We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Celyn Villa Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Carmel B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Best B&B I've ever stayed in .... Made a nice change from my usual Prem##r Inn box!
Very friendly, but not over-attentive; very clean and well-equipped room - I slept very well.
My somewhat unusual breakfast requirement (porridge oats with cold milk) was eagerly catered for too!
I just wish I'd remembered to book an evening meal as it seems I missed out on a gem.

Room Tip: State your height when booking, as some rooms have low doorways!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stew_Clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamNorthWales, Owner at Celyn Villa Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Ha yes the low doorways can be a problem but luckily the rooms all have high ceilings - just remember to 'duck' as go into the rooms. Must admit the raw porridge was a first in 10 years but we seem to learn something new everyday. Hope to see you again if you are back this way for business or pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
68
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

I stayed here for one night on a fleeting visit to see a friend in the area . I found Celyn Villa to be clean and comfortable and had a great nights sleep ... Only wish I could've stayed longer in bed as the bed was very comfy ! Had lovely homemade marmalade for breakfast and found the owners welcoming and helpful .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamNorthWales, Owner at Celyn Villa Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
It was our pleasure meeting you and so glad you enjoyed your stay and catching up with your friend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed here for one night in September, the hosts and food were fantastic, it was so lovely to arrive after a long days travelling to be offered tea and the most amazing chocolate cake. We had a lovely evening meal as well. The room was large and spacious, with a very comfy bed. There were fab tea and coffee making facilities including hot chocolate and extra biscuits. We were disappointed to leave and hope to return soon

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leannejayne2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamNorthWales, Owner at Celyn Villa Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay, the cake and the evening meal. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

we stayed two night while visiting my Dad in a home nearby ,we found Celyn Villa very clean and a very friendly place to stay with excellent food and ambience.Well located in a lovely area.whatever you do leave plenty of room for the enormous breakfast ,we also had an evening meal which was equally as good,and Paulines home made bread jams and marmalade are very good too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamNorthWales, Owner at Celyn Villa Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and many thanks for taking the time to give us such a positive review. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are visiting your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have just finished our third stay at Celyn Villa and we will certainly stay again. The accommodation is charming, the food is superb and the hosts, Paulene and Les are most welcoming. They are warm, humorous and go out of their way to make sure that you have a really good time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoff r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamNorthWales, Owner at Celyn Villa Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you again for you lovely review, it was great to see you both again and we always welcome such positive feedback. Look forward to seeing you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

What a lovely place to stay! Paulene and Les are so friendly and accommodating. We have stayed 3 times now and will continue to stay at Celyn villa whenever we visit our elderly relative, who lives in a care home nearby. They are great with my toddler who first visited as a baby and he adores them! Its lovely to be able to put him to bed then relax in the living room downstairs, knowing he is safe - It's like being at home. Breakfast (and dinner on request) is delicious - you must try the blueberry muffins! My little boy also loves his little portions of "scrambly egg!" Each of the bedrooms we have stayed in are so comfortable and have everything we need - We always sleep so well and views from the bedrooms are stunning! This is a very special b&b and we will definitely return many more times.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SianM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamNorthWales, Owner at Celyn Villa Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Its always a pleasure having such lovely guests return to stay with us, its part of the reason we love running a B&B. Guests become friends and friends are always welcome. Hope to see you again soon and thank you so much for the lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights recently & would like to compliment Paulene & Les (the owners) on their attention to detail and their friendly approach to their guests. The room was clean, bright & comfortable. The breakfast was probably the best I have ever had, the homemade bread was to die for & the eggs were so tasty! Paulene & Les are perfect hosts and very informative, my 7 year old & myself particularly enjoyed the fasinating conversation with Paulene about the history of their lovely house. We shall return, if only so my son can do some more ghost hunting !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lellyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamNorthWales, Owner at Celyn Villa Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Wow, this is our 100th review and we are so grateful for the kind words. It is such a bonus for us to know that you enjoyed staying with us in our home, and our pleasure to welcome you. I will get some more ghost stories ready for next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
3.8 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
9.7 mi away
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
10.0 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Beaufort Park Hotel
6.7 mi away
Plas Ifan
Plas Ifan
#1 of 3 in Prestatyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
5.9 mi away
Mountain Park Hotel
Mountain Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flint
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celyn Villa Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celyn Villa Bed and Breakfast

Property: Celyn Villa Bed and Breakfast
Address: Celyn Villa Carmel Road | Holywell, Carmel, Holywell CH8 8QP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Holywell > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Celyn Villa Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celyn Villa is a large Welsh cottage built around 1855 located in the quiet village of Carmel, Holywell with sea and country views from all the comfortable bedrooms. A warm welcome, a first class breakfast are offered in our 4 star bed and breakfast. Only 5 minutes from A55 and well placed for all North Wales sites such as Snowdonia, Llandudno, Conwy as well as Chester and Liverpool and the Welsh Coastal Path. Optional evening meals and packed lunch available with notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Celyn Villa Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing