We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an absolute gem”
Review of Casa Aldomar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Aldomar
Ranked #1 of 6 Xativa B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 6, 2010

My two friends and I were bowled over to find this perfect little inn in a town not known for its tourism. In fact the two days we had scheduled for Valencia fell by the wayside as we discovered Xativa and its hidden charms. This probably would never have happened had not Casa Aldomar and its proprietors charmed us so. 3 weeks and 6 hotels in Spain this year, and Casa Aldomar would get our prize for Best Breakfast, Best Bathrooms and most stylish small inn. Their renovation of a very old home in the historic part of Xativa (3 doors from the birthplace of the two Borgia popes) is impeccable - modern style and comforts but retaining all the charm of the original with wonderful location materials.
Thanks to the innkeepers we discovered some wonderful old churches up trails into the mountains, the old castle at the very top of that mountain, and some excellent local restaurants that present some of the best values in Spain. And don't miss the antique shop on the same square as the inn.
We would highly recommend anyone going to this part of Spain to not miss Casa Aldomar.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CalProv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 101 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2010

My partner and I stayed 2 nights and also explored the town. Not only have we found one of our favorite bed and breakfasts ever but we also found our favorite restaurant in spain...so far. Charming, romantic and how the house was made over was just breathtaking. We got a little history story of the what the house use to be long ago and just fell in love with it. We are planning our trip back there this year and can't wait to see the new addition!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carmona_lena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

Superbly renovated, charming host, in a small street in the heart of the old quarter. A good place to stay. Great breakfast too (freshly squeezed orange juice....)

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millevins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at Casa Aldomar. The location is great and it's in a quiet part of town. We walked everywhere including to the castle. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately it was raining so we didn't get to enjoy the patio. The breakfast was simple but good; the fresh squeezed orange juice was delightful. There were also several great books to look at while lounging around the restored house. We would really recommend the walk up to the castle. The views are amazing and it's not too difficult if you're in reasonable shape. We try not to stay in regular hotels so this place was a great find. Make sure you email the owners because currently you can't make a reservation online. It's worth the extra effort though.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickdharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2008

We were delighted to have discovered this charming hotel/b&b so close to the historic centre of xativa. It has been thoughtfully designed and the recent complete renovation complements the charm of the original building. We will be back!

Stayed: October 2008
Thank JonathanMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2008

It's not often that I am moved to write a review of a B&B, but this place is great!!!

Casa Aldomar has been wonderfully renovated with great respect for it's origins. It's got character, it's comfortable and it has the most wonderful terrace where you can escape for an hour and take in the sun.

Breakfast was great, with real proper coffee - enough of a reason for me to return!! The whole stay was totally relaxing, obviously helped by the glorious Spanish sunshine.

It's only 40 minutes to Valencia itself so you can easily use Casa Aldomar as a base for travelling around the region.

This is not an anonymous hotel with faceless staff, the owner is relaxed and welcomes his guests.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fitz67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2008

Despite two unusually rainy days in Xativa, we spent a wonderful night at hotel Aldomar, a dry enclave from the river cascading down the street outside. Xativa is beautiful and a real gem easily accessible from Valencia, and acts as a wonderful get away from the bigger city by the coast. The hotel was extremely stylish but relaxing, with a terrace for enjoying the suns rays (for next time!) and an inside living space to chill out. The rooms are all very comfortable and a great place for either couples or friends. It is located in the heart of the old town so everything is easily walkable. Finally the breakfast is delicious and the host very helpful and knowledgeable..we will be back!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank aussiechicaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xativa hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montsant
Hotel Montsant
#1 of 3 in Xativa
194 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Maga Rooms
La Maga Rooms
#2 of 3 in Xativa
135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellver Bedrooms
Bellver Bedrooms
#4 of 6 in Xativa
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel del Arbol
Hotel del Arbol
#2 of 3 in Xativa
3 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa del Cigroner Xativa
0.3 mi away
Murta Hotel
Murta Hotel
#3 of 3 in Xativa
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Aldomar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Aldomar

Address: Calle Bosch 11, 46800 Xativa, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Xativa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Xativa
Price Range: $73 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Aldomar offers you a distinct experience, a newly restored 18th century house in the heart of the old quarter of Xativa, 50 metres from the birthplace of Rodrigo Borgia (Pope Alexander VI) and the Royal Fountain of Aldomar. Our house gives you the feel of a boutique hotel with the attention to detail of a guesthouse. Our four en-suite rooms are heated and airconditioned. We speak English, Spanish, French and Portuguese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Aldomar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing