We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“self catering” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marine

The Marine
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glandore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Marine
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glandore
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
“self catering”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed in Marine Apartments 22nd July excellent accommodation, stayed in a 3 bedroom apt we had a room each, these apts are fantastic better than any hotel cant praise them enough even had a hairdryer in one of the bedrooms although i brought my own in case it was not supplied, we had a very relaxing break ,only disappointing thing was we did not have any irish channels on tv

looking forward to our next break in The Marine apartments

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    7
    7
    12
    6
See reviews for
23
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed at a last minute at the Marine and had to take the room offered but would not return. I think our room must have been an unused staff room as it was dark dingy and uncomfortable with a bed that had springs you could feel and a shower that was a squeeze to even turn around in. To be fair it looked nothing like any of the pictures on TA. The plus side was the really friendly local waitress who served us breakfast who was the highlight of our stay. Another tip would be that it is an ideal location to stay if eating at the Glandore Inn just up the road which was brilliant.

Room Tip: If you stay check what room you are allocated and go for dinner at Glandore Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MG_Eclipse_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glandore hotels

Nenagh, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here at the end of May for 2 nights for a wedding in The Rectory. Stayed in a 3 bedroom self catering apartment. It had everything that we need. We couldn't fault the place. It was nicely located. It is very easy walking distance of The Rectory, for a wedding, and The Glandore Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Excellent self catering accommodation right on the waters edge. We spent a week in the two bed accommodation on a visit from the UK. All on the same level which was perfect for my elderly mother. Very spacious , well furnished, comfortable and clean rooms.
The manager Declan was brilliant. always thoughtful, helpful and friendly.
Lovely location. Great service. Well worth the visit

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueshrew54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

20 of my family stayed here for a family wedding, we had travelled from the uk. We all had a fabulous time, the management, staff, service and food were amazing. Everyone made us more than welcome. the self catering houses were spotless. I would highly recommend this family run hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dcasey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed in one of the '4 star' apartments in the complex for a wedding. On checking in we were told there would be no breakfast the morning of the wedding, a minor inconvenience but on opening the door of the apartment the cold hit us! We turned all the heaters on and 4 hours later the place was still freezing. The fire was not working so we told the staff and we were told it was too late in the evening to get it fixed. The beds were freezing and damp. The bathrooms were wheelchair accessible which was fine, but they didn't drain properly and so the next day the shower water was still sitting on the tiles. The towels were dirty. There was a large glass panel on the front door , which opening onto the public area outside and the blind was missing so there was no privacy. The boiler made noise all night, in-fact it seemed to make noise every time anyone in the complex turned on a tap. We were treated to the noise of the upstairs neighbours for our entire stay (it wasn't their fault they weren't that noisy) we could hear them every time they moved. Overall a very unpleasant experience. We left after two nights rather than staying the three we had booked. However, when we did complain we were refunded some of the cost of the stay and the staff member who we complained to about the fire was very helpful at the time, however the fire was never fixed and nothing more was said about it. I would not recommend it, certainly not in the winter anyway.

Room Tip: My family stayed in the three bed lodge and they were not as cold, but were dirty and the hot water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Read some of these reviews after booking accommodation for a weekend. I am glad I had not read them before as I would not have booked. We had a three bedroom appartment and everything was of the best quality and wll planned. It looks as if most of the reviews refer to the hotel accommodation and not the self catering. I would recommend the appartments to anyone. I do not know what the smaller ones are like, but it is worth paying for the three bedroom, even for a couple. The balcony looked out over the pier and the beauiful scenery of Glandore can hold its own with anywhere in the world. The only down side was tht, becasue there were no guests in the hotel, breakfast was not available so check this and bring something with you. Tea, coffee sugar and milk are provided.

Room Tip: If possible go for one of the appartments which look over the pier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glandore
11.4 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
10.3 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
11.8 mi away
Casey's of Baltimore, Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Celtic Ross Hotel
Celtic Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosscarbery
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
6.4 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
10.4 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine

Property: The Marine
Address: The Pier, Glandore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Glandore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glandore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine is a family-run business complex which comprises of a Bar, Restaurant, 18 Self-Catering 2 & 3 bedroom holiday home houses and 11 individual en-suite Hotel Style Bedrooms ideally located in the picturesque coastal village of Glandore, West Cork, Ireland. The area of Glandore is considered one of Ireland's most beautiful sea inlets and is a much sought after holiday home destination to several well-known personalities & executives. The Apart-Hotel style complex consists of 5 Self-Catering 2 Bed Houses and 13 Self-Catering 3 Bed Houses that both sleep up to 5 guests. The bar is light and airy with unique circular features such as the bar counter itself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Marine Hotel Glandore
Marine Hotel Glandore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing