We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hibiscus Garden Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2011

great hotel. clean spacious rooms in bungalows. super pool and food

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ole12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 459 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2011

Arrived mid afternoon and jumped straqight in the pool which was really refreshing after our long drive. There appeared to be more staff than guests and the grounds were immaculate. Went on a safari which was organised by Upul of Sri Lankan Tailored tours who we were on a 14 night trip with. The evening meal, although a set menu, was excellent and the majority of the staff were attentive and pleasant.
Next morning, after a good nights sleep, we enjoyed a great breakfast whilst enjoying the views from the 1st floor restaurant. Only stopped one night but could easily have chilled for a few more.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leylander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

Spacious clean rooms, good restaurant, nice swimming pool, kind staff and very nice surroundings for bird watching

Room Tip: Ask for room no2 if you enjoy watching birds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen_0773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

Pretty and comfortable for a brief stay when visiting Yala. Nice pool and gardens. Restaurant OK. Limited food choice at dinner, but good breakfast. Pleasant and obligiing staff.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WideawakeMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

The Hibiscus is a little way out of town and not the easiest place to find, but once you're there it's the best place to relax between safaris at Yala.
You are welcomed to the hotel with a juice and a sit down whilst the staff run around a little and make sure they have your reservation. To be fair to the staff we were travelling independently and not through an agency so this may have been a little alien to them. They happily take your bags to your room and settle you in, where there were clean towels, a nice comfortable bed and clean bathroom.
The pool was always clean and had sun loungers and parasols, and the staff would bring towels for the pool.
The Big Man of the hotel (you'll know who he is when you get there) always came around to make sure that we had everything we needed and was quick to solve any issues, and the other reception staff were always eager to help.
The restaurant staff were a bit different however as they always appeared to get a little confused about the simplest thing, such as which table we should be sat on and which drinks we had had. In all they were trying to be helpful but were slightly confused at times.
The hotel organised our safari trips with the minimum of fuss and prepared a nice breakfast for us every day. Aseed, our safari guide, was a lovely chap and very helpful and patient.
I would also suggest that you don't take the massage at the Hibiscus as they seem to only know how to oil you up without actually massaging anything though!
In all it was a lovely stay in an easy going environment.
Finally, the families there seemed happy with everything and their kids loved the pool.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gavontheweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

We had a lovely time at this hotel. We stayed there for 2 nights as we were doing a safari to Yala National Park. The rooms are very clean and spacious. We had our own bathroom. The restaurant does nice food and the staff are lovely. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank kylieEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

We stayed here for two nights to visit Yala and Bundala National Parks.

The hotel is at the end of a lane and has a lake in the grounds. It is fairly new and the rooms are in 4 blocks of 4 rooms. We were furthest from the pool, overlooking fields.

The rooms are not luxurious but are very clean and reasonably comfortable. The pool area is lovely and the other blocks are around it. The restaurant upstairs is very airy and pleasant and the food is good .

Excellent value for money and we would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveller1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tissamaharama
0.7 mi away
Ekho Safari Hotel
Ekho Safari Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tissamaharama
589 reviews
7.8 mi away
Jetwing Yala
Jetwing Yala
#1 of 2 in Yala National Park
1,610 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Chandrika
Hotel Chandrika
#5 of 14 in Tissamaharama
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kithala Resort
Kithala Resort
#4 of 14 in Tissamaharama
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Garden Hotel

Address: Mahasenpura, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Tissamaharama
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hibiscus Garden Hotel has ten comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms, located in separate chalets, which consists of air-condition and minibar. In the open-air restaurant you can experience the exquisite kitchen while enjoying a wonderful view of the emerald green fields and the nearby mountains. In the beautiful garden you can relax at the pool or we can offer you a BBQ evening in a quiet place at a small river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hibiscus Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing