We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place”
Review of Cavas Wine Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cavas Wine Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lujan de Cuyo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Can't say enough about what a divine experience staying at this hotel was. Everything about it lived up to its reputation. Our casita/villa was spacious and beautifully appointed. Our private pool was literally steps from the vineyards and the bathroom was huge and beautiful. We ate lunch and dinner there and were very happy with the service and food...worth every penny. Thank you Cecilia and Martin, we loved meeting you and staying at your beautiful place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csg479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (766)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 229 of 766 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

When a hotel has so much hype it is hard to live up to it. Cavas does. Location, rooms, staff, food, service and small, considerate amenities were all as advertised or better. The owners, Cecilia and Martin were hands on and it shows.
An example: the Tango Show prior to a sumptuous Asado offered wines, hors d"oeuvres, and a wonderful commentary by Cecilia that reflected her true enthusiasm and for such an exclusive site, a real value at $50/ person. Also, we had a great horseback ride/lunch/wine commentary with guide Ivan
We do hope the workout area will be improved in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The hotel staff welcomed us at the entrance with sparkling wine, it definitely got us into the Mendoza wine atmosphere. They offer a good service and try hard to meet the guests demands.

Breakfast was not amazing but good enough. Villas were nicely decorated, had a roof terrace that we didn't use cause there were many mosquitoes And a pool that needs some maintenance cause it was not in tip top condition.

We liked the hotel cause we got what we wanted, privacy, peace and quite. I can't give an excellent review cause as I mentioned before there are some things that could be improved but I would recommend it if I had to.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karyna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We traveled for three nights to the wine region of Mendoza staying at the fabulous Cavas Wine Lodge. Cecilla and Martin, the owners/hosts have done a remarkable job with bringing back the vineyards surrounding the hotel and designing a remarkable property. The accommodations were really extraordinary as was the service. No request too small and the staff was always "one step ahead" of any desire we might have or should have for them! The activities including; biking, horseback riding, wine tours and massage (both in room and in spa) were well done and lots of fun. The wine list is excellent and dinners were wonderful out on the patio. The portions are very generous,but you'll still want to try everything on the menu!

Room Tip: Every room lovely. For larger party or family, consider one of the two newer villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baymom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

We just spent 3 nights at Cavas and loved every minute of our stay! The weather was great, our accommodations superb and the welcome by the entire staff was excellent!
We had marvelous drivers who squired us around to fabulous wineries and took us to the Andes for a dramatically beautiful hike. We did the Tango show dinner which sounded hoaky, but was delightful under the Mendoza stars.
Everyone we encountered was eager to please and went out of their way to respond to every request - including refilling the complimentary (and yummy) brownies in our room!
The views were spectacular wherever we turned. It was a most memorable stay and we hope to return some day! Spectacular hospitality!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank JWRDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Cavas during a recent vacation, and it was a lovely hotel. In the interest of full disclosure, I did not utilize Cavas to facilitate my winery tours, and we didn't eat there other than breakfast or use the spa. So I'm really just judging the lodging itself, for the most part.

First, I will say that the location is great. I'm not sure about the people who complain about the remoteness of it - that's part of the charm. The views are outstanding, and it's right in the heart of all the wineries. I'm not sure why folks would rather stay in Mendoza proper, but if that's where you want to be, then Cavas isn't for you.

When we arrived, we were greeted warmly by the owners with a nice glass of wine (appropriate!) and shown to our room, which was one of the great Vineyard Villas. It was quite spacious for the two of us certainly - a separate living room and bedroom and two bathrooms. The rooms were decorated very cozily, and of course a nice bottle of wine was waiting upon your arrival. The bed was comfortable, and you more or less had everything you needed. The outdoor space was the highlight, though. The view of the Andes was spectacular. we had our own hot tub, plunge pool and a great rooftop terrace with some very nice seating.

All of the villas are set within a small vineyard, so you walk amongst the vines every time you go to your room. The spa is housed adjacent to the main building, and although we didn't use it, we did walk through, and it looked top notch. The restaurant area was small (more on that later), but looked fairly adequate for the size of the hotel. There was a nice terrace with room for a few tables that provided a great view of the mountains, and there was a small little amphitheater out back (I guess for group tastings or lectures, perhaps). Generally speaking, the setup was excellent.

As noted, the only meal we had at the hotel was breakfast. Like I said, the space was small, which I don't think would have been a problem, but there was a large travel group staying at the hotel at the same time. They insisted on (or perhaps had to) eat breakfast all at the same time, so there wasn't a lot of space, and the service didn't appear set to take care of so many at one time. Getting coffee, eggs, etc, was a bit of a chore. And when they did come, they weren't great. Not bad, but not what you'd hope at such a nice hotel. BUT - the highlight was the outdoor seating. What a fantastic view early in the morning! The mountains are just outstanding, and it's hard to look away.

We used other arrangements to book our winery tours, etc, and that was great. I did use Cavas to book a car to take us to dinner both nights. Know going in that it's expensive (basically $100 + tip), but typically the restaurants are far, and the driver literally waits for you while you eat, which can be many hours. The driver was very nice and polite (and pretty funny, actually). Although everyone recommends 1884 for dinner, I didn't get the hype. It was pretty good, but not the most amazing thing ever. The setting is great. I enjoyed our other dinner at Brindillas (do the tasting menu if you go) much better. Cavas will take you to either.

Oftentimes, boutique hotels like this are quirky, and this is no exception. The reason I gave it four stars rather than five is because of a bit of inconsistency. Overall, the service was great and very friendly. For instance, they surprised us by putting a nice bottle of champagne on ice up on our terrace so we could watch the sunset. But then they left our dirty dishes sitting on our front porch for a day and a half (they put them there - not us). They also didn't have the room fully stocked with bath linens when we checked in. And the plunge pool had obviously just been refilled when we arrived, because the water was ICE cold and unusable for the first day. (sounds petty… I know). And speaking of ice cold, there was no hot water for the shower the day we left. Again, none of these are major problems at all. Overall, it's a great place. But the fantastic hotels in the world are the ones that cover all their bases and think of even the smallest details. Cavas is just about there, but not quite.

That said, they've created a very nice oasis amidst the bodegas, and if you are interested in a nice home base for your wine trip, I can't imagine a better spot.

Room Tip: Vineyard Villa rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Cavas is by far the best place to stay in the Mendoza region, and the list of reasons is long. It’s actively managed and owned by a wonderful couple named Cecilia and Martin. They are completely connected in the region with the best restaurants, activities and wineries. Cecilia personally set our schedule for the 6 days, including the best wine tastings, a hike in the Andes, a horseback ride/tasting in the vineyards, lunches, dinners and closing with a dinner served on our rooftop terrace the last night. It could not have been more perfect, and my best advice is to put yourself in their hands, and accept their recommendations. They are totally connected, and when you say you are staying at Cavas, you get exceptional treatment everywhere. The rooms are very difficult to photograph, as they are all embedded in the vineyards, and the vines here are growing at around 8’ in height, so the scale in any pictures is way off from what you expect—the rooms are massive. Our room was just silent and we slept like babies. We were able to relax in our private pool outside without clothing if we chose, as the privacy level is so high. The massages were world class, and there are educational wine tastings in their cellar at 6:30 every day which are not to be missed. Their sommelier and staff are excellent. Whatever you do, DO NOT RENT A CAR, as they have a fleet of 5 vehicles for transportation and their drivers are excellent with helpful advice and relationships in the region. We used their services every day including three full days, two dinners off property, two half days and pick up and return at the airport, and the total costs were about $650 USD supplementary—a bargain! While you might see Cavas as initially expensive, it’s worth every dollar in terms of value received.

Room Tip: We stayed in a vineyard villa, which was just perfect for a couple travelling together staying longe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidMarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lujan de Cuyo
16.6 mi away
Park Hyatt Mendoza
Park Hyatt Mendoza
#8 of 84 in Mendoza
3,008 reviews
8.7 mi away
Casa Glebinias
Casa Glebinias
#1 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
845 reviews
5.9 mi away
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Lares de Chacras
Lares de Chacras
#2 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
768 reviews
16.5 mi away
Diplomatic Hotel
Diplomatic Hotel
#7 of 84 in Mendoza
2,371 reviews
16.8 mi away
InterContinental Mendoza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavas Wine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavas Wine Lodge

Address: Costa Flores | Alto Agrelo, Lujan de Cuyo, Mendoza 5507, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza > Lujan de Cuyo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lujan de Cuyo
Price Range: $842 - $1,089 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cavas Wine Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cavas Wine Lodge is located amid the snow-capped Andes Mountains and the fertile, green vineyards of Mendoza. It is the fist hotel in Mendoza dedicated to wine and all its secrets. Guests are drawn to the Cavas Wine Lodge for its privacy, tranquility and unmistakable romance. Guests are encouraged to indulge in wine, food, luxurious spa treatments and the surrounding natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Cavas Wine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavas Wine Hotel Agrelo
Cavas Wine Mendoza
Cavas Wine Lodge Mendoza/Lujan De Cuyo, Argentina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing