We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent accommodation but the restaurant is over priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hibiscus Garden Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Decent cottages around the pool... Rooms are good... Triple room is furnished with one double coat plus one single coat instead of extra bed....15-20 mins away from the entrance of Yala National park...

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Sam_PaulV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 456 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

beautiful lovely place. Family accommodation (king bed plus single) was great, air con good and the setting near the rice paddy and pool also good. I do hope this place does well and to do so it will need a bit of polish. Some additional training for staff, just to be attentive and smile a bit, they just seemed a little junior and would benefit from a good manager with hospitality experience, not that we were that fussed, but this style of luxury tourist accommodation needs this professionalism. As others have suggested the laundry, thick with Yala dust, did not come back clean, which is unusual given that in my experience of washing in Asia, everything usually comes back utterly spotless and better than I could ever do. The Pool has some issues with cracked tiles which they told us about but everyone still managed to get tiny cuts all over their feet - so that needs to be addressed. All that said, we would recommend, for the price and because this hotel was one of the few in Tissa that was not enormously expensive or did not insist we book two rooms as we have two small kids, We would come again, it was a great launch for Yala and we wish it the best

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank wendybev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was a truly lovely hotel. The grounds are great, the room was spotless ( a/c) and the people very friendly. The bar /restaurant was a great spot after a long day in Yala Park and the food was very good. This is a definite recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed here as part of our trip around Sri Lanka. This hotel was chosen because of it's proximity to Yala. The accommodation is in blocks of four rooms, the room itself being nice and spacious. The provision of a fridge in the room was very welcome, though thank goodness I always take plenty of coathangers, there being just two in the 'wardrobe'. The restaurant has an open aspect and is raised to first floor level which offers lovely views as you eat. The food was okay, though the non-curry choices lacked a little imagination, and the breakfast was quite basic.

The basic problem with this hotel is that the staff are too young and inexperienced. I asked to put passports and money etc in the hotel safe, and this was wrapped in newspaper taped up with black tape! I asked for some shorts and t-shirts to be laundered, and was told they could be ready by 7.0 pm. I went to the reception to collect them, and was told they were not quite ready but would be brought to my room - they were, but still damp and just pushed into a plastic carrier. I had to take them back and ask for them to be pressed, this could not be done until the following morning. When I got them back they were not particularly clean nor well pressed, though the dust from Yala probably accounted for them not being clean.

This is a pleasant stay for visiting Yala and Bundala as we did, and we would probably stay again if we wanted to make a return trip to the parks, because it is a nice hotel, but somebody please take control.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janda6364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel belongs in the basic-tranquil category. The guest room was very clean and comfortable, but it did not have a TV and wi-fi is not available in the room.

Due to unforeseeable circumstances in our trip around Sri Lanka, this hotel was a last-minutes replacement booked by our tour operator. Overall it was a good selection and we were happy with our stay.

The restaurant offered a good selection of food for both dinner and breakfast served buffet style.

We wanted to use the pool after dinner to unwind from the day's safari in Yala National Park, but for some reason it was closed earlier than the posted hours.

The water pressure in the shower was lower than usual. Not enough to be a hindrance, but enough to take notice.

While most of the staff provided excellent service, there is one of the younger girls in the restaurant who needs extra training in being cordial to customers.

The view from the second floor open air restaurant is amazing. You can see how you are located in the middle of the jungle.

The hotel is not far from Yala National Park and offers a good night's rest in a secluded setting.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #2. It was peaceful, located away from the main building and offered a good sceni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoffreyC738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights in order to visit Yala and Bundala, it was a great location for trips to both of these parks. The setting is great, reminded me of trips to African safari parks, the upstairs dining room had good views over the neighbouring paddy fields. The rooms were large and very clean, it would have been nice if the fridge had been turned on so it was cold when we arrived, and the bed was decorated with bougainvillea flowers - very pretty! The pool was welcome after a long, hot journey and towels were brought out quickly for us. We were disappointed on the first night as we were back late from a trip to Yala and the buffet was pretty much empty, the second night was a set menu so not typically Sri Lankan. There seemed to be a better choice at lunch time. The laundry service was excellent and good value. We felt that with better management this could be a fantastic hotel, it has everything in place just felt the staff needed a bit of direction. The pool needed cleaning thoroughly and staff were not found easily if you wanted a drink whilst outside. Having said that I would recommend it for anyone wanting to visit the National Parks.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I have to admit that I slept in this hotel after one of the most beautiful days of my life so my review is definitely spoiled. But actually swim in the Hibiscus pool under a star crowded sky is something I really recommend! We finish our amazing safari at 6.30 in the afternoon - where we were so lucky to meet a leopard among the others spectacular creatures - and than checked in in this hotel where we had our deserved rest.
The buffet is very simple but good, excellent value for money - don't miss the bread donuts fried by a lovely lady, I had 7 of them:-)
The staff seems a bit sleepy, they asked for our room number every 2 minutes.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luciferas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tissamaharama
0.2 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
312 reviews
7.8 mi away
Jetwing Yala
Jetwing Yala
#1 of 2 in Yala National Park
1,591 reviews
2.8 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lake View Cottage
Lake View Cottage
#3 of 14 in Tissamaharama
377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Chandrika
Hotel Chandrika
#5 of 14 in Tissamaharama
555 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ekho Safari Hotel
Ekho Safari Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tissamaharama
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Garden Hotel

Address: Mahasenpura, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Tissamaharama
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hibiscus Garden Hotel has ten comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms, located in separate chalets, which consists of air-condition and minibar. In the open-air restaurant you can experience the exquisite kitchen while enjoying a wonderful view of the emerald green fields and the nearby mountains. In the beautiful garden you can relax at the pool or we can offer you a BBQ evening in a quiet place at a small river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hibiscus Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing