We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough but terrible food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hibiscus Garden Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice enough but terrible food”
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Stayed here for one night as part of a tour. Rooms were basic but clean and comfortable, some of the staff weren't the most pleasant. The dinner buffet was absolutely awful.

Tissa is definitely worth visiting for a trip for Yala and I would recommend this hotel for short stays.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    231
    64
    10
    5
See reviews for
118
214
20
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Valentino di Brentonico, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Stayed here on an overnight trip to Yala, lovely little hotel with large, clean rooms and a very welcoming swimming pool. I was very surprised at how nice the hotel was and how friendly the staff were.
The food was okay, but there was lots of it.
A great little hotel for trips to Yala.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lazygirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sutton
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

great hotel. clean spacious rooms in bungalows. super pool and food

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ole12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Arrived mid afternoon and jumped straqight in the pool which was really refreshing after our long drive. There appeared to be more staff than guests and the grounds were immaculate. Went on a safari which was organised by Upul of Sri Lankan Tailored tours who we were on a 14 night trip with. The evening meal, although a set menu, was excellent and the majority of the staff were attentive and pleasant.
Next morning, after a good nights sleep, we enjoyed a great breakfast whilst enjoying the views from the 1st floor restaurant. Only stopped one night but could easily have chilled for a few more.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leylander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bussum
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2011

Spacious clean rooms, good restaurant, nice swimming pool, kind staff and very nice surroundings for bird watching

Room Tip: Ask for room no2 if you enjoy watching birds
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen_0773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2011

Pretty and comfortable for a brief stay when visiting Yala. Nice pool and gardens. Restaurant OK. Limited food choice at dinner, but good breakfast. Pleasant and obligiing staff.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WideawakeMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

The Hibiscus is a little way out of town and not the easiest place to find, but once you're there it's the best place to relax between safaris at Yala.
You are welcomed to the hotel with a juice and a sit down whilst the staff run around a little and make sure they have your reservation. To be fair to the staff we were travelling independently and not through an agency so this may have been a little alien to them. They happily take your bags to your room and settle you in, where there were clean towels, a nice comfortable bed and clean bathroom.
The pool was always clean and had sun loungers and parasols, and the staff would bring towels for the pool.
The Big Man of the hotel (you'll know who he is when you get there) always came around to make sure that we had everything we needed and was quick to solve any issues, and the other reception staff were always eager to help.
The restaurant staff were a bit different however as they always appeared to get a little confused about the simplest thing, such as which table we should be sat on and which drinks we had had. In all they were trying to be helpful but were slightly confused at times.
The hotel organised our safari trips with the minimum of fuss and prepared a nice breakfast for us every day. Aseed, our safari guide, was a lovely chap and very helpful and patient.
I would also suggest that you don't take the massage at the Hibiscus as they seem to only know how to oil you up without actually massaging anything though!
In all it was a lovely stay in an easy going environment.
Finally, the families there seemed happy with everything and their kids loved the pool.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gavontheweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tissamaharama hotels
0.2 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
300 reviews
2.8 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tamarind Tree
Hotel Tamarind Tree
#7 of 14 in Tissamaharama
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kithala Resort
Kithala Resort
#4 of 14 in Tissamaharama
585 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Chandrika
Hotel Chandrika
#5 of 14 in Tissamaharama
534 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ekho Safari Hotel
Ekho Safari Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tissamaharama
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Garden Hotel

Property: Hibiscus Garden Hotel
Address: Mahasenpura, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Tissamaharama
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hibiscus Garden Hotel has ten comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms, located in separate chalets, which consists of air-condition and minibar. In the open-air restaurant you can experience the exquisite kitchen while enjoying a wonderful view of the emerald green fields and the nearby mountains. In the beautiful garden you can relax at the pool or we can offer you a BBQ evening in a quiet place at a small river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hibiscus Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing