staff. Picnic breakfast and lunch prepared by kitchen then found out it was extra bit pricey for what they prepared.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elfbigblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rostrevor, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you are lucky enough to be just touring, and want to get away from it all, than this is a great place. Unfortunately if you still need to be contactable then this just does not suit. The internet is haphazard, there is no phone in the room, and also no TV. However, the breakfast service in the morning came not only with a smile, but no buffet thankfully, but a menu presented, make your choice of eggs, and then the parade begins, fresh fruit, toast and butter, preserves in proper bowls instead of the dreadful little sachets, Sri Lankan pancakes and onion relish, cracked rice in a leaf, omelette arrives, and the only downfall, the typical weak hotel coffee. Rooms are great,little lizards visit you, pool is also good, so if no business needed, and no kids to nag you about TV go for it

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RostrevorMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoorn, Nederland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The staff: very friendly
Location: perfect: we went to Yala ! And we visited a very good seafood restaurant for a lunch..
Breakfast: a lot to choose . Very .delicious
The room: ( in bungalows) big with a large bathroom, a good bed, a refrigerator, AC, Wifi.
Nice swimmingpool!!
We stayed two nights and the second morning the cleaning service left flowers behind on our bed. Very lovely and romantic..!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce-Nadira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tissamaharama
0.2 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Chandrika
Hotel Chandrika
#4 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
8.1 mi away
Cinnamon Wild Yala
Cinnamon Wild Yala
#1 of 2 in Kirinda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kithala Resort
Kithala Resort
#5 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
7.8 mi away
Jetwing Yala
Jetwing Yala
#1 of 2 in Yala National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
4.9 mi away
Saraii Village
Saraii Village
#9 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Garden Hotel

Property: Hibiscus Garden Hotel
Address: Mahasenpura, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Tissamaharama
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hibiscus Garden Hotel has ten comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms, located in separate chalets, which consists of air-condition and minibar. In the open-air restaurant you can experience the exquisite kitchen while enjoying a wonderful view of the emerald green fields and the nearby mountains. In the beautiful garden you can relax at the pool or we can offer you a BBQ evening in a quiet place at a small river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hibiscus Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing