We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch was disappointing”
Review of Bodega Ruca Malen

Bodega Ruca Malen
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.00*
and up
Wine Hop-On Hop-Off Tour from Mendoza
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A winery that celebrates a Legend, the legend of Ruca Malen "The house of the young lady". You are invited to a personalized tour of Bodega Ruca Malen and to enjoy our five-step tasting menu matched with Ruca Malen`s full range of wines; in an elegant and warm winery, surrounded by vineyards and an amazing view of the Andes mountains.Open from Monday to Sunday.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
119 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lunch was disappointing”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I have been to 6 different lunches at vineyards in Mendoza and Ruca Malen was by far the worst tasting and the worst value. Uninspired, bland,small portions , fusion without a point. The 1st course was an odd mix of corn paste and lemon cream on an 'artistically' drawn on plate that tried to explain the disjointed dish. It failed miserably in terms of taste and sophistication. The second course was utterly not memorable. The third was a cold / luke warm risotto cake- not tasty and draws on no Argentine culinary pasta experience. The 4th was a filet mignon and squash millefuille that was ok. The desert was a tasteless biscotti with fruit and No wine pairing for dessert. Coffee's petit fours never arrived - all I can say is NEVER AGAIN.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    728
    209
    54
    14
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
495 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“The place to lunch!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommended excellent lunch paired with delicious wines at a great price. The view is superb, staff exceptional. A must do!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gloria Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“One of the most fun, interesting and memorable dining experiences we've ever had”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I had only one day to spend wine tasting in Mendoza on our way from Buenos Aires to Santiago, so we hired a great private guide and let him pick our stops. Ruca Malen was the third of four wineries we visited, and a wonderful place for lunch.

There are two dining rooms at the winery. One is indoors, and one outdoors. All the guests were seated at the outdoor one and it was clear why - you're basically dining in a small, glass enclosed room next to the vineyards with an amazing view of the Andes Mountains just beyond. How majestic one feels in that setting, having a leisurely five course meal well paired with five different wines. Plan on at least two hours.

We really enjoyed our lunch. The presentation was a delight. How unusual it was to have the first appetizer course, made up of several different items, served on a see-through, rectangular plate of glass with handwritten notes on a piece of paper fastened below it. That made it fun and informative - an "infographic" with your food, as one of my techie friends described it. What I especially liked were the unusual combination of tastes and textures incorporated into each course. And the wine pairing was done well. I don't usually care for petit verdot, but I actually enjoyed it with the particular dish that it was served with. Odd, but the menu included two "appetizer" courses and then a "starter" before the main course. And dessert and coffee, of course. The hot biscuits (two different kinds - one before the appetizers, and one interspersed with the courses - were delicious. The wines were very generous pours. Our guide had told us they actually have a bottomless policy, but we didn't test that as we had plenty to drink already and one more winery to go to. The waiter told us they change the menu with each of the four seasons.

We thought their standard pricing, which our guide said was $50 USD per person, was quite reasonable relative to what that would have cost in the U.S. Our guide, who had prepaid for the lunch, gets a nice discount and he passed that along to us. Yes, we've had better food. Yes, we've had better wine. But the combination of the food, the view, and the wine made for one of the most fun, interesting and memorable dining experiences we've ever had.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank castriker888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing attempt at boutique restaurant and winery. Beautiful setting.”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We did not go to Ruca Malen for the wine, but we were expecting it to pair reasonably well with what we heard was an exceptional meal. Unfortunately there was not much to rave about from either the food or wine. The wine was simplistic, lacking any defining characteristics, other than an overuse of oak. The food, while attempting to be a a refined tasting menu, was also very poor. The presentation was quite good, but the actual quality was extremely low. Redolent of a friend attempting to replicate a favorite meal after a vacation in France.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank CLSwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yum!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Great way to spend the day. Nice and prompt tour of the grounds followed by an unbelievable lunch. Seriously the lunch was out of this world good. The wines were ok, nothing too special in my opinion. We had some major sediment in a few of our darker wines of the tasting menu, which was a pretty big negative. Besides that it was well worth the pesos and the drive.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Posty916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodega Ruca Malen also viewed

 

Been to Bodega Ruca Malen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing