We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza and pasta”
Review of Il Sapore Italiano

Il Sapore Italiano
Ranked #28 of 86 Restaurants in Tequisquiapan
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Italian, International, Wine Bar, Soups
Description: We are the first italian food restaurant stablished in Tequisquiapan. From 2000 we are still the best restaurant, offering alwats quality, taste and warmth. It is genuine ,hand made food prepared at the moment. It's like your mouth taking a trip to Italy.
Restaurant details
Description: We are the first italian food restaurant stablished in Tequisquiapan. From 2000 we are still the best restaurant, offering alwats quality, taste and warmth. It is genuine ,hand made food prepared at the moment. It's like your mouth taking a trip to Italy.
Reviewed October 16, 2016 via mobile

A nice surprise for informal dinner, pizzas were great, thin crust made at the moment. Pastas were also very nice.
Good price value and service with real italian savour.

Thank MEM22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurizio O, Propietario at Il Sapore Italiano, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2016
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su opinion. Es de gran valor para nosotros recibir estos agradables comentarios.
Los esperamos pronto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 58 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2016

Well... this food hasn´t to do anything with real italian food, neither with homemade food. My friend and I just ate Pasta, she with tomato sauce and me with creamy salmon sauce and a "homemade tiramisu". Her Pasta was with a transparent tomato sauce, probably out of instant powder or a jar. I mean it neither wasn´t tomato puree because of the flavor, consistency and appearance with (very) cheap and low quality sausage :D well my creamy sauce... I rather now if there was any cream in there at least the flavor and appearance was like instant powder with dried herbs. 2 hours later I still had a very strong Garlic-Granulate-powder in my mouth. The point is I know how to cook and have been eating a lot of Italian food but that was the taste of a school cafeteria. And it´s really not so difficult to do a sauce out of tomato puree, onions, garlic and basil OR onions, garlic, parmesan cheese, herbs and white whine ^^ Even though the cook claimed he was from Venice^^ I also have been in Italy and never had such a bad sauce. I was asking if the Tiramisu was homemade, the service answered yes; but it was made of instant pudding with some cookies. And I also know how to do Tiramisu^^ Even though there isn´t any mascapone available they could do it with cream, vanilla beans and gelantine. The service was quiet nice, the atmosphere ok as well; and the Pasta "al dente".

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank CorazonDelMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reservaciones I, Propietario at Il Sapore Italiano, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2016

Ofcourse I remember you! germans right? your good effort spanish was difficult to understand and it was a misunderstandig with the waiter who thought that you just asked about if the Amatriciana sauce was spicy or not but you were really ordering it and it came really late... and personaly I think this is the reason of your opinion. It is a shame that you base our quality and prestige in a problem with a language barrier. For us is imposible to use instant powder, cream, tomatos, and all the instant stuff you supposed we used to cook, first of all because those things are impossible to purchase in Mexico, they just don't exist here! But the most important thing is that we've been hardly working for 16 years and the success of our plates is precisely that everything is natural and homemade as you can see in the next opinions. The very strong garlic flavor was caused by fine chopped garlic, not granulate powder. For someone who knows how to cook making a tiramisu with vanilla and gelatine is unthinkable, our tiramisu is a true homemade one using authentic mascarpone. Finallly I remember myself, and my husband the italian chef, going to your table and apologized for the inconvenience of the delay, and asking if everything was fine and your answer was always YES! And sorry, but for someone who didn't like the dinner, asking also for dessert and leaving the dishes almost clean is a little bit incongruous, don't you think? Once again, my apologies for the delay of your pasta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2016

Don't expect luxury, but the food is fine, the portions are good and the chef goes to your table to ask if eveything is right, Maybe a little expensive.

Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria C, Propietario at Il Sapore Italiano, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2016

Thanks, for your kind opinions! We expect you to come soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2015

The pasta was excellent and the pizza also with an incredible dough. The owner (?) and chef visited the tables; service was good. The only problem with this restaurant is their location. It feels cold and not "Italian" enough: tablecloths in black and orange ? It fails in the atmosphere. We hope they can relocate in a smaller, cozier restaurant where the food can be the main topic. And pay attention to the details since the food is very good!!!

Thank aga57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria C, Propietario at Il Sapore Italiano, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2015

Thank you very much for your useful opinions. We will work on them so the next time that you visit us, you feel much better and enjoy our fantastic food as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2015 via mobile

Food: typical italian. Maurizio and his staff know how to make a perfect 'primo' like pasta or spaghetti, and also very tasteful 'secondi' with meat or fish. Don't forget to ask for their amazing pizza!
Staff: really professional. Maurizio, Gloria and all the staff are always nice and give you the best advice.
Cleaning: very good.
Quality/Price: excellent.

2  Thank Gibaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reservaciones I, Propietario at Il Sapore Italiano, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2016

Thank you very much! It is always a pleasure. Hope to see you soon again. We'll be very glad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Sapore Italiano also viewed

Tequisquiapan, Queretaro
Tequisquiapan, Queretaro
 
Tequisquiapan, Queretaro
Tequisquiapan, Queretaro
 
Tequisquiapan, Queretaro
Tequisquiapan, Queretaro
 

Been to Il Sapore Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing