We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute world class!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cavas Wine Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cavas Wine Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lujan de Cuyo
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolute world class!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Visited Cavas in October together with my parents, and had an awsome stay.

While have been a Tripadvisor fan for years this is actually my first review, since feel just have to recommend this place as much as possible.

Having travelled extensively in both Europe, US and Asia will still say this experience was just remarkable. Top quality small bungalows, good food but more than anything the staff were all amazing. Nothing was too much and they showed constant interest for our comfort and went out of their way to ensure everything was perfect.

First night they prepared dinner on the roof terrace, in front of the fire place, and while it became chilly it was awsome under the stars and facing the Andes.

We borrowed bikes for free, and they arranged great day of winery visits for us. did not try the spa, but it looked nice!

World class, and only place to stay in Mendoza. Cheap compared to what you get!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasper M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    70
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
58
471
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We just got back from a fantastic stay at Cavas Wine Lodge for our honeymoon. They upgraded us to their top room from the villa we had booked, and it came with an outdoor pool, a hot tub, a huge roof terrace, along with a huge living room and master bedroom. It is ordinarily a two bedroom but no one was in the other bedroom.

Both Cecilia and Martin, the owners, are incredibly nice and made an effort to meet us, and Carolina, the sommelier, was so generous with her time and did a complimentary wine tasting for us, along with checking in to make sure our stay was perfect. To top it off, the resort gave us a complimentary wine bath and sent up a bottle of champagne to our roof terrace for us to enjoy the sunset. They made every effort to make our honeymoon special. The food was terrific, the views amazing, and the rooms are gorgeous.

We highly recommend this resort, this is actually the first review I've written on this website, but I really wanted to give credit where credit is due- thanks to everyone at Cavas for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daphna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Yes the lodges are luxurious, yes the view is gorgeous, yes the food at the restaurant is delicious, yes the spa is great, etc etc etc. But what makes Cavas stand out from other top-end resorts is the hospitality of the staff. They create bespoke itineraries to fulfil your needs on the trip, they bend over backwards to make sure everything is perfect for you, they cater to every request, and are truly the stars of the show. Highly recommend Cavas for a special trip and cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polkadots61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Close friends and we spent two wonderful nights here. It is the best! The first night we had a full dinner (try the lamb!), and the second we merely had tapas by the fire pit -- everything was great! The spa is great and the activities (we did horseback riding) are first rate. This is the perfect getaway.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wpbkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

This place was absolutely magical. We stayed in a vineyard villa that was gorgeous inside and out. Everything was so well done and beautiful. The villas are new and outstanding and CLEAN. The details and design were impeccable. In our living room we had shelves with interesting books on them and an old typewriter. There were two fire places--one in the living room and one upstairs on the terrace (outdoors). There were 3 bathrooms in the villa (and two of us) and the amenities were amazing. A double shower out looking to the mountains and vineyard. Not to mention we had our own small pool and "hot tub" outside.

All you have to do is call and they come right to your room to light the fire--or anything else you might need! They treated us to a bottle of wine and fresh flowers upon checking in and a complimentary couples spa treatment. They also surprised us with champagne and a fire on the terrace above our villa when we came back from a day hiking in the Andes. Also, it was chilly when we went and when we came home at night the bed was turned down and we had hot water bottles at the foot of each side. Talk about service!

We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was amazing. Breakfast is delicious too. It's never busy, always feels relaxed and is just quality food. And of course, wine too! They of course serve wine from their vineyard which is also stupendous.

The staff is all so nice and accommodating--it felt so cozy and unique. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a luxurious yet relaxed time away. I mean I couldn't have wanted for anything more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had 5 days at the Cavas Wine Lodge during our recent honeymoon. We didn't want to leave at the end of our stay. The accommodation was superb, with outdoor jacuzzi, plunge pool and roof terrace (with wood-burner for nighttime star gazing). All of the rooms are literally surrounded by the vineyard, with numerous Chimangos (like falcons) and owls swooping around outside. The location is AMAZING with uninterrupted views of the Andes, with stunning sunrises and sunsets. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the owners made a real effort to get to know us during our stay. We attended a fantastic evening of tango demonstration, as well as wine tasting evening featuring a local winery. The spa was hugely popular so book ahead. A highlight was horse riding around the vineyards with a couple of gauchos. The food was very good, although the menu could have varied a little more from day to day. Overall, full marks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Civnamtra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I expected a lot more, room was dark and dusty, staff a bit scattered, spa not very special and not kept up really well. The staff was very accommodating and friendly but lacked training, they always seemed a little confused.
The wine trips were average and the wine presented at tastings were young and unimpressive.
Very expensive stay, not worth the money

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lailak2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lujan de Cuyo
5.9 mi away
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
#2 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
8.7 mi away
Casa Glebinias
Casa Glebinias
#1 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
16.8 mi away
Park Hyatt Mendoza
Park Hyatt Mendoza
#8 of 83 in Mendoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Lares de Chacras
Lares de Chacras
#2 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
9.6 mi away
Posada El Encuentro
Posada El Encuentro
#4 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
16.5 mi away
Diplomatic Hotel
Diplomatic Hotel
#7 of 83 in Mendoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavas Wine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavas Wine Lodge

Property: Cavas Wine Lodge
Address: Costa Flores | Alto Agrelo, Lujan de Cuyo, Mendoza 5507, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza > Lujan de Cuyo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lujan de Cuyo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cavas Wine Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cavas Wine Lodge is located amid the snow-capped Andes Mountains and the fertile, green vineyards of Mendoza. It is the fist hotel in Mendoza dedicated to wine and all its secrets. Guests are drawn to the Cavas Wine Lodge for its privacy, tranquility and unmistakable romance. Guests are encouraged to indulge in wine, food, luxurious spa treatments and the surrounding natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cavas Wine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavas Wine Hotel Agrelo
Cavas Wine Mendoza
Cavas Wine Lodge Mendoza/Lujan De Cuyo, Argentina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing