We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Gem in the area of Valencia”
Review of Hotel Montsant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Montsant
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Xativa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We went for lunch in our last trip to Valencia-Xativa. This is our favorite place in the area. The atmosphere is calm and the views are fantastic. Good service and food. We had our weeding ceremony and reception here last year. We wanted somewhere special, with character, amazing Spanish food and out doors ceremony. Well... we go it all!!! It's one year now and we still getting great comments from our friends and family! Every time we go back to the area, we always visit the Mont-Sant and try Inyaki's amazing food :) A heading GEM. We wish we could live there :)

Room Tip: All rooms are to a very good standard and all of them have wonderful views. Maybe good to ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 185 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

This hotel was a big disappointment. We had a superior cabin room in the grounds which was quite nice but nothing special. When the people were in the next room we could hear what they were saying.

Most people going to Xátiva are interested in visiting the castle and the old town. There were no leaflets in the room about either. When asking for information at reception, the helpful receptionist eventually found one small leaflet on the old town. As it was the only copy she made a photocopy for us.

We had their gastronomic menu which was very expensive for not a lot of food. The service was very good. The food was well cooked and well presented but we don´t think they had heard of carbohydrates. The fish course was fish and a tiny dribble of something, we know not what, and we found it hard to eat just fish on its own. The meat course was slow roasted pork which was delicious but not a huge portion. It was served with one slice of courgette, one small slice of onion and one piece of asparagus. The restaurant was cold and atmosphere less. Some gentle music in the background would have helped so we didn´t have to hear the conversation of the other diners.

There was a good choice of food for the continental breakfast but it was very expensive at 14 euros. You could order eggs and bacon. The fried eggs were crispy and over cooked. Not to be recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alicanteoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I have stayed here many times for business and have always found it to be a great place to stay.
The food is excellent and the rooms are spacious.
As for the views - magnificent.
Try to get a room in the main building and not the newer annex.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanL789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and were delighted with our selection. We had a renovated room in the main building of the hotel which was very comfortable. We had a lovely lunch al fresco washed down with a very acceptable local white (!) wine recommended by the waitress. The grounds are pretty with some spectacular views and plenty of spots to sit and rest in the shade. The guided tour of the cistern ( underground caverns for the collection of water dating back ( I think) to the 12 century was a bonus.
Our train trip to Valencia from here was easy and amazingly cheap compared to UK .
I highly recommend this as a great place to stay especially if you are looking for something a little different.
For those looking for a characterless chain hotel go elsewhere leave gems like this hotel to those of us who appreciate them.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank emtee54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel is set in a fantastic place, half way up the hill to the castle. With views all around it. Beautiful grounds with seats placed to enjoy the peace and views. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. It was like staying with friends who made you feel at home. The attention to detail in the hotel was amazing ,an old building with a very modern touch inside. Breakfast was good with lots of choice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dollylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Lovely location for a 7 day visit, at the time we visited the hotel was undergoing renovations, during the renovations they made a significant archeological discovery this meant that there were students and archeologist by the hundreds visiting, the hotel has not found its direction and needs to focus on its priorities..if targeting tourist the hotel needs to do much more to support and guide the tourist. Map of the area was given w all the restaurant locations that was it no other info given...the lift, pool and gym was not working whilst we visited. and has been out of use for some time...Hotel does not cater for English speaking tourist.. No English speaking TV etc...no music

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank PaulinaPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed here late Aug 2012 for one night as part of a 3 week road trip to Spain. Our Sat Nav (Tom Tom) wouldn't recognise the address so we set it for the street below by looking on Google maps and found it from there. There is good secure parking. The road up to the hotel is quite long and steep so if walking down into the town be aware of the walk back if you have any health problems. Trying to find a taxi to bring you back could, as we found, be impossible.

We never ate here so can't comment on the food. The decision to go eat down in the town rather than at the hotel was made after we ordered some drinks shortly after our arrival - we were hot and thirsty after the long drive to get here. The hotel receptionist was also the barman and it took him an age to bring our drinks out as he was fiddling on his computer and seemed to be too busy to attend the guests. We had to go and ask him twice if he'd forgotten, so based on that level of service we decided to eat elsewhere. It has to be said that when we arrived there was a girl on reception and she was very helpful, but she'd gone off duty when we got back to the bar.

Although from first impressions the hotel looks beautiful - and it is, with the original building having once been an old monastery - the "cabin" we had looked more like a cupboard when we finally reached it, (the girl on reception at that time was lovely and helped us up with our bags) it was very uninviting from the outside. It did have air con however, and was better inside than out although it was a bit jaded and needed a spruce up. Getting hot water to come out of the shower or taps was a bit hit and miss - sometimes we had it, others we didn't. Both hot and cold water smelled strongly of chlorine and we stunk of it too after after our shower.

Xativa is an unremarkable little town but quite lively with it's little bars and restaurants, one night here was enough though.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deltic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xativa
0.2 mi away
La Maga Rooms
La Maga Rooms
#2 of 3 in Xativa
133 reviews
18.3 mi away
Hotel La Gastrocasa - Adults Only
15.9 mi away
Hotel Portal del Caroig
Hotel Portal del Caroig
#1 of 1 in Enguera
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Hotel Kazar
Hotel Kazar
#1 of 1 in Ontinyent
67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa del Cigroner Xativa
0.2 mi away
Casa Aldomar
Casa Aldomar
#1 of 6 in Xativa
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montsant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montsant

Address: Carretera Castillo s/n | Subida al Castillo de Xativa, s/n, 46800 Xativa, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Xativa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Xativa
Price Range: $116 - $1,161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montsant 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Montsant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing