We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Smiddy Haugh Hotel

Smiddy Haugh Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Smiddy Haugh Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Aberuthven B&B and Inns
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Friendly dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Ate here recently and can thoroughly recommend. The mussels were a good portion with a lovely creamy broth and chunks of bread. The venison was delicious. Staff are very friendly and the bar is dog friendly. my husband loved the real ale.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank towniegirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
20
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Great small pub/hotel, very friendly owners, and locals, and dogs. Stayed overnight on way back from the Highlands. Had a room at the back overlooking nice beer garden. Room was clean, twin beds comfortable, bathroom spotless. Will certainly stay again when in the area. Only small complain was there is only a limited evening menu, but that did not spoil our stay. Breakfast was spot on.

Room Tip: Room 4 overlooking the beer garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandaenterprises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

My friend and I stayed the last 2 nights of our week long tour of Scotland. The hotel was the least appealing of those we stayed in but it was also the cheapest. The decor is tired as is the bedroom furniture but the bedding was clean and so was the en suite bathroom. The welcome on arrival was friendly and the food in the restaurant was as good as you'd find in most city restaurants, in fact better than in some I can think of. Overall, good value for money and so long as you don't mind the lack of luxury touches (and hairdrier) then this is a very good option and to be recommended. Not for those who don't like animals though as the owners have 3 beautfiul dogs who like to lie around the stairs and be fussed over. A plus in my book!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
135 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stopped in for a evening meal while staying at another hotel locally and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. A really friendly welcome and some good food in the bar while enjoying the local banter made a very pleasant evening for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kincorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed one night whilst on a short break in Scotland. The small hotel is run by a friendly couple who were most welcoming. We were fortunate enough to get the last room which was our good fortune. We were offered an evening meal which was absolutely first class and certainly would not break the bank. Breakfast again was excellent and set us up for the day. Will certainly be back but will book in advance next time, would hate to arrive to arrive and be turned away. Having said that this friendly hostelry deserves to be full every night. Thanks again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland ,UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

Have stayed here a couple of times whilst working in the area. Top notch small hotel ,welcoming staff ,extremely clean and comfortable rooms. Menu is excellent ,great choice and reasonable prices ,really good breakfasts . Both times we stayed mid week and the restaurant and bar were both brimming with locals and tourists alike - says it all really ! Well stocked bar with friendly staff and a crackin' pint ! Couldn't recommend the Smiddy Haugh highly enough to other travellers. Will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hothaggus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris f, Owner at Smiddy Haugh Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments which are very much appreciated and look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

No wonder this restaurant is so popular with locals...the food is well prepared, the service is excellent and the whole experience provides the best possible value for money. Simply good food in excellent surroundings and you cannot do better than this

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank borden25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberuthven
4.3 mi away
Duchally Country Estate
Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cairn Lodge Hotel
Cairn Lodge Hotel
#3 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
8.5 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
2.4 mi away
Allandale House
Allandale House
#1 of 12 in Auchterarder
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
4.5 mi away
Gleneagles
Gleneagles
#1 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiddy Haugh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiddy Haugh Hotel

Property: Smiddy Haugh Hotel
Address: Main Road, Aberuthven, Auchterarder PH3 1HE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Auchterarder > Aberuthven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Aberuthven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Smiddy Haugh Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smiddy Haugh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing