We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hibiscus Garden Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Nice hotel, spacious room and firm comfortable bed. Location is in the middle of nowhere. Nice swimming pool in the garden. Dinner buffet was ok, but could have been better.
We left early before breakfast but the hotel were really good about giving us a breakfast box to takeaway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rf80808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    228
    64
    10
    5
See reviews for
113
214
20
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights whilst doing the Yala Safari. The hotel is not far from Yala and is beautiful. The rooms are very clean, modern and comfortable. It is a serene place, so the rooms don't have a TV or phone which is good. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the food is ok, although breakfast could have been better. The pool is nice and warm and lit up in the evening. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tink1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our tour around Sri Lanka and what a place to stay! We checked in just before joining our safari in Yala but the hotel staff were polite, welcoming and charming - everything we have come to expect from Sri Lankan hotels.

We had a quick dip in the pool after our safari and watched bats swooping, heard peacocks crowing and listened to frogs in the pond and nearby paddy fields.

Dinner was a set menu but was delicious if a little peppery but they made a mean Pina Cola and the beer was ice cold.

The room was large with a massive bathroom and all was very clean. It was refreshing not to have a TV too and a joy to experience to peace and quiet.

I would definitely make a point of going back - perhaps using the hotel as a base for a few days while we discovered the south east of the island.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clhtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed here one nigh for a trip to Yarla. Only 16 rooms, beautiful setting and rooms, lovely pool.
Made a nice change to have a good quality A La Crte, totally unexpected and marvellous quality. Even breakfast was A La Carte, and set us up for the whole day. Very helpful staff who made sure everything was perfect

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nolostbaggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This hotel was a wild card for us, as the other hotels in Yala were really, really expensive. This hotel is not far from Yala and is very charming and beautiful. The rooms are very clean, modern and comfortable. It is a serene place, so the rooms don't have a TV or phone and given that it is an ECO hotel when you first arrive in your room their may be insects. DO NOT let this put you off - I can't stand insects but after I blasted the air-con the room was virtually insect free. The key is to leave the air-con on even when you're out. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the food is ok. The pool is nice and warm and lit up in the evening. All in all, I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdmh81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 5 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

For me Hibiscus Garden Hotel was a perfecr place to rest for a while before and after a safari. The staff are very friendly, the bedrooms although basic, are clean and comfortable and the grounds are very picturesque. The hotel is only small, about 20 rooms, laid out as bungalows around a nice swimming pool. The hotel lived up to it's name because the hibiscus flowers were beautiful. I also saw lots of species of birds who providied endless entertainment. I found the buffet style food to be plentiful and tasty and there is also a chef who cooks fresh food to order.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, Berkshire
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Used this hotel for a one night stay whilst visiting Yala National Park. Pretty basic accommodation but perfectly acceptable for a one night stay. Room was clean although with the way the bathrooms all back onto each other in the blocks of 4 rooms (with the vents seemingly all opening into each other) you could hear all sorts of noises come from the other rooms!!!

Dinner was a bit of a mismash and personally did not enjoy it although breakfast was okay. Plenty of young staff on duty at both meals who try hard but lack guidance and any sort of management.

One night was enough for us especially as we only arrived late and left early the next morning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tissamaharama hotels
0.2 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
289 reviews
2.8 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
308 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kithala Resort
Kithala Resort
#4 of 14 in Tissamaharama
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tamarind Tree
Hotel Tamarind Tree
#7 of 14 in Tissamaharama
102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Chandrika
Hotel Chandrika
#5 of 14 in Tissamaharama
520 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ekho Safari Hotel
Ekho Safari Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tissamaharama
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Garden Hotel

Property: Hibiscus Garden Hotel
Address: Mahasenpura, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Tissamaharama
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hibiscus Garden Hotel has ten comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms, located in separate chalets, which consists of air-condition and minibar. In the open-air restaurant you can experience the exquisite kitchen while enjoying a wonderful view of the emerald green fields and the nearby mountains. In the beautiful garden you can relax at the pool or we can offer you a BBQ evening in a quiet place at a small river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hibiscus Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing