We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and clean hotel in a beautiful ambient” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hibiscus Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hibiscus Garden Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Hoorn, Nederland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice and clean hotel in a beautiful ambient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The staff: very friendly
Location: perfect: we went to Yala ! And we visited a very good seafood restaurant for a lunch..
Breakfast: a lot to choose . Very .delicious
The room: ( in bungalows) big with a large bathroom, a good bed, a refrigerator, AC, Wifi.
Nice swimmingpool!!
We stayed two nights and the second morning the cleaning service left flowers behind on our bed. Very lovely and romantic..!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce-Nadira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    224
    61
    10
    5
See reviews for
111
209
19
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed here on the last night of our tour of Sri Lanka. On arrival this place looked the most 'hotelly' out of all the places we stayed - it has a large restaurant and reception. The rooms are bungalows spread about the complex with a nice looking swimming pool in the centre, and a few lakes surrounding it (there was a croc in the lake!). The accommodation was lovely - beautiful huge bathroom with complimentary shampoo sachets and soap, loads of towels. We had a triple room so it was a huge superking with a separate single bed. The beds were comfortable and the AC worked, and there was also a fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. They had free wifi but the code they gave me didn't seem to work.

The food at dinner was OK - we opted for omelettes which were OK - I had a cheese one which appeared to be burger cheese (the square cheeses) folded into an egg, with a side of chips. The service was OK - it wasn't very personal as we have experienced at other places. We had an early morning safari the next day and so had a packed breakfast consisting of a fruit juice container, a cheese and tomato sandwich, 2 sausages and 2 eggs, and a banana and slice of pineapple.

In summary the rooms were nice, but the service lacked - it was like being in England, which some people may like, but having experienced great service else where, we were a little disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bloonoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is a nice,fresh hotel set in beautiful grounds with chalet-style rooms. It is still quite new, having only been open a couple of years. Staff are friendly and helpful. The swimming pool is one of the main attractions, set in the middle of the lawn with beautiful trees and bushes. The restaurant, upstairs above reception, catches the breeze and is a relaxing place for a drink watching the sunset. Food is good, especially the dinner buffett. A la carte service is a bit slow with limited choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon20London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

3 bedded A.C.cottages modern interior. There is a swimming pool as well as natural lake. It is close to Yala national park. The hotel gives pack breakast for park safari. Service is good. Free wi- fi. In all it was a lovely experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srathlye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Decent cottages around the pool... Rooms are good... Triple room is furnished with one double coat plus one single coat instead of extra bed....15-20 mins away from the entrance of Yala National park...

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sam_PaulV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

beautiful lovely place. Family accommodation (king bed plus single) was great, air con good and the setting near the rice paddy and pool also good. I do hope this place does well and to do so it will need a bit of polish. Some additional training for staff, just to be attentive and smile a bit, they just seemed a little junior and would benefit from a good manager with hospitality experience, not that we were that fussed, but this style of luxury tourist accommodation needs this professionalism. As others have suggested the laundry, thick with Yala dust, did not come back clean, which is unusual given that in my experience of washing in Asia, everything usually comes back utterly spotless and better than I could ever do. The Pool has some issues with cracked tiles which they told us about but everyone still managed to get tiny cuts all over their feet - so that needs to be addressed. All that said, we would recommend, for the price and because this hotel was one of the few in Tissa that was not enormously expensive or did not insist we book two rooms as we have two small kids, We would come again, it was a great launch for Yala and we wish it the best

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank wendybev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was a truly lovely hotel. The grounds are great, the room was spotless ( a/c) and the people very friendly. The bar /restaurant was a great spot after a long day in Yala Park and the food was very good. This is a definite recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tissamaharama
0.2 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Chandrika
Hotel Chandrika
#5 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
2.8 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kithala Resort
Kithala Resort
#4 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
7.8 mi away
Jetwing Yala
Jetwing Yala
#1 of 2 in Yala National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
4.9 mi away
Saraii Village
Saraii Village
#8 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Garden Hotel

Property: Hibiscus Garden Hotel
Address: Mahasenpura, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Tissamaharama
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hibiscus Garden Hotel has ten comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms, located in separate chalets, which consists of air-condition and minibar. In the open-air restaurant you can experience the exquisite kitchen while enjoying a wonderful view of the emerald green fields and the nearby mountains. In the beautiful garden you can relax at the pool or we can offer you a BBQ evening in a quiet place at a small river. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing