We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Ur Hegian(Ainhoa)(Great Value!)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ARGI-EDER(Ainhoa)
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Rural Malkornea(Urdazubi-Urdax)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveler rating
71
21
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
21
2
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 94 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2014

Histoic building beautifully restored with lovely views across a quiet valley. Our room had every comfort and was full of character. We couldn't find anywhere in the village to eat in the evening so we ate from the 'casse croute' menu of the hotel, which was small dishes with lots of local flavour and served with great courtesyon the terrace.
The area is very unspoilt with lots of potential for walkers and cyclists.

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

One of the most beautiful, tranquil places we have stayed... You don't find many places so lovingly restored where even the nails in the old beams are handmade from wood, where the gentle owners are so warm and welcoming and so happy to share their local knowledge with you, where you wake up to the smell of fresh baking and have a gourmet breakfast on the terrace with stunning views in their lush garden. The whole place is beautiful. We turned up on bikes and were quickly offered their bike garage and the use of all its tools, and the owner was delighted to tell us about various routes we could take around the stunning Iraty forest area. Indeed, you don't get a hug and kiss from many hotel owners as you leave!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MichelleLindebringh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

stayed there for one night on 18 July 2013 and the only thing to say was it was far too short, the place is really beautiful and very comfortable and the owners are really very nice and welcoming . How they have renovated this house is really splendid and you really feel bad your Spanish is so poor you can't really communicate with them as much as you would like.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KikiMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed one night in this beautiful hotel. We were charmed by this hotel and found its owners Jose Miguel and Mila very helpful. The room was clean and comfortable and although there was no air conditioning, there was a huge fan. Great shower with loads of hot water and they even provided ear plugs which can't have been for local noise as there was none but for your partners snoring! No restaurant although we were offered tapas and a continental breakfast in the morning. This hotel would be great for nature lovers as its in the midst of the Atlantic Pyrenees with beautiful valleys, mountain passes, caves etc and home to a abundance of wild life.

Although no restaurant at the hotel if you take a ten minute walk to the little village, following the river, over the bridge there were three to choose from. We eat in Niko Laurenea Erretegia which was excellent. Take your Spanish dictionary as english is limited but its well worth the effort.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Wouldn't want to hail this place too much - the tourist masses would most certainly ruin the Urdax atmosphere. The place in unique. The hotel, Urdax village and the Xareta region are something truly special. In Urdax you really feel like you've travelled back in time.

The building of Hostal Rural Irigoienea is very old, it is built in 1786, which is three years before the French revolution! Hotel is exceptionally clean and well managed, Breakfest is superb and you should also taste the house tapas especially local cheeses and wines. You can also find a few restaurant in Urdax village center about 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The village is very small, old and beautiful.

José Miquel, the owner, treated us as friends. We don't practically know any Spanish (and he doesn't speak many words of English), but he was very patient and talented in explaining various things to us mixing French, Spanish, English and body language. When we came to the hotel, he gave us an extensive presentation of the whole region and the hotel. By his humble and modest nature José Miguel made a great impression on us. It was a shame we couldn't thank him enough and tell him how much we enjoyed the place due to our poor language skills.

We recommend trekking or mountain biking to Zugarramurdi and other villages nearby. There is a well marked, not too demanding trail connecting the four villages of the region, of which two are in Spain and two in France. The trail is around 36 kilometers long, but you don't have to do the whole journey at once. There are interesting caves to see in villages.

The room was very beautiful and well decorated. Only minus was that our upstairs room was quite hot during the night in July.

The place was so lovely and peaceful that we really didn't want to leave. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sammy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews