We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Spot, Luxury Stay”
Review of Cavas Wine Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cavas Wine Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lujan de Cuyo
Certificate of Excellence
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Spectacular Spot, Luxury Stay”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

After the high energy of Buenos Aires, we arrived at Cavas Wine Lodge and immediately started to slow it down and enjoy. The resort is beautiful ... located right in the vineyard, with a wonderful lobby, restaurant area, pool, spa, small gym and lots of walkways through the vineyards ... it is delightful. We were really happy with the stand-alone units (2 guests per unit) which feature a living area, big bedroom and awesome bathroom, with an individual patio, dunk pool and outdoor shower. The people were so helpful; I had e-mailed with them several times before arriving to make some wine, hiking and dinner plans. Each day we had weather-related changes, and the "front desk" team couldn't have been more accommodating and helpful. Even a small situation that occurred was handled smoothly and with our needs being met first. The restaurant was great, and the (included) breakfast each morning was so generous with fruit, juices, granola, yogurt, meats, cheeses and hot menu options. Last, we were there for a Tango and Asado evening which was off the charts special...I'll never forget it!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    71
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
60
486
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We spent four nights at Cavas and truly enjoyed the experience. The staff was very accommodating as we changed our itinerary a few times. We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. The room was really more of a villa and was charming. We especially loved the rooftop terrace and evening fires. The spa was terrific; very good massages. Prices differed from website to the in-room card but overall was very reasonable. Dinner in the cellar should not be missed-romantic and private. Enjoyed the comfort and ease of the wine safari service. The drivers waited for us and gave good insight to local sights. While we don't usually go to the same place twice, we may make an exception for Cavas. Martin was charming and it was nice to have the proprietor acknowledge our visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimba d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, Ca
Level Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We just spent 4 wonderful days at Cavas. The experience was wonderful. The setting is magical and it's hard to find the words to aptly describe it. The views of the vineyard and the snow capped mountains were breathtaking. The breakfasts were well done and the attention to detail was perfect. We toured 2 or 3 wineries a day and were driven everywhere we needed to go. The staff was charming. The casita was an oasis and a great site for relaxing. Our dinner in the wine cellar was romantic and well done. The sommelier was enthusiastic; the desk staff was warm and friendly; the wait staff engaging and helpful. The drivers were great. We enjoyed our conversations with Martin as well. Being relatively fluent in Spanish made the trip easier perhaps but I'm not sure. We would definitely return.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank knitsforfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We are a couple in our late 50's, we spent four glorious days at Cavas. The Cavas lodge is fabulous and the accommodations exceeded our wildest imaginations. We enjoyed the evenings spent on our roof top terrace with a fire going and delectable wines, the fabulous decor of our room was off the chain. Our only complaint was that the plunge pool should have been heated. We are from the Caribbean so maybe it is that we are accustomed to warm water year round.

The food at Cavas was outstanding...Breakfast, European in flavor but it suited me fine (were do you wake up in the world sipping Champagne and Croissants and not worried of its expense)?
Lunch...wonderful! Salads that I could not conceive their combinations and the dinner choices were many including the famous Argentine BBQ's and meat worth sinking your teeth deep into.

The team at Cavas were amazing in organizing day and night trips for us. The moment we got of the plane (12 hr trip) we planned to go straight to the hotel but they had our day planned, we ended up at a lovely boutique winery and then on to another for a great 5 course lunch paired with wonderful wines.
We went into Mendoza one evening en route to another fantastic restaurant but were able to shop for a few hours prior as we were sent with Cavas' own "Wine Safari" driver. I preferred the shopping in Mendoza to Buenos Aires...interesting!

I cannot say enough about Cavas except that, if you are thinking about staying here for a few days...GO FOR IT!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulu147310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

We are a young British couple that stayed in Mendoza for three nights in March-14. Overall we had a great stay and this is an incredible hotel, but there were some issues with service which need to be addressed for a hotel of this price / quality.

Rooms

Having stayed in quite a few luxury hotels (inc other Relais & Chateaux) we both agreed that this was the nicest room we have ever been in. Every room is effectively a small apartment with: a lounge area inc cable TV; king size bed with fireplace; bathroom with both bath and shower; patio with plunge pool and outdoor shower; and finally a private roof terrace overlooking the vineyards with views of the Andes.

These rooms are incredibly nice and even people with the highest expectations will be impressed.

One small criticism is that the plunge pool was freezing cold and not usable, even though it was very hot during the day (by English standards!) - if they want this to be a year round hotel, they should consider heating the plunge pools.

Hotel facilities

The main building has a restaurant with both indoor & outdoor seating, wine cellar in the basement, a small outdoor pool (also unheated), small gym and spa.

The Spa was incredible (and my wife in particular used it a lot!) - a large enclosed areas with a couple of hot tubs, treatment areas, wine baths, etc. Very good treatments and reasonably priced as its quoted in Pesos (which have devalued massively recently, so cheap deals might not last long!).

The entire hotel is set in a vineyard which is a lovely touch. All of the Cavas wine is consumed on-site by the hotel itself, so it's the only place in the world where you can find it! We had a few bottles and they were fantastic.

Food

Our initial impression of the food after our first lunch was fantastic. However, we also had a few dishes which seriously under-impressed, including the worst starter we have ever had in a moderately nice restaurant (it was a starter that translated as "green salad" for US $20 which turned out to be literally a pile of lettuce with some olive oil dressing - my wife joked about rabbit food, but this was the laziest bit of cooking I have ever seen).

Service

Unfortunately the service was a bit of a mixed bag. As typical Brits we hate complaining but had a number of things which were below par for this standard of hotel such as:

- at one dinner, the sommelier brought the wrong vintage of wine, then when we challenged it she argued saying they were all the same anyway and charged us the same price despite the wine being two years younger (and this is the sommelier in a luxury wine lodge, saying that vintage of a wine is irrelevant!).

- we ordered our romantic dinner on the private balcony and they brought the wrong main course

- we asked for a number of things at reception such as items for our mini bar, changes to our itinerary and had lovely response of "yes definitely" but then nothing happened until we chased i.e. they didn't leave you with the sense that you could fully relax, confident that they would take care of everything

To their credit, once we brought issues to their attention (e.g. vintage of wine and green salad), they offered us a discount and assured us they were currently in the process of kitchen/staff changes, which might explain the odd menu/service during the time we were there.

Currency on deposit (IMPORTANT - PLEASE READ)

Finally, when we checked out we realised that they had made a mistake in their currency calculation which effectively added 10% to our total room bill! I work in finance and understood the mistake, but had to argue with the reception team who then had to call the founders, who were absolutely lovely once they realised what had happened (and admitted we were right after a period of explanation) but fundamentally realised their system automatically miscalculates their deposit value.

This applies to anyone who paid a deposit before the Argentinian peso had a massive devaluation (I think around Feb-14) but then stayed in the hotel after the devaluation.

It's a slightly confusing concept, but basically what they do is agree the price in US$ (say $2,000) and then take a deposit (say $500) and ask for the balance on checkout (in this case $1500). The problem is that when you get the bill, they convert everything to local currency for actual charging, and they use the FX rates at the time, so your original deposit of $500 goes onto the bill at an exchange rate which implies that it's only worth $300.... So when they ask you for the final amount they claim you only paid $300 and ask for $1,700, when in reality you paid $500 at the time, it just so happens that their currency has plummeted.

Hopefully they have corrected this in the accounts, but it was a major mistake and means there are probably hundreds of guests who have effectively been short changed through their calculation methodology.

Overall

It's hard to fault the rooms, building, location and quality of wine! All of which deserve more than five stars. However, the service and food both need to improve for this to compete with other hotels in the same price bracket. The founders seemed lovely and I am sure they will be able to do it, they just need to find the right staff (go and poach Juan Hom at Ojo de Agua the organic vineyard, he was the best restaurant manager / host we have seen in a long time!)

Would definitely recommend this hotel to others as hopefully these service issues can be resolved in the short term! Celia and her husband were great hosts and I am sure they will continue to go from strength to strength with Cavas.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Boyce_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverMendoza, Propietario at Cavas Wine Lodge, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for submitting a review on Trip Advisor praising our rooms layout and privacy, and the quality and prices of our spa treatments. We understand your comments about the fluctuating exchange rates in Argentina and the issues experienced in our restaurant, and we take them seriously into consideration to avoid recurring issues in the future. As you mention we are working on every detail to always provide the best service at Cavas. Staff changes can be a challenge and it is sometimes noticeable in a property like ours where we strive to offer only the finest. We hope you come back soon to experience the best of our hospitality, and be reassured that the issues experienced were one-off unfortunate events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We just got back from a short stay at Cavas. Just wanted to say it was one of the best holidays I ever had. From the arrival to the moment we left, everything was perfection. We really enjoyed our dinners on the rooftop that they kindly organised for us on two occasions (we truly recommend it) and Damian, took care of all our needs and is a great asset to the team. They also arranged all out tours, which included trekking, horseback riding, biking around the vineyards and lunch a restaurant in downtown Mendoza. What impressed us the most was the kind staff, the excellent food and the sincere wish to make your stay as amazing as possible. They even helped us when we forgot important documents in our room, and sent it to the airport immediately with a driver. Cecilia, the owner was always around and made sure everyone's stay is impecable and made us feel like we were home. We would truly recommend this little paradise in Argentina's wine country, it is an experience you will never forget! Thank you to cavas for making this an unforgettable moment in our life!

Room Tip: We recommend the 1 room villa, it has a private rooftop, sink pool and is just an amazing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuestXperienceMngr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Amazing Hotel, Wine paradise, but the service is not always the best since it is the first luxury hotel in the region. Be sure to ask recommendations from the amazing Martin and Cecilia (the owners) because sometimes, the staff can provide poor recommendations
Besides that, the rooms are beautiful, as is the place, The food is very good and the area is superb,
Try a massage at the spa, the masseuses are real pros!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eleonore w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lujan de Cuyo
5.9 mi away
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
#2 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
533 reviews
16.6 mi away
Park Hyatt Mendoza
Park Hyatt Mendoza
#7 of 84 in Mendoza
2,706 reviews
8.6 mi away
Casa Glebinias
Casa Glebinias
#1 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Lares de Chacras
Lares de Chacras
#2 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
711 reviews
16.5 mi away
Diplomatic Hotel
Diplomatic Hotel
#8 of 84 in Mendoza
2,171 reviews
9.0 mi away
Finca Adalgisa Wine Hotel, Vineyard & Winery
Finca Adalgisa Wine Hotel, Viney...
#3 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavas Wine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavas Wine Lodge

Property: Cavas Wine Lodge
Address: Costa Flores | Alto Agrelo, Lujan de Cuyo, Mendoza 5507, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza > Lujan de Cuyo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lujan de Cuyo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cavas Wine Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cavas Wine Lodge is located amid the snow-capped Andes Mountains and the fertile, green vineyards of Mendoza. It is the fist hotel in Mendoza dedicated to wine and all its secrets. Guests are drawn to the Cavas Wine Lodge for its privacy, tranquility and unmistakable romance. Guests are encouraged to indulge in wine, food, luxurious spa treatments and the surrounding natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cavas Wine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavas Wine Hotel Agrelo
Cavas Wine Mendoza
Cavas Wine Lodge Mendoza/Lujan De Cuyo, Argentina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing